Help needed for one project  

Everything you need to motorize your head
no avatar
pranshu14
Member
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2012 8:09 pm

Help needed for one project

by pranshu14 » Sun Apr 22, 2012 8:53 am

I need help regarding robotic arm.

I am planning a big gigapixel of my city and one computer company is providing the machine to stitch the image.

We want to create gigapixel of upto 40-50 gigapixel and also we are looking for spherical view.

I have two robotic heads in my budget and need your guidance for making decision.

If i will be using 5d mark ii with 400 mm lens which robotic arm will serve the best.

kolor panogear or epic pro ?

kindly give some guidance with your experience.

Thanks

specific questions

1. Can panogear take 5d + 400 mm
2. Can epic pro make full sphere because i read somewhere that its only for partial panos..

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 14163
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.

by mediavets » Sun Apr 22, 2012 9:51 am

In my opinion neither the Panogear nor the Gigapan Epic pro is suitable for shooting a spherical pano with such a long focal length lens. For one thing neither would allow you an adequate max. pitch angle to cover the zenith of a spherical pano.

Has anyone anywhere yet attempted to shoot a spherical pano with a 400mm lens?

Have you calculated how many shots you will require and estimated the duration of the shoot and considered how light levels etc will change over that time?

If you still wish to make the attempt I reckon you would need either a Rodeon VR Station or the new upcoming robotic head from T&C:
http://www.dr-clauss.de/VRstation_EN.htm

http://www.kolor.com/forum/t14256-now-finally
Andrew Stephens
Many different Nodal Ninja and Agnos pano heads. Merlin/Panogear mount with Papywizard on Nokia Internet tablets.
Nikon D5100 and D40, Sigma 8mm f3.5 FE, Nikon 10.5mm FE, 35mm, 50mm, 18-55mm, 70-210mm. Promote control.

no avatar
pranshu14
Member
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2012 8:09 pm

by pranshu14 » Sun Apr 22, 2012 9:57 am

Then how the spherical gigapixel are being clicked ........ ?

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 14163
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.

by mediavets » Sun Apr 22, 2012 10:05 am

pranshu14 wrote:Then how the spherical gigapixel are being clicked ........ ?

Not with 400mm lenses.

Do you know of any spherical pano shot with a 400mm lens?

It's difficult to understand why it would be worth shooting a very hi-res spherical pano of a cityscape (presumably from an elevated shooting position) when so much of the resulting image would be sky.
Andrew Stephens
Many different Nodal Ninja and Agnos pano heads. Merlin/Panogear mount with Papywizard on Nokia Internet tablets.
Nikon D5100 and D40, Sigma 8mm f3.5 FE, Nikon 10.5mm FE, 35mm, 50mm, 18-55mm, 70-210mm. Promote control.

User avatar
gkaefer
Member
 
Posts: 3354
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 1:01 pm
Location: Salzburg

by gkaefer » Sun Apr 22, 2012 10:06 am

for such an task one or two showsizes bigger would be preferable:

Upcoming Panohead from Company T&C ("Josef") - Klaus is presenting this head in following thread; he did test this head since > 6months:
http://translate.google.at/translate?hl=de&sl=fr&tl=en&u=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.kolor.com%2Fforum%2Fviewtopic.php%3Fpid%3D98267%23p98267

and also other professional heads are on the marked:
http://www.roundshot.ch/xml_1/internet/de/application/d438/d927/f1033.cfm

and others are also available, but I think also even more expensive ones...
Georg

PS: 400mm & spherical: its possible, but depending on the shooting location the result can be used or not.
Located on a 60m Mast - why not - even the nadir can be sharp and crispy.
Located on a 2m tripod on a 1500 hill peak - well all nearer than 400m will be uncharp
or it needs focus stacking or for these areas lower focals. This is also possible to mix focals - if they are not more than factor 4x different
(400mm, 100mm, 35mm or so etc.) than autopano can handle this. This also could be used for sky region so it must no be shoot with 400mm...
Last edited by gkaefer on Sun Apr 22, 2012 10:23 am, edited 1 time in total.

no avatar
pranshu14
Member
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2012 8:09 pm

by pranshu14 » Sun Apr 22, 2012 10:10 am

london gigapixel was shoot with 400 mm lens and its full spherical ....

m i wrong ?

User avatar
gkaefer
Member
 
Posts: 3354
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 1:01 pm
Location: Salzburg

by gkaefer » Sun Apr 22, 2012 10:17 am

pranshu14 wrote:london gigapixel was shoot with 400 mm lens and its full spherical ....

m i wrong ?

its not a question if its technically possible. I did a non spherical with 800mm with the merlin too. result was #### because of merlin & tripod & shutter shaking.
So its a question of planning & resouces & desired quality
than take into account how long it will take to shoot such a pano. go to kolor homepage and review the blog entry about the paris gigapixel.
it took months to find the fitting days to shoot the sequences of the pano (shooting one such pano in one day is a b...sh.. idea - sorry - because of changing light conditions)
You can try to use the speed mode available for the VR Drive, but theres until now no proof it does work with an acceptable quality.)
Last edited by gkaefer on Sun Apr 22, 2012 10:19 am, edited 1 time in total.

no avatar
pranshu14
Member
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2012 8:09 pm

by pranshu14 » Sun Apr 22, 2012 10:23 am

ok so final query

i we are planning for partial panos then which will be the best panogear or epic pro ?

User avatar
gkaefer
Member
 
Posts: 3354
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 1:01 pm
Location: Salzburg

by gkaefer » Sun Apr 22, 2012 10:29 am

merlin:
I used the Sigma 120-400mm lens ( http://www.sigma-foto.de/produkte/objektive/120-400mm-f45-56-dg-os-hsm.html ) with a Canon EOS400D and a Batterygrip.
@120mm no problem with a merlin (using default L-Bracket and placing the Lens and not the cam on the L-Bracket)
@400mm the merlin is slipping away. So here you aboslute have to use counter wheights to keep an acceptable center of gravity point.
the cam has not to be in NPP for partial panos (with farer than better distance to the shooting scene) its no problem for autopano to handle this.

I never used Epic pro.

Georg
Last edited by gkaefer on Sun Apr 22, 2012 10:31 am, edited 1 time in total.

no avatar
klausesser
Member
 
Posts: 7858
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany

by klausesser » Sun Apr 22, 2012 12:37 pm

pranshu14 wrote:london gigapixel was shoot with 400 mm lens and its full spherical ....

m i wrong ?

Using a 400mm for a full spherical pano needs:
1) a very special head - i´d suggest Dr. Clauss Rodeon in the big version - here we´re talking of about 5000-8000.-€.
2) very sophisticated computer-equipment - here we´re talking of another big amount of money. You wouldn´t get it from WalMart . . . :cool:


But definitely most important: you need VERY, VERY MUCH experience.

If you can answer: "yes, i have it all" - do it.

The London Gigapixel is very impressing because of it´s size - not because of it´s quality. Does size alone matter? I mean: no.

best, Klaus
Simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance. Coco Chanel

no avatar
klausesser
Member
 
Posts: 7858
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany

by klausesser » Sun Apr 22, 2012 12:40 pm

gkaefer wrote:result was #### because of merlin & tripod & shutter shaking.

A widely underestimated item - we talked about it . . . . . :D:cool:

best, Klaus
Simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance. Coco Chanel

no avatar
pranshu14
Member
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2012 8:09 pm

by pranshu14 » Sun Apr 22, 2012 1:26 pm

Ok Klausesser ..

I want to start with one of them for partial pano

what will be your choice

epic pro or panogear

i will be using 5D + 400 mm

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 14163
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.

by mediavets » Sun Apr 22, 2012 1:37 pm

pranshu14 wrote:Ok Klausesser ..

I want to start with one of them for partial pano

what will be your choice

epic pro or panogear

i will be using 5D + 400 mm

This report will give you some insight into the challenges you face:

http://photoartkalmar.com/Photoart%20Kalmar%20high%20res/Gigapixel/Vienna%2050%20Gigapixel/making%20of%20GB.html
Andrew Stephens
Many different Nodal Ninja and Agnos pano heads. Merlin/Panogear mount with Papywizard on Nokia Internet tablets.
Nikon D5100 and D40, Sigma 8mm f3.5 FE, Nikon 10.5mm FE, 35mm, 50mm, 18-55mm, 70-210mm. Promote control.

User avatar
gkaefer
Member
 
Posts: 3354
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 1:01 pm
Location: Salzburg

by gkaefer » Sun Apr 22, 2012 3:03 pm

I dont wanna destroy dreams...

but if you did not succeed with 1Giga, 2.5Giga, 5 Giga, 10Gigapixel panos and you're satisfied with its result and solved on the road to achieve these panos all upcoming problems (and you will encounter different problems with a 10giga than with a 5giga pano) than its some sort of waste of time to start with a 40Gigapixel...

Liebe Gruesse,
Georg

PS: merlin/panogear vs Epix Pro

as mentioned I did not practise with the epic, but I red on forum that the expic does not record xml files containing the image positions of the pano.
so for me minimum requirement for efficient workflow is having a xml logfile from the head to use this with the import filter of autopano (otherwhise manual placing of images like sky, water, white walls etc. are getting a horror task).
merlin does not record this too, but here I can use the T&C handcontroller (seperate available also from kolor homepage and part of panogear package) or you can use a PC in combination with the papywizzard to record this xml file...
Last edited by gkaefer on Sun Apr 22, 2012 3:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.


Return to Motorized panohead project: Merlin, Orion & Papywizard

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests