Image-stitching and virtual tour solutions My account Updates
It is currently Sun Oct 26, 2014 10:47 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Nov 11, 2012 3:28 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2012 4:04 pm
Posts: 50
Location: USA
I am shooting mosaic panorama with papywizard/Orion mount. Papywizard set to fire the shutter (via Orion) once every node of the mosaic. I have setup my EOS T3i to shoot AEB 5 frames every node (manual mode, manual focus), with 1 step increment. Sequence of exposure set to 0, -, +, --, ++. Merlin-Orion shutter is set to 0.5s, No. bracketing 5, tigger only once. Pulse with high/low is set to 250 ms.

Every time I shoot, I get first two frames exposed at rev, not rev, -1ev! I don't know if it is a bug, or I am doing something wrong! I have to say, when I shoot manually (by pressing the shutter myself), all frames are exposed as expected!

I posted the issue at the Magic Lantern forum, but no reply!

I appreciate any help.

Thanks





_________________
Canon EOS T3i, EF 100-400mm, Tokina 100mm, Sigma 15mm, Samyang 8mm, Nodal Ninja 5L & R10, Merlin - Papywizard on Nokia N810


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 11, 2012 3:39 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 6:21 pm
Posts: 5826
Location: Grenoble, France
On your camera, how do you shoot all frames? Do you need to hold down the trigger button until, or do you need to press/release it for each frame?

In the first case, try to increase the 'Pulse width high' param (it should be longer that the total exposure time of all frame, plus some delay between each frame).

In the second case, uncheck the 'trigger only once' param...

_________________
Frédéric

Canon 20D + 17-40/f4 L USM + 70-200/f4 L USM + 50/f1.4 USM
Merlin/Orion panohead + Papywizard on Nokia N800 and HP TC-1100


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 11, 2012 10:09 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2012 4:04 pm
Posts: 50
Location: USA
Hi Frédéric

Thanks for your time. I should have mentioned it earlier, Magic Lantern shoots all the frames (as set), all you have to do is, fire the shutter once and ML will shoot all subsequent exposures (i.e. -, +, --, ++). The problem is, it is exposing all 5 frames, but first 2 frames are at 0ev, not 0ev, -1ev!

Any idea?

Thanks

_________________
Canon EOS T3i, EF 100-400mm, Tokina 100mm, Sigma 15mm, Samyang 8mm, Nodal Ninja 5L & R10, Merlin - Papywizard on Nokia N810


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 11, 2012 11:26 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 6:21 pm
Posts: 5826
Location: Grenoble, France
Sorry, I missed that.

Did you try to change the pulse high values (increasing/decreasing)? There also maybe a bouncing problem with the contact of the Merlin, causing strange issue on the camera.

You should ask on the ML forum, to see if it is a know problem.

_________________
Frédéric

Canon 20D + 17-40/f4 L USM + 70-200/f4 L USM + 50/f1.4 USM
Merlin/Orion panohead + Papywizard on Nokia N800 and HP TC-1100


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 12, 2012 12:10 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2012 4:04 pm
Posts: 50
Location: USA
I did, but no one answered! I will try to change the pulse high value to see if it works. How do I address the bouncing issue?

Thanks

Roy

_________________
Canon EOS T3i, EF 100-400mm, Tokina 100mm, Sigma 15mm, Samyang 8mm, Nodal Ninja 5L & R10, Merlin - Papywizard on Nokia N810


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 12, 2012 12:34 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Posts: 7809
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
yoshiharra wrote:
I did, but no one answered! I will try to change the pulse high value to see if it works. How do I address the bouncing issue?

Thanks

Roy

Hi Roy!

I´m using ML in my Canon 5D2 and the Panoneed-Head + TC controller. The controller triggers the sequence correctly. I´ll ask Josef about the pulse-values when i meet him tomorrow.

When you set the camera to live-view and use the sequence it might work correct!

best, Klaus

_________________
Simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance. Coco Chanel


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 12, 2012 1:36 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2012 4:04 pm
Posts: 50
Location: USA
Hi Klaus

Thanks for your idea, I will try LiveView and see if that helps Just wanted to point out that I am Nokia 810 to control Orion with Papywizard, Orion camera connector is triggering my T3i, ML controlling the AEB sequence. I am not using TC-contrller, don't know if that make any difference.

Again, thanks for your thoughts.

Roy

_________________
Canon EOS T3i, EF 100-400mm, Tokina 100mm, Sigma 15mm, Samyang 8mm, Nodal Ninja 5L & R10, Merlin - Papywizard on Nokia N810


Last edited by yoshiharra on Mon Nov 12, 2012 1:38 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 12, 2012 7:03 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 6:21 pm
Posts: 5826
Location: Grenoble, France
Well, the bouncing issue is just an idea, as no one never had such problem, so far. An opto-coupler usually don't generate bounces...

Another thing to dig is the focus contact. When triggering manually, it firs tclose this contact, then close the trigger contact. With Merlin, you only have 1 contact, so if both are wired together, they are closed at the same time, which can lead to problems. Try to unwire AF contact...

_________________
Frédéric

Canon 20D + 17-40/f4 L USM + 70-200/f4 L USM + 50/f1.4 USM
Merlin/Orion panohead + Papywizard on Nokia N800 and HP TC-1100


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 12, 2012 3:07 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2012 4:04 pm
Posts: 50
Location: USA
fma38 wrote:
Well, the bouncing issue is just an idea, as no one never had such problem, so far. An opto-coupler usually don't generate bounces...

Another thing to dig is the focus contact. When triggering manually, it firs tclose this contact, then close the trigger contact. With Merlin, you only have 1 contact, so if both are wired together, they are closed at the same time, which can lead to problems. Try to unwire AF contact...

Hi Frédéric

Where can I get info on how to re-wire the cable?

Thanks

Roy

_________________
Canon EOS T3i, EF 100-400mm, Tokina 100mm, Sigma 15mm, Samyang 8mm, Nodal Ninja 5L & R10, Merlin - Papywizard on Nokia N810


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 12, 2012 3:27 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 6:21 pm
Posts: 5826
Location: Grenoble, France
You need to know the wiring of your T3i (you should find this on the web). Then search in this forum about jack connector for Merlin. Claude has posted it a few times...

_________________
Frédéric

Canon 20D + 17-40/f4 L USM + 70-200/f4 L USM + 50/f1.4 USM
Merlin/Orion panohead + Papywizard on Nokia N800 and HP TC-1100


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 12, 2012 4:03 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 11:12 pm
Posts: 1341
Location: Mont-Saint-André (Belgium)
Here are the wiring of the Merlin and Canon T3i


And a "usefull link"

http://www.doc-diy.net/photo/remote_pinout/









_________________
:cool: Claude :cool:
Merlin + Papywizard on Windows 7 & Nokia 770 § N810 & Acer (Netbook) + PanoramaApp Androïd + Deltawave PapyMerlin BT + Autopano
Spherical Pano (180 x 360) with Canon 40D + Canon EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 Zoom & Pôle Pano with Canon 5D MK2 and shaved Tokina 10-17 3.5-4.5 AF DX Fisheye
Gigapixel photography with Nikon D200 + Sigma 70-200 F 2.8 EX DG APO HSM


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 08, 2012 5:50 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2012 4:04 pm
Posts: 50
Location: USA
Thanks Claude

I am working on it, hopefully it will work. Sorry for the delay as I was out of country.

_________________
Canon EOS T3i, EF 100-400mm, Tokina 100mm, Sigma 15mm, Samyang 8mm, Nodal Ninja 5L & R10, Merlin - Papywizard on Nokia N810


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 08, 2012 2:39 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Posts: 7809
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
yoshiharra wrote:
Thanks Claude

I am working on it, hopefully it will work. Sorry for the delay as I was out of country.

Hi!

I don´t know a T3i. But i know from the use of my 5D2 that liveView most likely will solve your issue.
The controller fires the camera once - ML controls the sequence then. That definitely works.

I suggest to review your ML-settings regarding the sequence!! I suggest to use 0/-/--/--- and so on.

Set the "0" to the highlights and let it get darker. The highlights are easier to measure than the darkest
areas.

Be aware of the values: they very fast exceed the capabilities of the camera - if the camera can´t set a faster or longer
exposure your series MUST fail - the last, or the first, exposures then are the same as the before or next ones!

I guess that´s the case here . . .:cool:

best, Klaus

_________________
Simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance. Coco Chanel


Last edited by klausesser on Sat Dec 08, 2012 2:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 20, 2013 6:32 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2012 4:04 pm
Posts: 50
Location: USA
claudevh wrote:
Here are the wiring of the Merlin and Canon T3i


And a "usefull link"

http://www.doc-diy.net/photo/remote_pinout/

Hi Claude

The wiring modification did solve my problem!!

Thank you very much for pointing me to right direction.

Dave

_________________
Canon EOS T3i, EF 100-400mm, Tokina 100mm, Sigma 15mm, Samyang 8mm, Nodal Ninja 5L & R10, Merlin - Papywizard on Nokia N810


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group