Image-stitching and virtual tour solutions My account Updates
It is currently Sat Aug 23, 2014 4:24 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Feb 11, 2013 3:23 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2012 4:04 pm
Posts: 50
Location: USA
Just wondering, how can I reduce overlap, as I am getting about 50% overlap both vertically & horizontally. It seem little too much overlap, and when shooting hundreds of picture, it is also waist of time.

I am using EOS T3i, 200mm, With Magic Lantern, Nokia N810. Shooting in daylight landscape.

Thanks

_________________
Canon EOS T3i, EF 100-400mm, Tokina 100mm, Sigma 15mm, Samyang 8mm, Nodal Ninja 5L & R10, Merlin - Papywizard on Nokia N810


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 11, 2013 7:59 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2012 5:08 am
Posts: 216
Location: Wuppertal, Germany
yoshiharra wrote:
Just wondering, how can I reduce overlap, as I am getting about 50% overlap both vertically & horizontally. It seem little too much overlap, and when shooting hundreds of picture, it is also waist of time.

I am using EOS T3i, 200mm, With Magic Lantern, Nokia N810. Shooting in daylight landscape.

Thanks

What kind of pano head are you using? Manual or robotic?

If robotic, try http://www.wackel3d.de/shootpatterngenerator.aspx , you can enter the vertical and horizontal field of view directly, or the calculator can do it itself by focal length and sensor size.

Minimum overlap should not be set lower than 30%.

Keep in mind, that
1) every shooting pattern should be testet before real using, below 30% you can get gaps, due to that every pic will be rotated, moved, etc by stitching software.
2) the shootpattern generator is not for free. Using it you agree to donate to a public charity organisation of your choice.

greetings from germany
Chris

_________________
---
always remember, the world is a flat disk.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 11, 2013 8:37 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 6:21 pm
Posts: 5826
Location: Grenoble, France
You can adjust the overlap in Papywizard:

http://www.papywizard.org/wiki/UserGuideSvn#Mosaictab

_________________
Frédéric

Canon 20D + 17-40/f4 L USM + 70-200/f4 L USM + 50/f1.4 USM
Merlin/Orion panohead + Papywizard on Nokia N800 and HP TC-1100


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 11, 2013 1:17 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2012 4:04 pm
Posts: 50
Location: USA
Thanks Frédéric, but I have set to 20% overlap, getting about 50%! :/ Just wondering if there is anything else I can do to change overlap?!

@ Chris, I should have mentioned it, Merlin AZ GO To.

Dave

_________________
Canon EOS T3i, EF 100-400mm, Tokina 100mm, Sigma 15mm, Samyang 8mm, Nodal Ninja 5L & R10, Merlin - Papywizard on Nokia N810


Last edited by yoshiharra on Mon Feb 11, 2013 1:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 11, 2013 2:32 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 6:21 pm
Posts: 5826
Location: Grenoble, France
I think you have a wrong configuration, somewhere.

What camera/lens/focal are you using? Does the config match your hardware?

_________________
Frédéric

Canon 20D + 17-40/f4 L USM + 70-200/f4 L USM + 50/f1.4 USM
Merlin/Orion panohead + Papywizard on Nokia N800 and HP TC-1100


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 11, 2013 2:49 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Posts: 7678
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
yoshiharra wrote:
I have set to 20% overlap, getting about 50%! :/

Hey Dave!

Where do you know that from?

best, Klaus

_________________
Simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance. Coco Chanel


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 20, 2013 4:39 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2012 4:04 pm
Posts: 50
Location: USA
Hi Frédéric, Klaus

Sorry I was away.

Under Configuration > Mosaic

Image

Using EOS T3i(600D), 100mm

Image

Image

_________________
Canon EOS T3i, EF 100-400mm, Tokina 100mm, Sigma 15mm, Samyang 8mm, Nodal Ninja 5L & R10, Merlin - Papywizard on Nokia N810


Last edited by yoshiharra on Wed Feb 20, 2013 4:47 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 20, 2013 7:23 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 6:21 pm
Posts: 5826
Location: Grenoble, France
Just set back the Optical multiplier to 1! You already took into account the sensor size with the Sensor coef param. The Optical multiplier param is to be use when you really have an optical multiplier (usually x1.4 or x2), also called a converter, I think.

_________________
Frédéric

Canon 20D + 17-40/f4 L USM + 70-200/f4 L USM + 50/f1.4 USM
Merlin/Orion panohead + Papywizard on Nokia N800 and HP TC-1100


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 20, 2013 1:18 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2012 4:04 pm
Posts: 50
Location: USA
Thanks Frédéric

I will try that and report back

Dave

_________________
Canon EOS T3i, EF 100-400mm, Tokina 100mm, Sigma 15mm, Samyang 8mm, Nodal Ninja 5L & R10, Merlin - Papywizard on Nokia N810


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 20, 2013 3:47 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2012 4:04 pm
Posts: 50
Location: USA
Hi Frédéric

Your suggestion fixed the problem!!

Thank you!

_________________
Canon EOS T3i, EF 100-400mm, Tokina 100mm, Sigma 15mm, Samyang 8mm, Nodal Ninja 5L & R10, Merlin - Papywizard on Nokia N810


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 20, 2013 8:27 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 6:21 pm
Posts: 5826
Location: Grenoble, France
Good!

_________________
Frédéric

Canon 20D + 17-40/f4 L USM + 70-200/f4 L USM + 50/f1.4 USM
Merlin/Orion panohead + Papywizard on Nokia N800 and HP TC-1100


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jun 26, 2014 1:42 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 31, 2013 3:50 pm
Posts: 69
Location: Vicenza (Italy)
Hi gurus! I'm testing my panogear with Bluetooth module out of my window, before trying a bigger shoot.

I'm using papymerlin 2.1.21 and set up all parameters, done some tests but still fighting against a problem: overlapping is not equal to yaw and pitch =(
I'm using a T2i Canon with a Canon 100-400 f/4-5.6 L IS at 400mm (which are unfortunately 380mm effectively).
These are my settings:

Image

Image


But when I stich the photos with autopano, a row may be totally deleted!! Here I prepared a screenshot to explain that:

Image

As you can see, setting a 16% overlap, horizontally overlapping is good, enough to get precision to 2.3RMS (img number 14 15 16).
But vertically, IS TOOOOO MUCH!! Img 4 and 20 overlap vertically as 14 15 16, but papywizard decides to shot a useless row =( =(

Why do yaw and pitch overlapping can't be splitted?
In gigapixel panoramas becomes shots and shots (and time) trashed =(

I can't use online generator (I prefer do not) because I don't know how wide will be my yaw and how high my pitch =)

Suggetions? =)

Thank in advance!!


Attachments:
stiching.jpg
stiching.jpg [ 662.67 KiB | Viewed 239 times ]
config_1.JPG
config_1.JPG [ 31.94 KiB | Viewed 239 times ]
config.JPG
config.JPG [ 34.15 KiB | Viewed 239 times ]


Last edited by franzkekko on Thu Jun 26, 2014 2:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jun 26, 2014 1:51 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Posts: 13791
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
franzkekko wrote:
Hi gurus! I'm testing my panogear with Bluetooth module out of my window, before trying a bigger shoot.

I'm using papymerlin 2.1.21 and set up all parameters, done some tests but still fighting against a problem: overlapping is not equal to yaw and pitch =(
I'm using a T2i Canon with a Canon 100-400 f/4-5.6 L IS at 400mm (which are unfortunately 380mm effectively).
These are my settings:

Image

Image


But when I stich the photos with autopano, a row may be totally deleted!! Here I prepared a screenshot to explain that:

Image

As you can see, setting a 16% overlap, horizontally overlapping is good, enough to get precision to 2.3RMS (img number 14 15 16).
But vertically, IS TOOOOO MUCH!! Img 4 and 20 overlap vertically as 14 15 16, but papywizard decides to shot a useless row =( =(

Why do yaw and pitch overlapping can't be splitted?
In gigapixel panoramas becomes shots and shots (and time) trashed =(

I can't use online generator (I prefer do not) because I don't know how wide will be my yaw and how high my pitch =)

Suggetions? =)

Thank in advance!!

Where are the screenshots of settings?

16% is not normally sufficient overlap - the conventional recommendation is 25%.

Are you recording an XML data file of shooting locations and using the with the Papywizard Import Wiozard in APP/APG?

Which version of APP/APG are you using?

What hardware platform and OS are you using to run Papywizard?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jun 26, 2014 2:06 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 31, 2013 3:50 pm
Posts: 69
Location: Vicenza (Italy)
Hi thanks for relpy.
25% may be suggested, but I think is for moving objects. As you can see in my screenshot, 25% would be too much, 16% created a useless row! O.o
I imported XML with autopano plugin, Autopano Giga 3.5
My machine is a Windows 7 x64, 8GB RAM, 120GB SSD, Q9850 3.0GHz


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jun 26, 2014 5:17 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Posts: 13791
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
franzkekko wrote:
Hi thanks for relpy.
25% may be suggested, but I think is for moving objects. As you can see in my screenshot, 25% would be too much, 16% created a useless row! O.o
I imported XML with autopano plugin, Autopano Giga 3.5
My machine is a Windows 7 x64, 8GB RAM, 120GB SSD, Q9850 3.0GHz


Can you post the XML file here.

Perhaps there's something wrong with it?

How did you define the scope of the pano - by setting opposite corners?

Are you using autoexposure?

Are you sure your zoom was set at 400mm?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jun 26, 2014 6:26 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 31, 2013 3:50 pm
Posts: 69
Location: Vicenza (Italy)
My zoom is set to 400mm on the lens, but on exif they are 380. No problem here.

XML is attached into the zipped file. It's not wrong, my head followed the path written in post generated XML.

I used papywizard to set the two opposite corners...


Attachments:
papywizard_2014-06-26_12h16m37s_mosaic.zip [964 Bytes]
Downloaded 4 times
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jun 26, 2014 6:30 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 31, 2013 3:50 pm
Posts: 69
Location: Vicenza (Italy)
may be my area was too small for testing? However is strange that it creates a useless row... isn't it?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jun 26, 2014 6:43 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Posts: 13791
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
franzkekko wrote:
may be my area was too small for testing? However is strange that it creates a useless row... isn't it?


Yes, it looks as if the FOV of each image is far greater than expected for the focal length and configured overlap desired.

The other possibility could be that the clutch mechanism on the pitch axis is slipping?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jun 26, 2014 7:01 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Posts: 13791
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
franzkekko wrote:
may be my area was too small for testing? However is strange that it creates a useless row... isn't it?


I ran a simulated shoot of 8 columns and 3 rows using same version of PW and your settings and I find that the increments in pitch between rows in my XML file are 2.7 degrees.

In your XML file they are 1.5 and 1.4 degrees.

That would explain the excessive overlapping you see.

The question is how has this happened in your case?

...............

May I suggest and experiment?

Perform a simulated shoot of 8.3 matrix with same settings and same order of shooting as your real shoot; without connection to pano head of course and plugins set to Simulation.

Then try using the XML file produced with your image set.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jun 26, 2014 8:55 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 31, 2013 3:50 pm
Posts: 69
Location: Vicenza (Italy)
Now it gave me 2.7 degrees both in simutation and reality O.o
I'll pay attention to see/prevent if it will happens again.
Thanks for your support =)


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group