Page 1 of 1

Imageposition not static

PostPosted: Tue Mar 08, 2011 6:21 pm
by gloob
Hello,

I the moment I'm testing Papywizard with my Merlin.
I always have problems with the positions the merlin is driver to.
After each line there is an offset to the left position. That means I start maybe at 50degree and after the next line the merlin moves to 45degree and so on for each line. there is always an offset for maybe 5 degree for each line:

1. line starting at 50 degree
2. line starting at 45 degree
3. line starting at 40 degree
...
and so on.

The distance between each image seems to be constant.
Is this a problem of Papywizard or the Merlin.

PS: I'm using the latest papywizard version on a windows PC.

PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2011 1:45 am
by gkaefer
is this movement also seen in the resulting papywizard logfile, or are there the positions correct logged?
did you manually move the head by hand (this may damage the head, especially the nut can get looser so head begins to move...

Georg

PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2011 1:37 pm
by mediavets
gloob wrote:Hello,

I the moment I'm testing Papywizard with my Merlin.
I always have problems with the positions the merlin is driver to.
After each line there is an offset to the left position. That means I start maybe at 50degree and after the next line the merlin moves to 45degree and so on for each line. there is always an offset for maybe 5 degree for each line:

1. line starting at 50 degree
2. line starting at 45 degree
3. line starting at 40 degree
...
and so on.

The distance between each image seems to be constant.
Is this a problem of Papywizard or the Merlin.

PS: I'm using the latest papywizard version on a windows PC.

Try disabling (unchecking) the Alternate drive option for Yaw and Pitch axis plugins - this will increase the time required to shoot a scene by about 50% but should solve the 'stepping' issue.

PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2011 9:17 pm
by gloob
Thank you very much. That helped for me. I also found that the older version 2.0 does not have this problem.

PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2011 9:55 pm
by mediavets
gloob wrote:I also found that the older version 2.0 does not have this problem.

Really? When we were investigating this issue some time back I seem to recall having to go back to a much earlier version that that to avoid this problem with Alternate drive enabled.

PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2011 10:00 pm
by gloob
I tested everything on 2 PCs. One running version 2.0 and the other version 2.1.20

Only on the 2.1.20 I see this offset problem.

I ran both systems with the same number of images and the same lens options and co.

PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2011 11:06 pm
by mediavets
2.0 has multithreading problems.

PostPosted: Thu Mar 10, 2011 12:52 am
by claudevh
Hello "Gloob"

Could-you check the Merlin firmware version ?
For that just establish the connection with your Merlin trough Papywizard, open the log file, 2-3 line before the end , You wil find the Firmware version.
How do-you connect the Merlin ... wired or not wired ?

PostPosted: Thu Mar 10, 2011 7:42 am
by gloob
Hello Claude,

The Merlin version is the newest one from your homepage.
The connection is wired via a USB-RS232 converter and the SynScan AZ.
Papywizard is running on a Acer Aspire One with Windows 7 Starter.

Stefan

PostPosted: Thu Mar 10, 2011 12:17 pm
by claudevh
OK Stefan,

But could-you give me the Firmware version of your Merlin head ...


You can find it into the Papywizard log of, if you have the "Goto" Hand controler via the controler ...
Utility Functions
Utility Functions are useful tools that provide simple, one-step
processes to your TeleTrack AZ-G.
Show Position: This function displays the coordinates (Right
Ascension and Declination) of the location where the telescope
mounted on the TeleTrack AZ-G is currently pointing.
Show Information: This function displays setup information
input by the user:
Time: Displays the current time and local sidereal time
(LST).
Version: Displays the Hand Controller Firmware, Database,
Hand Controller Hardware, and Motor Controller. (Motor
Controller version only displays if the controller is connected <<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<
to the mount). Use the scroll buttons to toggle through
the list.
Temperature: Displays the internal operating temperature
of the hand controller.
Power Voltage: Displays the input voltage to the hand controller.
This can be used to check the status of your power
supply.

I am asking that because the problems mentionned are related to the Merlin firmware versions !!!!

PostPosted: Thu Mar 10, 2011 12:58 pm
by berto36
I've got the same problem.
Today I've been doing photos for a panorama 12 col. x 12 row of a grafiti in a wall. At the begining I've recorded the reference position in the center of the grafiti. In each row the head shifts to the left and down. At the end, the head is completly out of place. I sent the head to the reference position and It was left and down from where it should be.

My equipment : Merlin Head with firmware version 020781; Papywizard 2.1.20; Nokia N800; Canon 400D; Canon 70-200mm f4 L USM.

Could be this problem caused by the inertia of motion, due to the weight of the camera and the lens? In my case: camera 510 grs.; lens 705 grs.; total: 1.215 grs.

gkaefer wrote:is this movement also seen in the resulting papywizard logfile, or are there the positions correct logged?
did you manually move the head by hand (this may damage the head, especially the nut can get looser so head begins to move...

Georg

The positions are correct logged.
I usually move the head by hand. Maybe I'm stupid for doing this. I didn't know that it is a bad habit.

PostPosted: Thu Mar 10, 2011 4:36 pm
by claudevh
Hello Berto,
I usually move the head by hand. Maybe I'm stupid for doing this. I didn't know that it is a bad habit.

IT IS A VERY BAD HABIT !
The bolts of your horizontal axis should be slighly tightened till the moment that you will not be able to turn the head with your hand.
It is a friction part between the head pieces who is "damaged by turning the head with the hand"
With the time the axis become loose ...

Hello Stefan,
This is probabbly the same problem in your case with the new head .... quality control in China is still "unknown" !
The last firmware have "improved" indirectly this phenomen, the firmware is more "progressive" in the beginning of the move before going to full speed !
Old firmware is going directly to full speed causing a "big inertia" so you get incorrect positions depending on the direction of the move !
Conclusions:
- check the firmware.... upgrade if necessary !
- tighten the bolts ... but not too much (could be done for both axis) !

PostPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2011 12:37 pm
by axelmayer
Hello,
i have the same Problem, my panohead is new and it was the first shot.
i check the firmware in evening

Axel

PostPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2011 5:29 pm
by mediavets
axelmayer wrote:Hello,
i have the same Problem, my panohead is new and it was the first shot.
i check the firmware in evening

Axel

Try this, it will increase shooting time but should solve the problem while you explore the other options:
http://www.autopano.net/forum/p79030-2011-03-09-12-37-13#p79030