New Head  

Everything you need to motorize your head
no avatar
donpesce
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 28
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 10:34 am
Location: Switzerland
Info

New Head

by donpesce » Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:16 am

Hello Community

I was thinking to buy THIS HEAD without the handbox and modify it a bit. But before i have some questions:

1.1. Will this head work with papywizard, "usb to ttl"-converter, and NO handbox? (The head has the same Manual as Merlin) Or do I need the handbox for this?
1.2. If 1.1 works, it will also work with a bluetooth connection right?
2. Is the interior Electronics the same? If yes can I easily add a connector for the shutter release?

I wanted to use this mounting for some gigapixel projects. When I manage to make all work the second step would have been to modify the mounting, that I could mount my camera in the nodal point or at least to put all the axis a bit closer, like the Merlin is made. What do you think, is this step mandatory for gigapixel-projects?

I would really apreciate your help. Thanks!
Nikon D80 --- Sigma 8mm f4 EX --- SIGMA 10-20mm F/4.0-5.6 EX DC HSM --- Pano-MAXX --- Manfrotto 055XProb --- IR- & Funk/Kabel Fernbedienung --- HUGIN --- Krpano

User avatar
claudevh
Moderator
 
Posts: 1349
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 11:12 pm
Location: Mont-Saint-André (Belgium)
Info

by claudevh » Wed Dec 15, 2010 2:24 pm

Hello "donpesce", welcome on board !

I will try to answer your questions, but the answers should be considered with precautions and no garantee are given !

1.1. the answer is YES, this should work with Papywizard with a TTL 5.0 V connection ! (not RS232) The handbox isn't mandatory! (schema's are availlable)

1.2. For the BT the answer is YES.

2. This has not been yet controled ... I am not certain ... but I believe YES, if this is the case ... then this will be easy to add a Camera control cable !
Anyway, you could allways control your camera directly trough Papywizard plugins with a USB connection via your PC/Mac !

The main problem is that this mount has the 2 axis who are not crossing together, so it will not be possible to get the exact NPP ...
Setting the NPP correctly is mandatory for "close-up" pano's but not mandatory for Gigapixels .

Hope that this will help ... :)
:cool: Claude :cool:
Merlin + Papywizard on Windows 7 & Nokia 770 § N810 & Acer (Netbook) + PanoramaApp Androïd + Deltawave PapyMerlin BT + Autopano
Spherical Pano (180 x 360) with Canon 40D + Canon EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 Zoom & Pôle Pano with Canon 5D MK2 and shaved Tokina 10-17 3.5-4.5 AF DX Fisheye
Gigapixel photography with Nikon D200 + Sigma 70-200 F 2.8 EX DG APO HSM

User avatar
klausesser
Member
 
Posts: 8836
Likes: 5 posts
Liked in: 64 posts
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
Info

by klausesser » Wed Dec 15, 2010 4:22 pm

Hi Claude!


"Setting the NPP correctly is mandatory for "close-up" pano's but not mandatory for Gigapixels ."

Depends . . . Not all Gigapixels are far-away landscapes - think of paintings, painted walls or ceilings in churches, chapels and so on.
Architectural images are another point - often shot with about 85mm at distances around 50m for example

Here it would be impossible to use such a head.

best, Klaus
Simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance. Coco Chanel

no avatar
donpesce
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 28
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 10:34 am
Location: Switzerland
Info

by donpesce » Wed Dec 15, 2010 4:51 pm

Thank you very much! This helped me a lot.

If there is no "hidden" camera control cable, i would hope that in the near future there will be a sort of bluetooth solution for it. I can imagine a combination of the following to products and a plugin in papywizard:

Bluetooth to rs232
rs232 Relay

What do you think? Could that be feasible, or does this already work?


Regarding the "corssing axis" that's why I wanted to modify this Mount. But now I see that it is just the right thing i need for the begining. When my needs get more "complex" or change like described from Klaus i will do this modification.

BTW: I have no clue about electronics. And it's a long time back I have been programming some simple stuff.
Nikon D80 --- Sigma 8mm f4 EX --- SIGMA 10-20mm F/4.0-5.6 EX DC HSM --- Pano-MAXX --- Manfrotto 055XProb --- IR- & Funk/Kabel Fernbedienung --- HUGIN --- Krpano

User avatar
hd_pano
New member
 
Posts: 8
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:08 am
Info

by hd_pano » Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:07 pm

Hello,

i use the BT Interface from ursaminor.hu, which i bougth at Teleskop Austria: http://www.teleskop-austria.at/prod.php?lng=de&tid=15#montz-blt-hu .
It has camera control cable which works very good.

Greetings hd_pano
div lenses from 8 to 2000 mm
div cameras
div panoheads
div comuters

User avatar
claudevh
Moderator
 
Posts: 1349
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 11:12 pm
Location: Mont-Saint-André (Belgium)
Info

by claudevh » Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:36 pm

Hello "donpesce" ...

Yes this should be possible, we can speak about that later if the head have not the build-in stuff.

Anyway, if you don't use a BT transmission between your PC/Mac and your "Merlin" head, as allready said, you can use the camera remote USB control by Papywizard ...
What camera do-you have ?

Concerning the BT module of Ursa Minor / Teleskop Austria, this is also a solution but "expensive" ...
:cool: Claude :cool:
Merlin + Papywizard on Windows 7 & Nokia 770 § N810 & Acer (Netbook) + PanoramaApp Androïd + Deltawave PapyMerlin BT + Autopano
Spherical Pano (180 x 360) with Canon 40D + Canon EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 Zoom & Pôle Pano with Canon 5D MK2 and shaved Tokina 10-17 3.5-4.5 AF DX Fisheye
Gigapixel photography with Nikon D200 + Sigma 70-200 F 2.8 EX DG APO HSM

no avatar
donpesce
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 28
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 10:34 am
Location: Switzerland
Info

by donpesce » Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:41 pm

Thank you Claude

In this case i will buy this Mounting, start testing and let you know if i find this camera thing.

As a Camera I use a Nikon D80 and i don't have a software for remote/USB triggering yet. Do you have any suggestions?

Greetings Claudio (but for less confusion you can still call me donpesce ;) )
Last edited by donpesce on Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Nikon D80 --- Sigma 8mm f4 EX --- SIGMA 10-20mm F/4.0-5.6 EX DC HSM --- Pano-MAXX --- Manfrotto 055XProb --- IR- & Funk/Kabel Fernbedienung --- HUGIN --- Krpano

User avatar
klausesser
Member
 
Posts: 8836
Likes: 5 posts
Liked in: 64 posts
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
Info

by klausesser » Wed Dec 15, 2010 8:32 pm

donpesce wrote:. . . i will do this modification.

How could that be possible?

best, Klaus
Simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance. Coco Chanel

no avatar
donpesce
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 28
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 10:34 am
Location: Switzerland
Info

by donpesce » Wed Dec 15, 2010 8:51 pm

Oh well I have no idea if it is gonna be easy, but I would make a totaly new frame and mount the "interior" of the Head in the new Frame.
Nikon D80 --- Sigma 8mm f4 EX --- SIGMA 10-20mm F/4.0-5.6 EX DC HSM --- Pano-MAXX --- Manfrotto 055XProb --- IR- & Funk/Kabel Fernbedienung --- HUGIN --- Krpano

User avatar
Paul
Member
 
Posts: 778
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2008 4:46 pm
Location: Bonn, Germany
Info

by Paul » Thu Dec 16, 2010 11:30 am

donpesce wrote:Oh well I have no idea if it is gonna be easy, but I would make a totaly new frame and mount the "interior" of the Head in the new Frame.

It is not clearly to see, which model it is.

I took apart a similiar device: inside same microcontroller, but much smaller gears and motors, which may be a problem with a DSLR.
Paul

close, but no cigar ... ... ...

User avatar
claudevh
Moderator
 
Posts: 1349
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 11:12 pm
Location: Mont-Saint-André (Belgium)
Info

by claudevh » Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:53 pm

Paul,

This is basically the same model that you have dismantled, but more robust.
Probably similar to the MF-2 AutoTrack, and you have get the MF-1 I believe ...
:cool: Claude :cool:
Merlin + Papywizard on Windows 7 & Nokia 770 § N810 & Acer (Netbook) + PanoramaApp Androïd + Deltawave PapyMerlin BT + Autopano
Spherical Pano (180 x 360) with Canon 40D + Canon EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 Zoom & Pôle Pano with Canon 5D MK2 and shaved Tokina 10-17 3.5-4.5 AF DX Fisheye
Gigapixel photography with Nikon D200 + Sigma 70-200 F 2.8 EX DG APO HSM

no avatar
donpesce
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 28
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 10:34 am
Location: Switzerland
Info

by donpesce » Wed Dec 22, 2010 12:35 pm

Finally i've got pictures of the mainboard. Does anybody know this board, and maybe detect the connection for the camera shutter/trigger?

Sorry for the blur. I took the pictures with my cellphone.






Last edited by donpesce on Wed Dec 22, 2010 12:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Nikon D80 --- Sigma 8mm f4 EX --- SIGMA 10-20mm F/4.0-5.6 EX DC HSM --- Pano-MAXX --- Manfrotto 055XProb --- IR- & Funk/Kabel Fernbedienung --- HUGIN --- Krpano

no avatar
donpesce
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 28
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 10:34 am
Location: Switzerland
Info

by donpesce » Wed Dec 22, 2010 12:59 pm

I think having found the answers myself on the following threads:

http://www.autopano.net/forum/p46681-2009-06-07-22-16-11
http://www.autopano.net/forum/viewtopic.php?id=6525&p=1

The Camera Trigger is on Connector SW ("MS" :) ). I am unsure if i need to set Jumper J1 because I've read it is put on in the Merlin Version. I am unsure if it is regarding the camera trigger or maybe because of the motors and the gears. As soon as I will receive the USB to TTL connector i will test it and let you know.

At this point I want to thank all members of this forum and especially those who helped me in this thread. You deliver good support and development even if it has (nearly) nothing to do with the products of Kolor. I have known a lot of forums which also where like this one but by the time they only got spammed with questions and nobody was carring about it. I know this will not happen in this one because I see how engaged everybody is.

Thank you very much!!!
Nikon D80 --- Sigma 8mm f4 EX --- SIGMA 10-20mm F/4.0-5.6 EX DC HSM --- Pano-MAXX --- Manfrotto 055XProb --- IR- & Funk/Kabel Fernbedienung --- HUGIN --- Krpano

User avatar
claudevh
Moderator
 
Posts: 1349
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 11:12 pm
Location: Mont-Saint-André (Belgium)
Info

by claudevh » Wed Dec 22, 2010 5:36 pm

Simple and "bingo!"


:cool: Claude :cool:
Merlin + Papywizard on Windows 7 & Nokia 770 § N810 & Acer (Netbook) + PanoramaApp Androïd + Deltawave PapyMerlin BT + Autopano
Spherical Pano (180 x 360) with Canon 40D + Canon EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 Zoom & Pôle Pano with Canon 5D MK2 and shaved Tokina 10-17 3.5-4.5 AF DX Fisheye
Gigapixel photography with Nikon D200 + Sigma 70-200 F 2.8 EX DG APO HSM

no avatar
donpesce
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 28
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 10:34 am
Location: Switzerland
Info

by donpesce » Mon Jan 10, 2011 11:10 pm

I've received my rs232 to ttl converter and also a Bluetooth module. I can successfully connect my head to the PC with my converter and also with my bluetooth module. The control with papywizard works but there is a problem, which occurs with wired and wireless connection:

When doing a real 180° turn, papywizard tells me that I made a turn of about 275°. What is going wrong? Do I have to set some jumpers? or do I need to configure papywizard? I know that I have on both axis different motors and different gears but the "offset" is for both the same.

I hope that someone can help me. :/

Here the Log:
Code: Select all
2011-01-10 23:40:04,430::MainThread::DEBUG::MainController.__onActionHardwareConnectToggled(True)
2011-01-10 23:40:04,430::MainThread::INFO::Connecting to real hardware...
2011-01-10 23:40:04,483::Dummy-4::DEBUG::Head.init(): initializing driver...
2011-01-10 23:40:04,835::Dummy-4::DEBUG::Head.init(): driver initialized
2011-01-10 23:40:04,836::Dummy-4::DEBUG::Head.init(): initializing axis...
2011-01-10 23:40:05,065::Dummy-4::EXCEPTION::Axis._sendCmdTraceback (most recent call last):  File "papywizard\hardware\axis.pyo", line 236, in _sendCmd  File "papywizard\hardware\serialDriver.pyo", line 120, in sendCmdIOError: Timeout while reading on serial bus
2011-01-10 23:40:05,066::Dummy-4::WARNING::Axis._sendCmd(): axis 1 can't sent command. Retrying...
2011-01-10 23:40:05,082::Dummy-4::DEBUG::Axis.init(): full circle count=0x162b97
2011-01-10 23:40:05,096::Dummy-4::DEBUG::Axis.init(): sidereal rate=0x486
2011-01-10 23:40:05,125::Dummy-4::DEBUG::Axis.init(): full circle count=0x162b97
2011-01-10 23:40:05,141::Dummy-4::DEBUG::Axis.init(): sidereal rate=0x486
2011-01-10 23:40:05,141::Dummy-4::DEBUG::Head.init(): axis initialized
2011-01-10 23:40:05,141::Dummy-4::DEBUG::Shooting.switchToRealHardware(): realHardware initialized
2011-01-10 23:40:05,163::MainThread::DEBUG::MainController.__onHardwareConnected(): flag=True
2011-01-10 23:40:05,216::MainThread::INFO::Now connected to real hardware

PS: The shutter release should also work. I have measured that the contact is closing when papywizard want's to shoot a picture.
Last edited by donpesce on Mon Jan 10, 2011 11:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Nikon D80 --- Sigma 8mm f4 EX --- SIGMA 10-20mm F/4.0-5.6 EX DC HSM --- Pano-MAXX --- Manfrotto 055XProb --- IR- & Funk/Kabel Fernbedienung --- HUGIN --- Krpano

User avatar
claudevh
Moderator
 
Posts: 1349
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 11:12 pm
Location: Mont-Saint-André (Belgium)
Info

by claudevh » Tue Jan 11, 2011 12:21 am

Hello "donpesce"

You have not the last version of Papywizard ...
Please install the last develoment version 2.1.20-1 on your PC:
http://www.papywizard.org/wiki/Download

This version is more informative in the log file ...
Then clean off the log file and restart Papywizard and make the connection ...
Then when the connection is established and before doing anything else, copy the "entire" log file and post it on the forum 8

I have just receive the same head as the yours and I have excellent connection with BT and wired connection ...
I will investigate furter the functions of this head ...
This head use the firmware 02.05.80 ... this is not the most recent !
:cool: Claude :cool:
Merlin + Papywizard on Windows 7 & Nokia 770 § N810 & Acer (Netbook) + PanoramaApp Androïd + Deltawave PapyMerlin BT + Autopano
Spherical Pano (180 x 360) with Canon 40D + Canon EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 Zoom & Pôle Pano with Canon 5D MK2 and shaved Tokina 10-17 3.5-4.5 AF DX Fisheye
Gigapixel photography with Nikon D200 + Sigma 70-200 F 2.8 EX DG APO HSM

no avatar
donpesce
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 28
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 10:34 am
Location: Switzerland
Info

by donpesce » Tue Jan 11, 2011 12:24 am

[EDIT] Oh You where a bit faster than me :-) anyhow here again what i have written[/EDIT]

Sorry for the postings, but I resolved the problem. :D I was using Vers. 2.0 of papywizard. Now I installed the development version and now everything works fine. Sometimes it's better to read a website carefully:rolleyes:. Here again the log:


Code: Select all
2011-01-11 00:21:50,407::Main::DEBUG::MainController.__onActionHardwareConnectToggled(False)
2011-01-11 00:21:50,408::Main::INFO::Stopping connection. Please wait...
2011-01-11 00:21:50,447::Main::DEBUG::PluginsConnector.start(): 'yawAxis' shutdown
2011-01-11 00:21:50,555::Spy::INFO::Spy suspended
2011-01-11 00:21:50,686::Main::DEBUG::PluginsConnector.start(): 'yawAxis' stop connection
2011-01-11 00:21:50,687::Main::DEBUG::PluginsConnector.start(): 'pitchAxis' shutdown
2011-01-11 00:21:50,921::Main::DEBUG::PluginsConnector.start(): 'pitchAxis' stop connection
2011-01-11 00:21:50,923::Main::DEBUG::PluginsConnector.start(): 'shutter' shutdown
2011-01-11 00:21:50,931::Main::DEBUG::PluginsConnector.start(): 'shutter' stop connection
2011-01-11 00:21:51,029::Main::INFO::Connection stopped
2011-01-11 00:21:52,229::Main::DEBUG::MainController.__onActionHardwareConnectToggled(True)
2011-01-11 00:21:52,230::Main::INFO::Starting connection. Please wait...
2011-01-11 00:21:52,259::Main::DEBUG::PluginsConnector.start(): 'yawAxis' establish connection
2011-01-11 00:21:52,612::Main::DEBUG::PluginsConnector.start(): 'yawAxis' init
2011-01-11 00:21:53,628::Main::EXCEPTION::MerlinOrionHardware.__sendCmd
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "papywizard\hardware\merlinOrionHardware.pyo", line 145, in __sendCmd
  File "papywizard\driver\serialDriver.pyo", line 115, in read
IOError: Timeout while reading on serial bus (size=1, data='')
2011-01-11 00:21:53,628::Main::WARNING::MerlinOrionHardware.__sendCmd(): axis 1 can't sent command 'F1'. Retrying...
2011-01-11 00:21:53,650::Main::DEBUG::MerlinOrionHardware.init(): firmeware version=020580
2011-01-11 00:21:53,664::Main::DEBUG::MerlinOrionHardware.init(): encoder full circle=0x162b97
2011-01-11 00:21:53,680::Main::DEBUG::MerlinOrionHardware.init(): sidereal rate=0x486
2011-01-11 00:21:53,680::Main::DEBUG::PluginsConnector.start(): 'pitchAxis' establish connection
2011-01-11 00:21:53,680::Main::DEBUG::PluginsConnector.start(): 'pitchAxis' init
2011-01-11 00:21:53,710::Main::DEBUG::MerlinOrionHardware.init(): firmeware version=020580
2011-01-11 00:21:53,724::Main::DEBUG::MerlinOrionHardware.init(): encoder full circle=0x162b97
2011-01-11 00:21:53,740::Main::DEBUG::MerlinOrionHardware.init(): sidereal rate=0x486
2011-01-11 00:21:53,740::Main::DEBUG::PluginsConnector.start(): 'shutter' establish connection
2011-01-11 00:21:53,740::Main::DEBUG::PluginsConnector.start(): 'shutter' init
2011-01-11 00:21:53,769::Main::DEBUG::MerlinOrionHardware.init(): firmeware version=020580
2011-01-11 00:21:53,783::Main::DEBUG::MerlinOrionHardware.init(): encoder full circle=0x162b97
2011-01-11 00:21:53,799::Main::DEBUG::MerlinOrionHardware.init(): sidereal rate=0x486
2011-01-11 00:21:53,801::Main::INFO::Connection started
2011-01-11 00:21:53,956::Spy::INFO::Spy resumed

I guess I need to update the firmware. Will I have problems updating the firmware due to the diffrent motors and gears (resolution)?
Last edited by donpesce on Tue Jan 11, 2011 12:29 am, edited 1 time in total.
Nikon D80 --- Sigma 8mm f4 EX --- SIGMA 10-20mm F/4.0-5.6 EX DC HSM --- Pano-MAXX --- Manfrotto 055XProb --- IR- & Funk/Kabel Fernbedienung --- HUGIN --- Krpano

User avatar
claudevh
Moderator
 
Posts: 1349
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 11:12 pm
Location: Mont-Saint-André (Belgium)
Info

by claudevh » Tue Jan 11, 2011 12:32 am

Happy for you ...

But don't update the firmware now !!! :/

I have not yet established enough characteristics of the head and changing the firmware is dangerous if the firmware and the head generation are not compatible !!!
Continue your trials, report here, from my side I will investigate in the nexts days the head for his characteristics.
:cool: Claude :cool:
Merlin + Papywizard on Windows 7 & Nokia 770 § N810 & Acer (Netbook) + PanoramaApp Androïd + Deltawave PapyMerlin BT + Autopano
Spherical Pano (180 x 360) with Canon 40D + Canon EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 Zoom & Pôle Pano with Canon 5D MK2 and shaved Tokina 10-17 3.5-4.5 AF DX Fisheye
Gigapixel photography with Nikon D200 + Sigma 70-200 F 2.8 EX DG APO HSM

User avatar
claudevh
Moderator
 
Posts: 1349
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 11:12 pm
Location: Mont-Saint-André (Belgium)
Info

by claudevh » Tue Jan 11, 2011 12:34 am

If possible, please share also your ideas and experiences for the mechanical adaptation of the head.
Many thans in advance for that ...!!!
:cool: Claude :cool:
Merlin + Papywizard on Windows 7 & Nokia 770 § N810 & Acer (Netbook) + PanoramaApp Androïd + Deltawave PapyMerlin BT + Autopano
Spherical Pano (180 x 360) with Canon 40D + Canon EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 Zoom & Pôle Pano with Canon 5D MK2 and shaved Tokina 10-17 3.5-4.5 AF DX Fisheye
Gigapixel photography with Nikon D200 + Sigma 70-200 F 2.8 EX DG APO HSM

User avatar
claudevh
Moderator
 
Posts: 1349
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 11:12 pm
Location: Mont-Saint-André (Belgium)
Info

by claudevh » Tue Jan 11, 2011 12:39 am

A first info is that "encoder full circle=0x162b97 and sidereal rate=0x486" are the same that those of the "original" Merlin !
So normally you should not have problems for positionning the head correctly to the right programmed angles !

You have also a "time-out" in the start-up procedure, probably that some Papywizard parameters should be adapted ...
:cool: Claude :cool:
Merlin + Papywizard on Windows 7 & Nokia 770 § N810 & Acer (Netbook) + PanoramaApp Androïd + Deltawave PapyMerlin BT + Autopano
Spherical Pano (180 x 360) with Canon 40D + Canon EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 Zoom & Pôle Pano with Canon 5D MK2 and shaved Tokina 10-17 3.5-4.5 AF DX Fisheye
Gigapixel photography with Nikon D200 + Sigma 70-200 F 2.8 EX DG APO HSM

no avatar
donpesce
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 28
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 10:34 am
Location: Switzerland
Info

by donpesce » Tue Jan 11, 2011 12:56 am

Again I have to thank you for your very fast answers and help...

I already started the mechanical adaptation. Unfortunately I am really bad at it. And since the material is Aluminum I can't handle it very well, because it's difficult to solder, soft etc...

Until now I have made a new box for the altitude which is 80% finished. The hard part for me will be to make a box for the Azimut (the motor at the tripod). I find it hard, because the mechanical parts used are quite big and you can't really cut something off, so it will become something quite big. As soon as i have those "boxes" i will mount them on a "L-Bracket" (those of a shelf board) which I've found in a DIY-store.

The camera mounting (clamp) will remain the same. As a plate / rail I will use wood.

The tripodmounting maybe needs to be modified, because I want to use my Manfrotto tripod and also my 15m mast.

When finished I will post some pictures of it.

Does anyone knows where to get screws and bolts of 1/4 and 3/8 inch for photography use? Or where I could get a cheap thread cutter for this measures?
Last edited by donpesce on Tue Jan 11, 2011 1:00 am, edited 1 time in total.
Nikon D80 --- Sigma 8mm f4 EX --- SIGMA 10-20mm F/4.0-5.6 EX DC HSM --- Pano-MAXX --- Manfrotto 055XProb --- IR- & Funk/Kabel Fernbedienung --- HUGIN --- Krpano

User avatar
fma38
Moderator
 
Posts: 5850
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 2 posts
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 6:21 pm
Location: Grenoble, France
Info

by fma38 » Tue Jan 11, 2011 8:04 am

claudevh wrote:A first info is that "encoder full circle=0x162b97 and sidereal rate=0x486" are the same that those of the "original" Merlin!
So normally you should not have problems for positionning the head correctly to the right programmed angles!

The encoder full circle value is different from the the v1 (0xe62d3). In previous versions of Papywizard, this was hard-coded; that's why donpesce got wrong angle... With latest releases, I read the value returned by the firmware, so it now works in all cases.
Frédéric

no avatar
120to120
Member
 
Posts: 144
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 8:32 pm
Info

by 120to120 » Tue Jan 11, 2011 8:31 am

Hi donpesce,

I buy screws (1/4 and 3/8 inch) at Harley Davidson.
Greetings
120to120
Last edited by 120to120 on Tue Jan 11, 2011 9:10 am, edited 1 time in total.
(*Merlin/Orion_BT - teleskop-austria.*); FTDI USB-TTL cable; Macbook (Intel) OS X10.5.6 / ext. Bluetooth Dongle_VIVANCO_B1002270209 / PW 2.1.20; Go-To / TA *Nokia N810 / PW 2.1.20 * Sony F717 / Sony R1 ; JJC SR-828; 15m Mast;

User avatar
claudevh
Moderator
 
Posts: 1349
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 11:12 pm
Location: Mont-Saint-André (Belgium)
Info

by claudevh » Tue Jan 11, 2011 9:42 am

Hello "donpesce",

For your modifications, I believe that you should NOT modify the AZ axis and hold the base of the mount has it is originaly ...
The "footprint' is smaller then the footprint of the original Merlin and will not give much problems !

When you dismantle the vertical part, you can use the "existing" fixation system to bolt a "L form" alu or iron profile and use it for a new system to "deport" the existing vertical arm (ALT axis) in such a way that this one will be aligned with the AZ axis.
This is difficult to explain ... I will take some pictures of the modifications I want to make with the same head that you have ...
I will post today in the forum ...
:cool: Claude :cool:
Merlin + Papywizard on Windows 7 & Nokia 770 § N810 & Acer (Netbook) + PanoramaApp Androïd + Deltawave PapyMerlin BT + Autopano
Spherical Pano (180 x 360) with Canon 40D + Canon EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 Zoom & Pôle Pano with Canon 5D MK2 and shaved Tokina 10-17 3.5-4.5 AF DX Fisheye
Gigapixel photography with Nikon D200 + Sigma 70-200 F 2.8 EX DG APO HSM

User avatar
claudevh
Moderator
 
Posts: 1349
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 11:12 pm
Location: Mont-Saint-André (Belgium)
Info

by claudevh » Tue Jan 11, 2011 9:45 am

Hello Frederic,

What you say for the "full cycle hard coding value " into the old versions of Papywizard, is true for witch versions ???
:cool: Claude :cool:
Merlin + Papywizard on Windows 7 & Nokia 770 § N810 & Acer (Netbook) + PanoramaApp Androïd + Deltawave PapyMerlin BT + Autopano
Spherical Pano (180 x 360) with Canon 40D + Canon EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 Zoom & Pôle Pano with Canon 5D MK2 and shaved Tokina 10-17 3.5-4.5 AF DX Fisheye
Gigapixel photography with Nikon D200 + Sigma 70-200 F 2.8 EX DG APO HSM

Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests