Image-stitching and virtual tour solutions My account Updates
It is currently Fri Aug 29, 2014 9:31 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Aug 17, 2012 11:28 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2008 10:52 pm
Posts: 78
Location: la roche-en-ardenne
Hello,

I have an eos5d2 with Magic Lantern 2.3 which can do a hdr bracketing serie (from 2 to 9 shoots) in one trigger. In Papywizard, i choose "trigger only once" & a few "bracketing nb picts" (or without "trigger only once" but with "step by step"), and the eos shoot "n-1" pictures, it doesn't shoot the first image! :( When i use the eos alone or with a wired remote control ( and also with the MX2 from digital perception), it shoot the "n" pictures. Somebody can help me?

dimitri

_________________
eos5Dc, eos5D2 + Magic Lantern 2.3 & nightbuild, canon 24-70mm f:2.8, sigma 180mm macro f:5.6, samyang 14mm f:2.8, helios-40 85mm f1.5, old yashica 800mm f8, manfrotto 302+ hackée, merlin + BTursaminor, macbook + ubuntu 12.04, osx, win7, intel quadcore + ubuntu 13.04 studio, win7, Darktable, GretagMcB eye-one, epson V750.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 17, 2012 3:26 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2008 10:52 pm
Posts: 78
Location: la roche-en-ardenne
correction... the eos5d2 take the first picture not the second!

_________________
eos5Dc, eos5D2 + Magic Lantern 2.3 & nightbuild, canon 24-70mm f:2.8, sigma 180mm macro f:5.6, samyang 14mm f:2.8, helios-40 85mm f1.5, old yashica 800mm f8, manfrotto 302+ hackée, merlin + BTursaminor, macbook + ubuntu 12.04, osx, win7, intel quadcore + ubuntu 13.04 studio, win7, Darktable, GretagMcB eye-one, epson V750.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 17, 2012 4:55 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 1:01 pm
Posts: 3321
Location: Salzburg
and how is behaviour without the magic lantern using the default 3 brackets? is the result the same n-1 etc?
Georg

PS: and if you increase the timevalue/delay under shutter settings in papywizard?

_________________
pages: gigapixel.at - jedermann.at - My Equipment


Last edited by gkaefer on Fri Aug 17, 2012 4:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 17, 2012 6:07 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2008 10:52 pm
Posts: 78
Location: la roche-en-ardenne
The default 3 brackets no problems, even in continuous shooting ( i check "trigger only once" in ppw). I try different values (following Tips&tricks-ppw)... nothing change. The bracketing with ML works with one trigger, the default 3 brackets needs 3 triggers or to maintain the trigger on in continuous shooting. When connected to the merlin, the eos seems paralyzed, i cannnot access to menu at all with or without ML, but it works with PPW.

_________________
eos5Dc, eos5D2 + Magic Lantern 2.3 & nightbuild, canon 24-70mm f:2.8, sigma 180mm macro f:5.6, samyang 14mm f:2.8, helios-40 85mm f1.5, old yashica 800mm f8, manfrotto 302+ hackée, merlin + BTursaminor, macbook + ubuntu 12.04, osx, win7, intel quadcore + ubuntu 13.04 studio, win7, Darktable, GretagMcB eye-one, epson V750.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 17, 2012 6:44 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Posts: 7711
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
dim wrote:
The default 3 brackets no problems, even in continuous shooting ( i check "trigger only once" in ppw). I try different values (following Tips&tricks-ppw)... nothing change. The bracketing with ML works with one trigger, the default 3 brackets needs 3 triggers or to maintain the trigger on in continuous shooting. When connected to the merlin, the eos seems paralyzed, i cannnot access to menu at all with or without ML, but it works with PPW.

There´s a cable from Calumet providing a switch for selecting "release half-press" or "release full pressed". Depends on wht the head needs.

Using Josef´s Panoneed the xml writes ONE shoot each position - even when Promote-Comtrol or ML shoots 9 times. But i also can set it to fire x times on each position and that´s noted in the xml as x times for using stacked sets in APG.

With such a switchable cable you´re on the safe side.


best, Klaus

_________________
Simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance. Coco Chanel


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 17, 2012 8:47 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2008 10:52 pm
Posts: 78
Location: la roche-en-ardenne
thank you!
but nothing new that i know about xml. I think the problem comes from the trigger width or form...
I can't find te cable. Can you send me the address?

_________________
eos5Dc, eos5D2 + Magic Lantern 2.3 & nightbuild, canon 24-70mm f:2.8, sigma 180mm macro f:5.6, samyang 14mm f:2.8, helios-40 85mm f1.5, old yashica 800mm f8, manfrotto 302+ hackée, merlin + BTursaminor, macbook + ubuntu 12.04, osx, win7, intel quadcore + ubuntu 13.04 studio, win7, Darktable, GretagMcB eye-one, epson V750.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 17, 2012 9:12 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Posts: 7711
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
dim wrote:
thank you!
but nothing new that i know about xml. I think the problem comes from the trigger width or form...
I can't find te cable. Can you send me the address?

http://www.calumetphoto.co.uk/ or worldwide.

best, Klaus

_________________
Simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance. Coco Chanel


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 17, 2012 9:18 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2008 10:52 pm
Posts: 78
Location: la roche-en-ardenne
yes i know Calumet but where on the site... I search through the site but i can't find it.

_________________
eos5Dc, eos5D2 + Magic Lantern 2.3 & nightbuild, canon 24-70mm f:2.8, sigma 180mm macro f:5.6, samyang 14mm f:2.8, helios-40 85mm f1.5, old yashica 800mm f8, manfrotto 302+ hackée, merlin + BTursaminor, macbook + ubuntu 12.04, osx, win7, intel quadcore + ubuntu 13.04 studio, win7, Darktable, GretagMcB eye-one, epson V750.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 17, 2012 9:42 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Posts: 7711
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
dim wrote:
yes i know Calumet but where on the site... I search through the site but i can't find it.

They don´t have everything on the site - better contact them. I threw away the empty package carrying the article-number.

It has a 3,5mm jack (for head/controller) on one end and a 5D2 plug on the other end - and a switch in between.
Overal length is about 20cm - ideal for connecting the camera to the head (Merlin has a 2,5mm jack socket - there are adapters or you
must solder a 2,5mm jack).

Costs about 22,-€

best, Klaus

_________________
Simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance. Coco Chanel


Last edited by klausesser on Fri Aug 17, 2012 9:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 18, 2012 1:38 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2008 10:52 pm
Posts: 78
Location: la roche-en-ardenne
thank you, Klaus!

I build my own cable and .... it works!

It seems that the Merlin (and papywizard?!!) keep the half shut contact closed which prevent Magic Lantern to trigger the second bracket (never mind the number of shoot choosen) and the access to the menu, preview, etc.
But ML can take the next shoot of the serie! there is something that i don't understand! and the access to menu works again.

So if i want to use the ML hdr option with Papywizard-Merlin, you'll have to cut the half shut contact between the Canon-ML & the Merlin-PPW.

_________________
eos5Dc, eos5D2 + Magic Lantern 2.3 & nightbuild, canon 24-70mm f:2.8, sigma 180mm macro f:5.6, samyang 14mm f:2.8, helios-40 85mm f1.5, old yashica 800mm f8, manfrotto 302+ hackée, merlin + BTursaminor, macbook + ubuntu 12.04, osx, win7, intel quadcore + ubuntu 13.04 studio, win7, Darktable, GretagMcB eye-one, epson V750.


Last edited by dim on Tue Feb 25, 2014 3:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 18, 2012 1:50 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Posts: 7711
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
dim wrote:
thank you, Klaus!

I build my own cable and .... it works!

It seems that the Merlin (and papywizard?!!) keep the half shut contact closed which prevent Magic Lantern to trigger the second bracket (never mind the number of shoot choosen) and the access to the menu, preview, etc.
But ML can take the next shoot of the serie! there is something that i don't understand! and the access to menu works again.

So if want to use the ML hdr option with Papywizard-Merlin, you'll have to cut the half shut contact between the Canon-ML & the Merlin-PPW.

Hey Dimitri!

Good to know! :)

best, Klaus

_________________
Simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance. Coco Chanel


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group