Multiple focal length workflow  

Share your tips and tricks here or get help with any Autopano Pro / Giga problem!
No bug reports (of any kind) in this forum!
no avatar
cartman
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 10
Likes: 4 posts
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 11:49 am
Info

Multiple focal length workflow

by cartman » Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:11 pm

Hello, I am a new user of your great software, and I have this use case:
I want to make a panorama using my 35mm lens (Sigma 35mm F/1.4) and to zoom in some far away areas with my 200mm lens. I have a Nikon D600 and I use the excellent Panoneed panorama head.
Which is the best workflow in order to achieve what I want?

The instructions from http://www.kolor.com/wiki-en/action/vie ... _stitching do not work in my case, detection messes everything up.

This i what I do: I shot a full panorama with the 35mm lens (51 images in this case), and then shot another 21 images with the 200mm from the far away area I want to focus on. Both have their xml file, and the tripod was not moved. The problem is that I cannot import 2 xml files at the same time, so I am forced to import the 35mm one, and then drag and drop the 200mm images into the panorama. Unfortunately the detection code messes everything. Am I doing something wrong?

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 16415
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 130 posts
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
Info

Re: Multiple focal length workflow

by mediavets » Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:52 pm

Welcome to the forum...

I seem to recall that the ratio between shorter and longer focal lengths cannot exceed 1:4.

Ah yes, here's the relevant info in the documentation:
Attachments
1-apg-multi-focal.jpg

no avatar
cartman
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 10
Likes: 4 posts
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 11:49 am
Info

Re: Multiple focal length workflow

by cartman » Fri Apr 24, 2015 1:00 pm

Yes you are right, I have seen that too. Is this a hard limit or can it be bypassed?

User avatar
AlexandreJ
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 5988
Likes: 7 posts
Liked in: 10 posts
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 4:56 pm
Location: Francin, France
Info

Re: Multiple focal length workflow

by AlexandreJ » Fri Apr 24, 2015 2:02 pm

It cannot be bypassed as it is a limit in the control point detection algorithm.
Nevertheless, if you are okay adding control point manually one by one, then you can stitch.

no avatar
cartman
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 10
Likes: 4 posts
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 11:49 am
Info

Re: Multiple focal length workflow

by cartman » Fri Apr 24, 2015 2:04 pm

I just had an idea, can I create a panorama of the 200mm images, and then drag it into the 35mm one?


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests