Image-stitching and virtual tour solutions My account Updates
It is currently Sun Oct 26, 2014 6:26 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Oct 06, 2012 9:35 pm 
Offline
New member

Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2011 10:46 pm
Posts: 6
Hi guys,

I got Orion panohead and have seen some amazing timelapses on internet shot with them. Did a little panning timelapse for around an hour an the timelapse video was very choppy. The video really stuttered and didn't flow smooth at all. I was wonderning what I was doing wrong, I had a 1 sec stabilization delay and at the Merlin shutter options time value was 3 sec. My shutter time was way les than that as it was in daylight.

Here is the video: https://vimeo.com/50263581
Password: orion

Any ideas?

Thanks guys!

:)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 07, 2012 2:14 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 1:01 pm
Posts: 3343
Location: Salzburg
no solution for your problem (i think) but a great enhancement:


in Europe: http://www.elysiavisuals.com/
is USA: http://dynamicperception.com/ (better overview)
see the stage one system, they offer also a Merlin head you can put on... so their arduino board can also drive the merlin and use the shutter release of some cams...

some videos made with stage zero/one:
http://dynamicperception.com/videos

Georg

_________________
pages: gigapixel.at - jedermann.at - My Equipment


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 07, 2012 2:56 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Posts: 7809
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
dombra wrote:
Hi guys,

I got Orion panohead and have seen some amazing timelapses on internet shot with them. Did a little panning timelapse for around an hour an the timelapse video was very choppy. The video really stuttered and didn't flow smooth at all. I was wonderning what I was doing wrong, I had a 1 sec stabilization delay and at the Merlin shutter options time value was 3 sec. My shutter time was way les than that as it was in daylight.

Here is the video: https://vimeo.com/50263581
Password: orion

Any ideas?

Thanks guys!

:)

Hi!

What´s the setting for the movie - dataformat, compression, fps and so?

best, Klaus

_________________
Simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance. Coco Chanel


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 07, 2012 7:06 pm 
Offline
New member

Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2011 10:46 pm
Posts: 6
Klaus,

I used quicktime to export the time lapse: 24 frames per second, Proress HQ codec, for test purposes 1920x1080 size. Anything I have missed what matters?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 07, 2012 8:43 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Posts: 7809
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
dombra wrote:
Klaus,

I used quicktime to export the time lapse: 24 frames per second, Proress HQ codec, for test purposes 1920x1080 size. Anything I have missed what matters?

Which fps did you set for the project?

best, Klaus

_________________
Simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance. Coco Chanel


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 08, 2012 3:48 pm 
Offline
New member

Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2011 10:46 pm
Posts: 6
24 fps


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 08, 2012 7:13 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Posts: 7809
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
dombra wrote:
24 fps

your movie is 17sec long - that means 17x24 frames (video has 25sec). Do you have 408 shots?
How did you use them in QT? You can use interpolation between the images using AfterEffects or FinalCut or Premiere and some others
for making the effect somewhat smoother.

best, Klaus

_________________
Simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance. Coco Chanel


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 09, 2012 7:00 pm 
Offline
New member

Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2011 10:46 pm
Posts: 6
Exactly Klaus, I have 410 photos. I just opened them up in QT as a image sequence, 24 fps, then exported out with the settings mentioned above.
Pretty much same as I have done any other non panning or moving time lapse before. Is that how people do, to achieve smooth panning/moving timelapses they use interpolation?
Would be great to hear from somebody who use this head about his methods.


thank you kindly!


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group