PANO layout Schema to assist Detection?  

Share your tips and tricks here or get help with any Autopano Pro / Giga problem!
No bug reports (of any kind) in this forum!
no avatar
Logger
New member
 
Topic author
Posts: 3
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Thu Feb 08, 2018 8:04 am
Info

PANO layout Schema to assist Detection?

by Logger » Thu Feb 08, 2018 8:44 am

1st post - I am new to this so Please excuse my ignorance.

With Autopano is it possible to specify the schema or layout in which my DJI drone took the images as a means to assist image detection?

Sometimes my Panos with 34 images with areas of ocean and water dont stitch well, which I can understand. So for example I get this, with undetected images parked centrally and others out of whack.

Snipaste_2018-02-08_18-27-49.jpg


However I know the exact schema in which the drone takes the shots.
2 rows of 9
1 row of 6
1 nadir

Given the the image placement relative to each other is known I was wondering if autopano has a the ability or a plugin that would place the non detected images roughly where they need to go? Even a rough placement would seemingly make the job of placing sparse water images a lot easier?

To date I have used ICE and it does a good job until If also fails to detect water images. It is for this reason I am evaluating Autopano. My hope is to overcome the detection shortcomings with in ICE by using Autopano. But having to manually move the images to place them seems way to tedious, when where they sit relative to each other is already known.

Would appreciate anyones thought and suggestions here.

TIA

User avatar
signmaster
Member
 
Posts: 289
Likes: 52 posts
Liked in: 36 posts
Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2008 1:55 pm
Location: Swan Hill, Australia
Info

Re: PANO layout Schema to assist Detection?

by signmaster » Thu Feb 08, 2018 10:21 am


no avatar
Logger
New member
 
Topic author
Posts: 3
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Thu Feb 08, 2018 8:04 am
Info

Re: PANO layout Schema to assist Detection?

by Logger » Thu Feb 08, 2018 10:53 am

Steve
Gee thanks that looks like just the ticket.
Although seemingly I would have to spring for Giga ~AUD$300 and not just Autopano Pro ~AUD$150 to get it to work?? Probably beyond my budget as an infrequent user unfortunately.
None the less it is exactly what I am looking for.
Thanks Logger

no avatar
Logger
New member
 
Topic author
Posts: 3
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Thu Feb 08, 2018 8:04 am
Info

Re: PANO layout Schema to assist Detection?

by Logger » Thu Feb 08, 2018 10:31 pm

Actually, I did some reading and found a better way that is already built in to Giga. Run a detection over a pano set that has already been found to stitch well - that was taken in the desired schema. Then save this detection as a template naming it after the capturing scheme used (ie DJIGo4/Hangar/Litchi). Then simply open the template over the subsequent sets that Autopano could not detect all images in. Works a treat. Images end up in the correct spot allowing control points to process.
Snipaste_2018-02-09_08-19-07.jpg


Except this Save as template feature is disabled in AutoPano Pro and it requires Giga to work. Whereas Save as template is available in the base version of PTGUI. Afraid this is going to be a deal breaker fro me Kolor.

User avatar
olivierbo
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 2225
Likes: 1 post
Liked in: 134 posts
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2014 11:44 am
Info

Re: PANO layout Schema to assist Detection?

by olivierbo » Mon Feb 12, 2018 3:41 pm

Hello,

You also have Dronepan app which can help you.
You can try to increase quality of detection, export to papywizard if you always shoot the same way, ...

Best,
Olivier

signmaster likes this post.


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests