Papywizard preset for Tokina 11-16  

Everything you need to motorize your head
User avatar
osmica
Member
 
Posts: 148
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2012 1:35 pm
Location: Croatia (Hrvatska)

Papywizard preset for Tokina 11-16

by osmica » Sun Apr 15, 2012 1:50 pm

Hello to everybody
I am a new mwmber. Few days ago I recived my Panogear + Autopano giga + Panotour Pro. I have some problems with Papywizard. First of all, I use a 64bit sistem and I couldn`t start the newest version 2.0 so I install the alder one 1,4. There is no preset for my lens and the existing presets are not good. I would like to make my own preset but I don`t know how to calculate the number of images for each row - line. I need that for virtual tours of real estate and the nodal point must be perfectly set and I did that. Now I need to make a preset for my lens to use it always and be fast in my work. Can somebody help me please?
The preset generatror I found is calculating the same number of images for every line and also the Panogear go every line till the end and than go back the whole 360° to the begining od the yaw. And I know I can make that diferent.
I don`t wan`t the nadir, instead of that I will put my logo. I would like to make a preset like 4 photos on -40°, 7 photos on 45° and one zenith. This is just an example. I don`t know how to calculate that. The existing preset for Tokina 10-17 isn`t good fo me, I tried. I hope somebody will help me with that.
Maybe somebody have the same lens like me and have the solution. Thanx

no avatar
klausesser
Member
 
Posts: 7882
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany

by klausesser » Sun Apr 15, 2012 2:22 pm

osmica wrote:Hello to everybody
I am a new mwmber. Few days ago I recived my Panogear + Autopano giga + Panotour Pro. I have some problems with Papywizard. First of all, I use a 64bit sistem and I couldn`t start the newest version 2.0 so I install the alder one 1,4. There is no preset for my lens and the existing presets are not good. I would like to make my own preset but I don`t know how to calculate the number of images for each row - line. I need that for virtual tours of real estate and the nodal point must be perfectly set and I did that. Now I need to make a preset for my lens to use it always and be fast in my work. Can somebody help me please?
The preset generatror I found is calculating the same number of images for every line and also the Panogear go every line till the end and than go back the whole 360° to the begining od the yaw. And I know I can make that diferent.
I don`t wan`t the nadir, instead of that I will put my logo. I would like to make a preset like 4 photos on -40°, 7 photos on 45° and one zenith. This is just an example. I don`t know how to calculate that. The existing preset for Tokina 10-17 isn`t good fo me, I tried. I hope somebody will help me with that.
Maybe somebody have the same lens like me and have the solution. Thanx

I strongly suggest to use a good fisheye lens. I guess you use a crop camera - here i sugest the Nikon 10,5mm. Needs about 7 shots for a sphere on crop. Using an 8mm fe you can be even faster - but have a reduced resolution for zooming in. It depends how big the panos will be displayed in the site.
Using a fullframe camera with 15 or 16mm fisheye gets you 6 shots and provides 15000x75000px=112MPx using a 5D2 for example. That´s plenty of headroom for zooming in.
I realized to display them fullscreen on my 24" and 30" displays a resolution of about 10000x5000px is enough. 5000x2500px i would see as minimal size on smaller displays.

Important is the iDevice-compatibility - especially for real estate use. Many agents use iPads.

best, Klaus
Last edited by klausesser on Sun Apr 15, 2012 2:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance. Coco Chanel

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 14283
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.

by mediavets » Sun Apr 15, 2012 3:21 pm

Welcome to the forum...
osmica wrote:I am a new member. Few days ago I recived my Panogear + Autopano giga + Panotour Pro. I have some problems with Papywizard. First of all, I use a 64bit sistem and I couldn`t start the newest version 2.0

What 64-bit system are you using?
Andrew Stephens
Many different Nodal Ninja and Agnos pano heads. Merlin/Panogear mount with Papywizard on Nokia Internet tablets.
Nikon D5100 and D40, Sigma 8mm f3.5 FE, Nikon 10.5mm FE, 35mm, 50mm, 18-55mm, 70-210mm. Promote control.

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 14283
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.

by mediavets » Sun Apr 15, 2012 3:23 pm

osmica wrote:There is no preset for my lens and the existing presets are not good. ... The existing preset for Tokina 10-17 isn`t good fo me, I tried. I hope somebody will help me with that.
Maybe somebody have the same lens like me and have the solution. Thanx

What focal length will you be using?

Which camera body will you be using?
Andrew Stephens
Many different Nodal Ninja and Agnos pano heads. Merlin/Panogear mount with Papywizard on Nokia Internet tablets.
Nikon D5100 and D40, Sigma 8mm f3.5 FE, Nikon 10.5mm FE, 35mm, 50mm, 18-55mm, 70-210mm. Promote control.

User avatar
osmica
Member
 
Posts: 148
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2012 1:35 pm
Location: Croatia (Hrvatska)

by osmica » Sun Apr 15, 2012 8:57 pm

Thank you people. I use Tokuna wide angle lens 11-16 f/2,8 on Canon EOS 500D. Today I suceed to make a good preset with help of a friend. I will put that preset on the site for others who need it. I get very good result in a small space in dark conditions. At the moment is raining all the time and I want to start on first sunshine day. When I will make at least 20 real estate virtual tours, I will put my web adress here so you can take a look.
When I found the nodal point I made the preset with 4 photos @ -60° / 7 photos @ 0° / 4 photos @ +60°
That works perfect. I don`t need the zenith this way and instead the nadir I will always put my logo.
I know it is better to use a fisheye lens and I will buy one in future when I earn some money with my new business. I like the Sigma 4,5mm f/2,8 and if somebody use it with the panogear I would like to hear about that.

About my laptop...I use an ASUS G73-SW with intel i7, Win 7 Proff. 64 bit. And Papywizard 2.0 don`t work. I must use the 1.6 version instead. But doesn`t metter. I can do what I want and what I need with the older version also.

My web site will have aplications for android and iPhone. I don`t need big resolutions because everything will be on my site and people usualy have laptops of 15 and 17 inch or LCD till 23" on desktop. I can put 100MB virtual tours on the web...it must run quickly.. DOn`t need a big zoom for real estate.
Last edited by osmica on Sun Apr 15, 2012 8:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.

no avatar
klausesser
Member
 
Posts: 7882
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany

by klausesser » Sun Apr 15, 2012 9:34 pm

osmica wrote:DOn`t need a big zoom for real estate.

Don´t underestimate the impression of zooming! Doesn´t need to be gigapixel at all :D - but people expect a bit of zooming usually.

Here´s a real estate example of 5000x2500px - some years ago, my first use of Auto Pano Pro.
http://www.360impressions.de/TourCan.html

best, Klaus
Simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance. Coco Chanel

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 14283
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.

by mediavets » Sun Apr 15, 2012 10:10 pm

osmica wrote:I know it is better to use a fisheye lens and I will buy one in future when I earn some money with my new business. I like the Sigma 4,5mm f/2,8 and if somebody use it with the panogear I would like to hear about that.

I would not recommend the Sigma 4.5 fisheye.

About my laptop...I use an ASUS G73-SW with intel i7, Win 7 Proff. 64 bit. And Papywizard 2.0 don`t work. I must use the 1.6 version instead. But doesn`t metter. I can do what I want and what I need with the older version also.

I don't think anyone has reported before that Papywizard 2.x doesn't work on Windows 7/64.
Andrew Stephens
Many different Nodal Ninja and Agnos pano heads. Merlin/Panogear mount with Papywizard on Nokia Internet tablets.
Nikon D5100 and D40, Sigma 8mm f3.5 FE, Nikon 10.5mm FE, 35mm, 50mm, 18-55mm, 70-210mm. Promote control.

User avatar
osmica
Member
 
Posts: 148
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2012 1:35 pm
Location: Croatia (Hrvatska)

by osmica » Sun Apr 15, 2012 10:45 pm

It seams I am thze first :)

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 14283
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.

by mediavets » Mon Apr 16, 2012 10:34 am

osmica wrote:It seams I am thze first :)

Will it be convenient/practical to run Papywizard froma laptop when shooting real estate panos?

Perhaps you might prefer a handheld host platform for Papywizard - a Nokia N800 or N810 Internet Tablet?
Andrew Stephens
Many different Nodal Ninja and Agnos pano heads. Merlin/Panogear mount with Papywizard on Nokia Internet tablets.
Nikon D5100 and D40, Sigma 8mm f3.5 FE, Nikon 10.5mm FE, 35mm, 50mm, 18-55mm, 70-210mm. Promote control.

User avatar
osmica
Member
 
Posts: 148
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2012 1:35 pm
Location: Croatia (Hrvatska)

by osmica » Mon Apr 16, 2012 12:37 pm

No, I tried it from Android and it works very good. I will buy one soon. It is smaller and is also a phone.

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 14283
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.

by mediavets » Mon Apr 16, 2012 12:50 pm

osmica wrote:No, I tried it from Android and it works very good. I will buy one soon. It is smaller and is also a phone.

Papywizard on Android?

I wasn't aware Papywizard was available on Android.
Andrew Stephens
Many different Nodal Ninja and Agnos pano heads. Merlin/Panogear mount with Papywizard on Nokia Internet tablets.
Nikon D5100 and D40, Sigma 8mm f3.5 FE, Nikon 10.5mm FE, 35mm, 50mm, 18-55mm, 70-210mm. Promote control.

no avatar
klausesser
Member
 
Posts: 7882
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany

by klausesser » Mon Apr 16, 2012 12:56 pm

mediavets wrote:
osmica wrote:No, I tried it from Android and it works very good. I will buy one soon. It is smaller and is also a phone.

Papywizard on Android?

I wasn't aware Papywizard was available on Android.

Hi Andrew!

"Panorama App". I saw it running on a Samsung phone yesterday. Works fine!

best, Klaus
Last edited by klausesser on Mon Apr 16, 2012 12:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance. Coco Chanel

User avatar
osmica
Member
 
Posts: 148
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2012 1:35 pm
Location: Croatia (Hrvatska)

by osmica » Mon Apr 16, 2012 12:58 pm

yes it is. Maybe he did the aplication, I am not sure, must ask him. He do crazy stuff. Will post here a link for that.

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 14283
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.

by mediavets » Mon Apr 16, 2012 1:35 pm

klausesser wrote:
mediavets wrote:
osmica wrote:No, I tried it from Android and it works very good. I will buy one soon. It is smaller and is also a phone.

Papywizard on Android?

I wasn't aware Papywizard was available on Android.

Hi Andrew!

"Panorama App". I saw it running on a Samsung phone yesterday. Works fine!

best, Klaus

But it's not Papywizard is it?

Does it offer all the features of Papywizard including Mosiac and Preset modes, custom presets and XML format data file output?

Where do I get more imfo about Panorama App?
Andrew Stephens
Many different Nodal Ninja and Agnos pano heads. Merlin/Panogear mount with Papywizard on Nokia Internet tablets.
Nikon D5100 and D40, Sigma 8mm f3.5 FE, Nikon 10.5mm FE, 35mm, 50mm, 18-55mm, 70-210mm. Promote control.

User avatar
gkaefer
Member
 
Posts: 3382
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 1:01 pm
Location: Salzburg

by gkaefer » Mon Apr 16, 2012 2:00 pm

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.skywatcher.PanoramaApp&feature=search_result#?t=W251bGwsMSwxLDEsImNvbS5za3l3YXRjaGVyLlBhbm9yYW1hQXBwIl0.

according desciption text its from January... so no recent version.
(with my TA Bluetooth and my Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 I have more hangups than successstories)

Georg
Last edited by gkaefer on Mon Apr 16, 2012 2:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.

no avatar
klausesser
Member
 
Posts: 7882
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany

by klausesser » Mon Apr 16, 2012 2:45 pm

mediavets wrote:But it's not Papywizard is it?

I was told it bases on PW but of course looks different.
The functionality i was told is the same.

But don´t pin me down on it - i just reported :cool:

Saw the Merlin work like with PW.

best, Klaus
Last edited by klausesser on Mon Apr 16, 2012 2:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance. Coco Chanel

User avatar
osmica
Member
 
Posts: 148
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2012 1:35 pm
Location: Croatia (Hrvatska)

by osmica » Mon Apr 16, 2012 8:51 pm

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.skywatcher.PanoramaApp&feature=search_result

We tried just once and I don`t know details now. We must test it first. I have the Panogear just few day :)

User avatar
claudevh
Member
 
Posts: 1341
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 11:12 pm
Location: Mont-Saint-André (Belgium)

by claudevh » Mon Apr 16, 2012 10:04 pm

Hi all...
Have a look on this post about PanoramaApp:
http://www.kolor.com/forum/t14377-panoramaapp-exprimental-android-application
PanoramaApp has some "basic" functionalities of Papywizard and will drive the Merlin head via BT connection.
You can create your own presets with just "start / end" angular coordinates and of course some basic info's on your camera and lens , save them and let execute by the Merlin head.
The application run on the "smallest" (cheaper) Android smartphone. (Anroid 2.2 = the lower target !) like the Samsung Y (GT-i9001)

Please try it and post your "critical" feedback into the dedicated post , this will help us to develop in the right direction ...
:cool: Claude :cool:
Merlin + Papywizard on Windows 7 & Nokia 770 § N810 & Acer (Netbook) + PanoramaApp Androïd + Deltawave PapyMerlin BT + Autopano
Spherical Pano (180 x 360) with Canon 40D + Canon EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 Zoom & Pôle Pano with Canon 5D MK2 and shaved Tokina 10-17 3.5-4.5 AF DX Fisheye
Gigapixel photography with Nikon D200 + Sigma 70-200 F 2.8 EX DG APO HSM

User avatar
osmica
Member
 
Posts: 148
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2012 1:35 pm
Location: Croatia (Hrvatska)

by osmica » Thu Apr 19, 2012 9:22 am

Hello again,

yesterday I goes in one apartment and make one panorama. Afther that when I goes to the next room, something happened. It seems like the camera has lost contact with Panogear. I am trying to fix that but I can`t. Papywizard is running and is conected. I can move the panogear in all directions with arrows but when I press shoot, it wan`t start shooting. No any movement. What can be the reason. Anybody knows?

User avatar
osmica
Member
 
Posts: 148
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2012 1:35 pm
Location: Croatia (Hrvatska)

by osmica » Thu Apr 19, 2012 10:03 am

I found that the problem is in Papywizard. My friend from another PC can use normally. He have also installed sucesfully the newest version. When I try to install (with his help also) everything ok. But when I start the Papywizard I see a strange message and I can`t start. I would like to post the screenshots but I don`t know how. Here is what is written:

Unhandled exception
ConfigManager does not contain key
`Plugins/PLUGIN_YAW_AXIS`

Details:

Traceback (most recent call last):
File "main.py", line 195, in main
File "papywizard\common\configManager.pyo", line 165, in get
File "papywizard\common\configManager.pyo", line 157, in _check
KeyError: "ConfigManager does not contain key 'Plugins/PLUGIN_YAW_AXIS'"

User avatar
osmica
Member
 
Posts: 148
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2012 1:35 pm
Location: Croatia (Hrvatska)

by osmica » Thu Apr 19, 2012 10:20 am

I am trying to install all other versions and till now I tried about 5 versions. All failed. My friend on win 32bit works everything. Where is the problem?? It seems the only way is to purchase a mobile device on which papywizard run well. What is the best to use?

User avatar
osmica
Member
 
Posts: 148
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2012 1:35 pm
Location: Croatia (Hrvatska)

by osmica » Thu Apr 19, 2012 10:33 am

I suceed finally with version 1.6.1. I see it have the option for time laps. Does this version have option for HDR? I don`t know how to shot HDR. I use Canon 500 D and it have HDR but when I try to use it with Papywizzard, it makes troubles and mistakes. For example it make 1 shot one first position and then 2 shots on 2nd position and goes like that till the end of the preset. Time interval don`t change nothing.

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 14283
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.

by mediavets » Thu Apr 19, 2012 10:42 am

osmica wrote:I would like to post the screenshots but I don`t know how.

If you edit your own post you will find the image upload facility beneath the message edit box.

When creating a new post then use Post reply (find link just below Quote in most recent post) rather than Qucik post and you will gain be offered the image upload facility below the message edit box.


Andrew Stephens
Many different Nodal Ninja and Agnos pano heads. Merlin/Panogear mount with Papywizard on Nokia Internet tablets.
Nikon D5100 and D40, Sigma 8mm f3.5 FE, Nikon 10.5mm FE, 35mm, 50mm, 18-55mm, 70-210mm. Promote control.

User avatar
osmica
Member
 
Posts: 148
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2012 1:35 pm
Location: Croatia (Hrvatska)

by osmica » Thu Apr 19, 2012 10:47 am

Thx, this is the screnshoot for the newest version of Papywizard failled message.





no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 14283
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.

by mediavets » Thu Apr 19, 2012 10:50 am

osmica wrote:I suceed finally with version 1.6.1. I see it have the option for time laps.

Time lapse was never implemented - later versions don't have that tab.

Does this version have option for HDR? I don`t know how to shot HDR. I use Canon 500 D and it have HDR but when I try to use it with Papywizzard, it makes troubles and mistakes. For example it make 1 shot one first position and then 2 shots on 2nd position and goes like that till the end of the preset. Time interval don`t change nothing.

The most recent versions of Papywizard can certainly handle the AEB capability of any camera with AEB. H\ve you configured the program correctly?

Unfortunately the AEB range of almost all cameras on the market is tyically quite inadequate for panoramic imaging.

For extended exposure bracketing - beyond the capabilitries of AEB - the addition of a Promote control offers the greatest functionality for supported cameras.

http://www.promotesystems.com/products/Promote-Control.html
Andrew Stephens
Many different Nodal Ninja and Agnos pano heads. Merlin/Panogear mount with Papywizard on Nokia Internet tablets.
Nikon D5100 and D40, Sigma 8mm f3.5 FE, Nikon 10.5mm FE, 35mm, 50mm, 18-55mm, 70-210mm. Promote control.

Next

Return to Motorized panohead project: Merlin, Orion & Papywizard

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest