Autopano not able to stitch, hugin no issue?   [SOLVED] - View the solution

Share your tips and tricks here or get help with any Autopano Pro / Giga problem!
No bug reports (of any kind) in this forum!
no avatar
bastibasti
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 19
Likes: 6 posts
Liked in: 1 post
Joined: Tue Oct 24, 2017 10:03 pm
Info

Autopano not able to stitch, hugin no issue?

by bastibasti » Mon Mar 19, 2018 11:32 pm

Hi,

I shot a test pano in my living room:
- Canon 77D
- Samyang 8mm F3.5 Fisheye
- Landscape orientation
- 6 horizontal +1 nadir +1 zentith
- bracketed mode
- fisheye and 8mm focal length entered in the image properties.

However I have issues to stitch the images. Please check the screenshot.

I am a total noob. However I had no issues stitching the images made with my Yi4k Action cam + panohero.

Any hints what I did wrong?
Attachments
apg_vs_hugin.jpg

User avatar
olivierbo
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 2225
Likes: 1 post
Liked in: 133 posts
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2014 11:44 am
Info

Re: Autopano not able to stitch, hugin no issue?

by olivierbo » Tue Mar 20, 2018 10:01 am

Hello,

If you get a messy panorama, the first thing to do is to check the focal which is 12.8mm in that case.
Let me know if it helps.

Best,
Olivier

bastibasti likes this post.

no avatar
bastibasti
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 19
Likes: 6 posts
Liked in: 1 post
Joined: Tue Oct 24, 2017 10:03 pm
Info

Re: Autopano not able to stitch, hugin no issue?

by bastibasti » Tue Mar 20, 2018 11:02 am

Hi,

I will try it. Can you PLMK how to find out that information?

User avatar
olivierbo
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 2225
Likes: 1 post
Liked in: 133 posts
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2014 11:44 am
Info

Re: Autopano not able to stitch, hugin no issue?

by olivierbo » Tue Mar 20, 2018 11:08 am


no avatar
bastibasti
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 19
Likes: 6 posts
Liked in: 1 post
Joined: Tue Oct 24, 2017 10:03 pm
Info

Re: Autopano not able to stitch, hugin no issue?

by bastibasti » Tue Mar 20, 2018 8:31 pm

Thanks. Yes. No my question was: for the samyang 8mm, how do you know the focal length is 12.8mm? BTW entering 12.8mm seems to work - however I need to understand where did you get that number from (I'm a noob - next time I dont want to have to ask)

User avatar
olivierbo
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 2225
Likes: 1 post
Liked in: 133 posts
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2014 11:44 am
Info

Re: Autopano not able to stitch, hugin no issue?  [SOLVED]

by olivierbo » Wed Mar 21, 2018 8:28 am

Hello,

As you use a Canon APS-C sensor, you must multiply 8 by 1.6 (24x36 equivalent conversion ratio): https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/APS-C
If your camera is detected in image properties (Camera sensor scale field), just change the Focal lenght field and Autopano will automatically calculate the Focal (35mm equiv) ;)

Hope this helps.

Best regards,
Olivier

bastibasti likes this post.

no avatar
bastibasti
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 19
Likes: 6 posts
Liked in: 1 post
Joined: Tue Oct 24, 2017 10:03 pm
Info

Re: Autopano not able to stitch, hugin no issue?

by bastibasti » Thu Mar 22, 2018 1:42 pm

Thank you for that answer!


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron