Page 1 of 1

Stitching Fisheye Images made with nodalpoint adapter

PostPosted: Fri May 20, 2016 5:06 pm
by panoramer
Hey guys,

I'm using a Canon Fisheye 8-15mm USM/L Objective on my EOS 5D Mark III and a nodal-point-adapter.
The problem ist, that since I've changed from the 700D to 5D-Mark III, the np-adater is visible on my images.
As you can see in the test-images, I've got the problem not only in the image but also later while stitching in APG.

I hope you can get my point and help me out with some useful tips. I already tried APG's Option to cut the Imagegroup (so its images) in circle. Thats kind of a solution but costs me big parts of the images I need for stitching/overlapping.

If you are asking why this is a problem for me at all: When I render the stitched images I get in 9 of 10 cases parts of the np-adapter in the final image..

Thank you very much!

Kind regards

Re: Stitching Fisheye Images made with nodalpoint adapter

PostPosted: Fri May 20, 2016 8:52 pm
by Panoram1x
Have you tried to block those np-adater parts with the mask tool?

Re: Stitching Fisheye Images made with nodalpoint adapter

PostPosted: Fri May 20, 2016 10:12 pm
by mediavets
panoramer wrote:Hey guys,

I'm using a Canon Fisheye 8-15mm USM/L Objective on my EOS 5D Mark III and a nodal-point-adapter.
The problem ist, that since I've changed from the 700D to 5D-Mark III, the np-adater is visible on my images.
As you can see in the test-images, I've got the problem not only in the image but also later while stitching in APG.

I hope you can get my point and help me out with some useful tips. I already tried APG's Option to cut the Imagegroup (so its images) in circle. Thats kind of a solution but costs me big parts of the images I need for stitching/overlapping.

If you are asking why this is a problem for me at all: When I render the stitched images I get in 9 of 10 cases parts of the np-adapter in the final image..


What happens if you shoot at a longer focal length than 8mm?

Re: Stitching Fisheye Images made with nodalpoint adapter

PostPosted: Sat May 21, 2016 9:48 pm
by gkaefer
700D = 1.6 crop
5D3 = 1.0 crop

so using a lens @8mm... the 700D is using 13-24mm
on your 5D3 its 8-15mm

you can mask the rail if using 8mm (or using photoshop & co to erase the rail ).... but you're loosing resolution and its time consuming.
set the lens to 13mm (or more easier 15mm) and you will save time, get more resolution...

Re: Stitching Fisheye Images made with nodalpoint adapter  [SOLVED]

PostPosted: Mon May 30, 2016 6:43 pm
by panoramer
Thank you guys!
I've solved the problem or idk, APP solved it by itself.

I tried several internal options in the program and don't ask me how - now everything is working fine!

Kind regards :-)