Page 1 of 1

AutoPano 4 - RAW decoding on multiple cores ?

PostPosted: Sun Dec 21, 2014 6:16 pm
by atuor
I've ever since wondered why AP only uses 1 core @100% to decode RAW images.

Wouldn't there be a way to have 1 thread per image so as all cores could be used to decode it ? RAW decoding is what takes longest when detecting and assembling, As an example, it took 1min 42 on my Laptop to decode the 26 RAW pictures and only 16sec to detect and assemble

Re: AutoPano 4 - RAW decoding on multiple cores ?

PostPosted: Sat Jan 10, 2015 10:33 pm
by atuor
Still wondering, is it an issue ? Known but not possible ? Would be nice to have a statement :)

Re: AutoPano 4 - RAW decoding on multiple cores ?

PostPosted: Wed Feb 18, 2015 12:52 pm
by mattspace
My hand up for this as well - 142 36MP RAWs, and with dual quad core Xeons, ive got 15 cores twiddling their thumbs while 1 is cycling between 30-100% on raw decoding, and taking for ever. Is there a way to get more cores working on RAW decoding?

Re: AutoPano 4 - RAW decoding on multiple cores ?

PostPosted: Wed Feb 18, 2015 1:49 pm
by AlexandreJ
We need to look into that part, as this is clearly not the main purpose of autopano, to provide you raw decoding. We've put that as a commodity, but if you need more in that area, several development have to be done.
On the multithreading part:
A) We can decode several raws in parallel. This is easy to achieve if you have a lot of memory we can use.
B) We don't have a multithreaded raw decoding engine, which means, we cannot accelerate a single raw decoding.

Would A be enough for you ?

Re: AutoPano 4 - RAW decoding on multiple cores ?

PostPosted: Wed Feb 18, 2015 2:50 pm
by mediavets
mattspace wrote:My hand up for this as well - 142 36MP RAWs, and with dual quad core Xeons, ive got 15 cores twiddling their thumbs while 1 is cycling between 30-100% on raw decoding, and taking for ever. Is there a way to get more cores working on RAW decoding?

Many would recommend decoding the RAWs before stitching using third-party software which offers a greater degree of control.

Re: AutoPano 4 - RAW decoding on multiple cores ?

PostPosted: Wed Feb 18, 2015 3:18 pm
by atuor
AlexandreJ wrote:We need to look into that part, as this is clearly not the main purpose of autopano, to provide you raw decoding. We've put that as a commodity, but if you need more in that area, several development have to be done.
On the multithreading part:
A) We can decode several raws in parallel. This is easy to achieve if you have a lot of memory we can use.
B) We don't have a multithreaded raw decoding engine, which means, we cannot accelerate a single raw decoding.

Would A be enough for you ?


Hello,

For my part, if you could achieve A), decoding several raws in parallel, that would be great, I'm sure it would speed up process in many cases (definitely for me) :-)

Re: AutoPano 4 - RAW decoding on multiple cores ?

PostPosted: Thu Feb 19, 2015 12:25 am
by mattspace
A is also good.

I'd be happy to do the raw decoding in Aperture then send tiffs (which are about 4x the file size of raw) or jpgs over to APG, though my question becomes how well APG's colour adjustments handle working on "developed" files vs RAWs.

The vignetting and gradient controls for colour adjustment are brilliant BTW - got my first smoothly blended sky, which was basically impossible under 3.7

cheers,

Re: AutoPano 4 - RAW decoding on multiple cores ?

PostPosted: Wed Mar 18, 2015 2:05 pm
by atuor
@AlexandreJ
Hi,
Finally, as this feature seems interesting and Proposition A found some concencus, how do you see the implementation in the release schedule ? Do you think it may come in a 4.x version or rather version 5 or whatever ?
Thanks

Re: AutoPano 4 - RAW decoding on multiple cores ?

PostPosted: Thu Mar 19, 2015 3:38 pm
by AlexandreJ
- 4.0 final, no. We are already in RC and no new feature during that phase.
- 4.x easy

Re: AutoPano 4 - RAW decoding on multiple cores ?

PostPosted: Fri Mar 20, 2015 1:36 pm
by atuor
Great :-D, looking forward to it

Re: AutoPano 4 - RAW decoding on multiple cores ?

PostPosted: Fri Jul 10, 2015 5:11 pm
by atuor
Wondering, will the feature be in 4.2 which is going beta ?

Re: AutoPano 4 - RAW decoding on multiple cores ?

PostPosted: Mon Jul 13, 2015 2:33 pm
by mattspace
Just did a couple of 142 image panos last week, one using RAW images, the other TIFFs. Saving the TIFFs out took about the same amount of time as the single core decoding the RAWs in APG 4 - in other words the savings by not having APG decoding RAW was negated by the time spent saving out the TIFF versions. The storage space required by the intermediate files:

RAW: 5.45GB
TIFF: 30.8GB

With RAW I could even avoid the intermediate file option, and just load into APG directly from my Aperture library.

Re: AutoPano 4 - RAW decoding on multiple cores ?

PostPosted: Sun Jul 19, 2015 12:46 pm
by atuor
Yep I think multi threaded RAW decoding definitely makes sense. Hope Kolor team can implement it on upcoming version :p

Re: AutoPano 4 - RAW decoding on multiple cores ?

PostPosted: Sun Sep 06, 2015 8:30 am
by atuor
It finally didn't make it on 4.2, never mind maybe the next release :-)

Re: AutoPano 4 - RAW decoding on multiple cores ?

PostPosted: Wed Dec 30, 2015 10:35 am
by atuor
I'm wondering if this is still atopic for Kolor ?

Re: AutoPano 4 - RAW decoding on multiple cores ?

PostPosted: Sun Oct 16, 2016 11:08 am
by atuor
Still wondering if the topic will be addressed... once

PS : I tried a 'Detection' on a series of 10 RAW pics (13MB each), 80-85 % of the time was for decoding RAW (1 tread), the rest was done in 15-20 % (8 threads), it was said earlier in this post it would be simple to implement

Re: AutoPano 4 - RAW decoding on multiple cores ?

PostPosted: Sun Oct 16, 2016 10:57 pm
by klausesser
atuor wrote:@AlexandreJ
Hi,
Finally, as this feature seems interesting and Proposition A found some concencus, how do you see the implementation in the release schedule ? Do you think it may come in a 4.x version or rather version 5 or whatever ?
Thanks



Hi!

Honestly: i strongly suggest to use a dedicated RAW-application for processing RAWs to TIFF for stitching.

If you shoot bracketed using RAW: first process RAW to TIFF, then use the TIFFs to process to HDR with tonemapping, then save the tone-mapped images as TIFF/16bit.
Then stitch and render the equirectangular to 16bit or 8bit TIFF or PSD/PSB for editing in Photoshop.
In Photoshop save the edited equis as 8Bit TIFFs for using them in PanoTour Pro.

Use "JPG=" 7 or 8 for keeping the amount of date comfortably.

NEVER use JPG in the process.

best, Klaus