What causes this banding?   [SOLVED] - View the solution

Share your tips and tricks here or get help with any Autopano Pro / Giga problem!
No bug reports (of any kind) in this forum!
no avatar
jimbee
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 65
Likes: 8 posts
Liked in: 13 posts
Joined: Sat Aug 22, 2009 2:56 am
Location: Upstate New York
Info

What causes this banding?

by jimbee » Wed Mar 08, 2017 6:24 pm

The attached screen capture of a portion of the sky in an AutoPano Giga output file. Camera was a Canon 5D Mark II shooting with a Sigma 15-30mm at widest.

Would like to know what the most likely source of these bands are? Seems it must be the lens however each of the 24 images taken shows quite an even blue in the sky areas.
Attachments
sky.jpg
Sky banding

no avatar
Destiny
Moderator
 
Posts: 7882
Likes: 6 posts
Liked in: 227 posts
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 11:55 pm
Location: Australia
Info

Re: What causes this banding?

by Destiny » Wed Mar 08, 2017 9:54 pm

Hi.. jpg quality.. Its seems to be too low... Check the settings on your camera...

Destiny..

no avatar
jimbee
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 65
Likes: 8 posts
Liked in: 13 posts
Joined: Sat Aug 22, 2009 2:56 am
Location: Upstate New York
Info

Re: What causes this banding?  [SOLVED]

by jimbee » Wed Mar 08, 2017 10:59 pm

Hi Destiny,

The source images were RAW out of the 5D Mark II, then exported from Lightroom as high quality jpegs. Or so I *thought*. When I checked just now the RAW to jpeg output quality was set to "0"! Sheesh, not sure where along the line that setting got changed (when would one ever want a quality setting of zero?!). Surely something I should have picked up on myself upon seeing the output. Thanks much for your help!

Annis likes this post.


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests