Inside out Times Square pano  

Share your tips and tricks here or get help with any Autopano Pro / Giga problem!
No bug reports (of any kind) in this forum!
no avatar
slerman
New member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2009 10:08 pm

Inside out Times Square pano

by slerman » Tue Jan 06, 2009 10:14 pm

I'm new to AutoPano Pro, so forgive me if this is a silly question. Most of my stitches have gone well. This one is strange. Quite good RMS value, but all wrong. How would I fix this?
Image

no avatar
klausesser
Member
 
Posts: 7858
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany

by klausesser » Tue Jan 06, 2009 10:28 pm

slerman wrote:I'm new to AutoPano Pro, so forgive me if this is a silly question. Most of my stitches have gone well. This one is strange. Quite good RMS value, but all wrong. How would I fix this?
http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1225/3174278057_90cf7de34b_b.jpg

Hi!

Set the centerpoint to the spot the camera pointed to. Usually it´s a point in the height of the camera´s horizontal looking position. After doing so use "automatic horizont", in harder cases the "vertical lines" tool. With that you can streighten every pano vertically.

best, Klaus
Last edited by klausesser on Tue Jan 06, 2009 10:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance. Coco Chanel

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 14163
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.

by mediavets » Tue Jan 06, 2009 11:07 pm

slerman wrote:I'm new to AutoPano Pro, so forgive me if this is a silly question. Most of my stitches have gone well. This one is strange. Quite good RMS value, but all wrong. How would I fix this?
http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1225/3174278057_90cf7de34b_b.jpg

Use the Yaw/Pitch/Roll button and enter a Pitch value of 90 or -90, then click on the tick symbol.

If it ends up upside down use the 180 button.

Then use the Automatic horizon button to level it up.

If vertical lines are still not vertical use the Vrtical lines button button and draw vertical lines on the pano.

Here's the video tutorial:
http://www.autopano.net/wiki/action/view/How_to_straighten_a_panorama
Andrew Stephens
Many different Nodal Ninja and Agnos pano heads. Merlin/Panogear mount with Papywizard on Nokia Internet tablets.
Nikon D5100 and D40, Sigma 8mm f3.5 FE, Nikon 10.5mm FE, 35mm, 50mm, 18-55mm, 70-210mm. Promote control.

no avatar
hankkarl
Member
 
Posts: 1285
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 5:32 pm
Location: Connecticut, USA

by hankkarl » Wed Jan 07, 2009 12:17 am

klausesser wrote:
slerman wrote:I'm new to AutoPano Pro, so forgive me if this is a silly question. Most of my stitches have gone well. This one is strange. Quite good RMS value, but all wrong. How would I fix this?
http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1225/3174278057_90cf7de34b_b.jpg

Hi!

Set the centerpoint to the spot the camera pointed to. Usually it´s a point in the height of the camera´s horizontal looking position. After doing so use "automatic horizont", in harder cases the "vertical lines" tool. With that you can streighten every pano vertically.

best, Klaus

Looks like the nadir is centered.

Imagine you took a laser pointer and laid it on the tripod pointing the same way the lens points. Those are the places you can put a centerpoint. Pick one that is directly above or below the center point of your pano. If you pick a point left or right of the centerpoint (where the sky meets the ground), you'll have to rotate the pano 90 degrees, but I sometimes use these points because they're easier to find.

Also, try turning on the CP editor before you do this. If you shot two or more rows, the links will make circles around the vertex and nadir. Try centering the pano with the centerpoint tool to a spot to the right and notice the pattern then. Then rotate 90 degrees, and see what the links look like.

no avatar
slerman
New member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2009 10:08 pm

by slerman » Wed Jan 07, 2009 6:50 pm

Thanks for the help.
Image

no avatar
slerman
New member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2009 10:08 pm

by slerman » Wed Jan 07, 2009 7:14 pm

This version (Stereographic projection) feels most like being there...
Image

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 14163
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.

by mediavets » Wed Jan 07, 2009 7:29 pm

slerman wrote:This version (Stereographic projection) feels most like being there...
http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3306/3177614102_4d1e65e5e0_b.jpg

Then perhaps you are the first avian user of APP? :lol:
Andrew Stephens
Many different Nodal Ninja and Agnos pano heads. Merlin/Panogear mount with Papywizard on Nokia Internet tablets.
Nikon D5100 and D40, Sigma 8mm f3.5 FE, Nikon 10.5mm FE, 35mm, 50mm, 18-55mm, 70-210mm. Promote control.

no avatar
slerman
New member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2009 10:08 pm

by slerman » Wed Jan 07, 2009 7:40 pm

Exactly. ;)


Return to Using Autopano Pro & Autopano Giga

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests