MASK in Photoshop  

Share your tips and tricks here or get help with any Autopano Pro / Giga problem!
No bug reports (of any kind) in this forum!
no avatar
Parentesi
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 12
Likes: 3 posts
Liked in: 1 post
Joined: Sun Nov 15, 2015 6:18 am
Info

MASK in Photoshop

by Parentesi » Mon Nov 16, 2015 9:22 pm

Hi
So I would love to be able to mask images in Photoshop.
There is a Tutorial from Kolor on how to do it:
Use the Ad A Mask tool in PS, draw the areas you do not want, save file.
Sounds simple, does not work:
The files then sho up in Autopano as White areas, not transparent. When rendering, then they are also white and blent with the other images behind it.

I also tried to use Alpha-Chanels in PS. They have "0" effect.

So, does anyone have an Idea how to make this work?
Attachments
Screen Shot 2015-11-16 at 12.08.24 PM.png
The final visible blending of the now White and not transparent area.
Screen Shot 2015-11-16 at 12.12.11 PM.png
Screen of the Transparent Area in PS
Screen Shot 2015-11-16 at 12.08.54 PM.png
Lower Area I want to not be visible, not be used. You can see it is white here, not transparent
Screen Shot 2015-11-16 at 12.08.47 PM.png
upper area with the area the overlaps the white area.

no avatar
Parentesi
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 12
Likes: 3 posts
Liked in: 1 post
Joined: Sun Nov 15, 2015 6:18 am
Info

Re: MASK in Photoshop

by Parentesi » Tue Nov 17, 2015 10:44 pm

So I found a solution for this, but the results are not good. At the boarders of my area I masked in Photoshop, there are hard linse visible in the rendering.

How does it work:
1. Mask the area in PS, so you have now a mask layer.
2. Right-Cklick on it and say: Make selection.
3. Invert Selection
4. Go to the Chanels
5. Klick on the bottom: Mask from Selection. A new Alpha Channel is created. click to make it visible.
6. Save the file.. when updated in Autopano, this is now transparent

Downside:
The render show a hard line at all your Masked areas, as Autopano does not smooth things out there as it does on other overlapping areas.

Conclusion:
PTGui does a much more superior job on Masking.
The only time I would use Autopano, is when the shots where not recorded very accurate, this is where Autopano shines and still corrects everything. But workflow is a pain.

User avatar
martin.arnoux
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 544
Likes: 1 post
Liked in: 27 posts
Joined: Wed Feb 26, 2014 2:57 pm
Info

Re: MASK in Photoshop

by martin.arnoux » Wed Nov 18, 2015 3:05 pm

Hi,

What image format (with which settings) are you exporting from Photoshop?

I just tried with a PNG non-interlaced and it's working fine.

Can you send us your patched image?

Cheers,

Martin


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron