Papywizard - Magic Lantern HDR problem, please help  

Everything you need to motorize your head
User avatar
yoshiharra
Member
 
Posts: 50
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2012 4:04 pm
Location: USA

Papywizard - Magic Lantern HDR problem, please help

by yoshiharra » Sun Nov 11, 2012 3:28 pm

I am shooting mosaic panorama with papywizard/Orion mount. Papywizard set to fire the shutter (via Orion) once every node of the mosaic. I have setup my EOS T3i to shoot AEB 5 frames every node (manual mode, manual focus), with 1 step increment. Sequence of exposure set to 0, -, +, --, ++. Merlin-Orion shutter is set to 0.5s, No. bracketing 5, tigger only once. Pulse with high/low is set to 250 ms.

Every time I shoot, I get first two frames exposed at rev, not rev, -1ev! I don't know if it is a bug, or I am doing something wrong! I have to say, when I shoot manually (by pressing the shutter myself), all frames are exposed as expected!

I posted the issue at the Magic Lantern forum, but no reply!

I appreciate any help.

Thanks




Canon EOS T3i, EF 100-400mm, Tokina 100mm, Sigma 15mm, Samyang 8mm, Nodal Ninja 5L & R10, Merlin - Papywizard on Nokia N810

User avatar
fma38
Member
 
Posts: 5827
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 6:21 pm
Location: Grenoble, France

by fma38 » Sun Nov 11, 2012 3:39 pm

On your camera, how do you shoot all frames? Do you need to hold down the trigger button until, or do you need to press/release it for each frame?

In the first case, try to increase the 'Pulse width high' param (it should be longer that the total exposure time of all frame, plus some delay between each frame).

In the second case, uncheck the 'trigger only once' param...
Frédéric

Canon 20D + 17-40/f4 L USM + 70-200/f4 L USM + 50/f1.4 USM
Merlin/Orion panohead + Papywizard on Nokia N800 and HP TC-1100

User avatar
yoshiharra
Member
 
Posts: 50
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2012 4:04 pm
Location: USA

by yoshiharra » Sun Nov 11, 2012 10:09 pm

Hi Frédéric

Thanks for your time. I should have mentioned it earlier, Magic Lantern shoots all the frames (as set), all you have to do is, fire the shutter once and ML will shoot all subsequent exposures (i.e. -, +, --, ++). The problem is, it is exposing all 5 frames, but first 2 frames are at 0ev, not 0ev, -1ev!

Any idea?

Thanks
Canon EOS T3i, EF 100-400mm, Tokina 100mm, Sigma 15mm, Samyang 8mm, Nodal Ninja 5L & R10, Merlin - Papywizard on Nokia N810

User avatar
fma38
Member
 
Posts: 5827
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 6:21 pm
Location: Grenoble, France

by fma38 » Sun Nov 11, 2012 11:26 pm

Sorry, I missed that.

Did you try to change the pulse high values (increasing/decreasing)? There also maybe a bouncing problem with the contact of the Merlin, causing strange issue on the camera.

You should ask on the ML forum, to see if it is a know problem.
Frédéric

Canon 20D + 17-40/f4 L USM + 70-200/f4 L USM + 50/f1.4 USM
Merlin/Orion panohead + Papywizard on Nokia N800 and HP TC-1100

User avatar
yoshiharra
Member
 
Posts: 50
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2012 4:04 pm
Location: USA

by yoshiharra » Mon Nov 12, 2012 12:10 am

I did, but no one answered! I will try to change the pulse high value to see if it works. How do I address the bouncing issue?

Thanks

Roy
Canon EOS T3i, EF 100-400mm, Tokina 100mm, Sigma 15mm, Samyang 8mm, Nodal Ninja 5L & R10, Merlin - Papywizard on Nokia N810

no avatar
klausesser
Member
 
Posts: 7882
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany

by klausesser » Mon Nov 12, 2012 12:34 am

yoshiharra wrote:I did, but no one answered! I will try to change the pulse high value to see if it works. How do I address the bouncing issue?

Thanks

Roy

Hi Roy!

I´m using ML in my Canon 5D2 and the Panoneed-Head + TC controller. The controller triggers the sequence correctly. I´ll ask Josef about the pulse-values when i meet him tomorrow.

When you set the camera to live-view and use the sequence it might work correct!

best, Klaus
Simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance. Coco Chanel

User avatar
yoshiharra
Member
 
Posts: 50
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2012 4:04 pm
Location: USA

by yoshiharra » Mon Nov 12, 2012 1:36 am

Hi Klaus

Thanks for your idea, I will try LiveView and see if that helps Just wanted to point out that I am Nokia 810 to control Orion with Papywizard, Orion camera connector is triggering my T3i, ML controlling the AEB sequence. I am not using TC-contrller, don't know if that make any difference.

Again, thanks for your thoughts.

Roy
Last edited by yoshiharra on Mon Nov 12, 2012 1:38 am, edited 1 time in total.
Canon EOS T3i, EF 100-400mm, Tokina 100mm, Sigma 15mm, Samyang 8mm, Nodal Ninja 5L & R10, Merlin - Papywizard on Nokia N810

User avatar
fma38
Member
 
Posts: 5827
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 6:21 pm
Location: Grenoble, France

by fma38 » Mon Nov 12, 2012 7:03 am

Well, the bouncing issue is just an idea, as no one never had such problem, so far. An opto-coupler usually don't generate bounces...

Another thing to dig is the focus contact. When triggering manually, it firs tclose this contact, then close the trigger contact. With Merlin, you only have 1 contact, so if both are wired together, they are closed at the same time, which can lead to problems. Try to unwire AF contact...
Frédéric

Canon 20D + 17-40/f4 L USM + 70-200/f4 L USM + 50/f1.4 USM
Merlin/Orion panohead + Papywizard on Nokia N800 and HP TC-1100

User avatar
yoshiharra
Member
 
Posts: 50
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2012 4:04 pm
Location: USA

by yoshiharra » Mon Nov 12, 2012 3:07 pm

fma38 wrote:Well, the bouncing issue is just an idea, as no one never had such problem, so far. An opto-coupler usually don't generate bounces...

Another thing to dig is the focus contact. When triggering manually, it firs tclose this contact, then close the trigger contact. With Merlin, you only have 1 contact, so if both are wired together, they are closed at the same time, which can lead to problems. Try to unwire AF contact...

Hi Frédéric

Where can I get info on how to re-wire the cable?

Thanks

Roy
Canon EOS T3i, EF 100-400mm, Tokina 100mm, Sigma 15mm, Samyang 8mm, Nodal Ninja 5L & R10, Merlin - Papywizard on Nokia N810

User avatar
fma38
Member
 
Posts: 5827
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 6:21 pm
Location: Grenoble, France

by fma38 » Mon Nov 12, 2012 3:27 pm

You need to know the wiring of your T3i (you should find this on the web). Then search in this forum about jack connector for Merlin. Claude has posted it a few times...
Frédéric

Canon 20D + 17-40/f4 L USM + 70-200/f4 L USM + 50/f1.4 USM
Merlin/Orion panohead + Papywizard on Nokia N800 and HP TC-1100

User avatar
claudevh
Member
 
Posts: 1341
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 11:12 pm
Location: Mont-Saint-André (Belgium)

by claudevh » Mon Nov 12, 2012 4:03 pm

Here are the wiring of the Merlin and Canon T3i


And a "usefull link"

http://www.doc-diy.net/photo/remote_pinout/








:cool: Claude :cool:
Merlin + Papywizard on Windows 7 & Nokia 770 § N810 & Acer (Netbook) + PanoramaApp Androïd + Deltawave PapyMerlin BT + Autopano
Spherical Pano (180 x 360) with Canon 40D + Canon EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 Zoom & Pôle Pano with Canon 5D MK2 and shaved Tokina 10-17 3.5-4.5 AF DX Fisheye
Gigapixel photography with Nikon D200 + Sigma 70-200 F 2.8 EX DG APO HSM

User avatar
yoshiharra
Member
 
Posts: 50
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2012 4:04 pm
Location: USA

by yoshiharra » Sat Dec 08, 2012 5:50 am

Thanks Claude

I am working on it, hopefully it will work. Sorry for the delay as I was out of country.
Canon EOS T3i, EF 100-400mm, Tokina 100mm, Sigma 15mm, Samyang 8mm, Nodal Ninja 5L & R10, Merlin - Papywizard on Nokia N810

no avatar
klausesser
Member
 
Posts: 7882
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany

by klausesser » Sat Dec 08, 2012 2:39 pm

yoshiharra wrote:Thanks Claude

I am working on it, hopefully it will work. Sorry for the delay as I was out of country.

Hi!

I don´t know a T3i. But i know from the use of my 5D2 that liveView most likely will solve your issue.
The controller fires the camera once - ML controls the sequence then. That definitely works.

I suggest to review your ML-settings regarding the sequence!! I suggest to use 0/-/--/--- and so on.

Set the "0" to the highlights and let it get darker. The highlights are easier to measure than the darkest
areas.

Be aware of the values: they very fast exceed the capabilities of the camera - if the camera can´t set a faster or longer
exposure your series MUST fail - the last, or the first, exposures then are the same as the before or next ones!

I guess that´s the case here . . .:cool:

best, Klaus
Last edited by klausesser on Sat Dec 08, 2012 2:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance. Coco Chanel

User avatar
yoshiharra
Member
 
Posts: 50
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2012 4:04 pm
Location: USA

by yoshiharra » Wed Feb 20, 2013 6:32 pm

claudevh wrote:Here are the wiring of the Merlin and Canon T3i


And a "usefull link"

http://www.doc-diy.net/photo/remote_pinout/

Hi Claude

The wiring modification did solve my problem!!

Thank you very much for pointing me to right direction.

Dave
Canon EOS T3i, EF 100-400mm, Tokina 100mm, Sigma 15mm, Samyang 8mm, Nodal Ninja 5L & R10, Merlin - Papywizard on Nokia N810


Return to Motorized panohead project: Merlin, Orion & Papywizard

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest