Need help with Stitching - Every result is a total mess  

Share your tips and tricks here or get help with any Autopano Pro / Giga problem!
No bug reports (of any kind) in this forum!
no avatar
monsterframes
Member
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2014 10:43 pm

Need help with Stitching - Every result is a total mess

by monsterframes » Wed Apr 16, 2014 4:12 pm

Hy,

we bought the freedom 360 mount from http://freedom360.us.

We have 6 GoPro Hero 3 Black Edition (not the new one). Every GoPro have the same settings for sure - and we tried to make a 360*180 photo in a big room. But whatever we try in autopano, we cant get a perfect picture, everytime theres a overlap in one or two pictures.

Can anybody help us? How to do this right? We dont get it, even if we out the control points manually, or automatic,.. or by geo-calculate.

I uploadet the pictures on google-drive.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0ByXWtm ... sp=sharing

Thanks for your help!

King regards,
Martin

User avatar
AlexandreJ
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 5911
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 4:56 pm
Location: Francin, France

Re: Need help with Stitching - Every result is a total mess

by AlexandreJ » Wed Apr 16, 2014 4:43 pm

I don't see any problem with the stitching. Works fine.
Do you have all software up to date ?
APG 3.5 / AVP 1.5 ?
Attachments
SNAG-1684.png

no avatar
monsterframes
Member
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2014 10:43 pm

Re: Need help with Stitching - Every result is a total mess

by monsterframes » Wed Apr 16, 2014 4:52 pm

Thank you for your fast awnser :)

I have 2 snapshots were you can see the problems..

Edit: Yes, we checked it, the software is up to date
Attachments
result2.PNG
result2.PNG (190.17 KiB) Viewed 265 times
result1.PNG

User avatar
AlexandreJ
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 5911
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 4:56 pm
Location: Francin, France

Re: Need help with Stitching - Every result is a total mess

by AlexandreJ » Wed Apr 16, 2014 5:26 pm

these are parallax issues and you will always have them if you use gopro rig. Learn about them here:
http://www.autopano.net/wiki-en/action/ ... -_Parallax
http://www.autopano.net/wiki-en/action/ ... ing_preset

no avatar
monsterframes
Member
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2014 10:43 pm

Re: Need help with Stitching - Every result is a total mess

by monsterframes » Wed Apr 16, 2014 5:35 pm

So its not possible to fix this? (Hard or Software with GoPros?) :(

In videos on http://www.airpano.com/ i dont see errors like this. Or maybe its a Problem in small rooms?

Edit 2: http://www.autopano.net/wiki-en/action/ ... -_Parallax <- now i understand.. in this case, maybe we dont have errors, when we use this http://www.autopano.net/wiki-en/images- ... -photo.jpg orientation

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 14164
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.

Re: Need help with Stitching - Every result is a total mess

by mediavets » Wed Apr 16, 2014 5:49 pm

monsterframes wrote:So its not possible to fix this? (Hard or Software with GoPros?) :(

In videos on http://www.airpano.com/ i dont see errors like this.

It's not as noticeable in videos.
Or maybe its a Problem in small rooms?

Parallax will be more of an issue where there's any part of the subject closer to the camera than perhaps 100m.

Edit 2: http://www.autopano.net/wiki-en/action/ ... -_Parallax <- now i understand.. in this case, maybe we dont have errors, when we use this http://www.autopano.net/wiki-en/images- ... -photo.jpg orientation

No, parallax issues cannot be resolved by reorientating the cameras unless all cameras are at the NPP (No Parallax Poiunt) which as I understand it is impossible with a multi-GoPro setup.

If your goal is 'still' panos rather than 360video then in my opinion you'd be better off with a single camera, a fisheye lens and a pano head.

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 14164
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.

Re: Need help with Stitching - Every result is a total mess

by mediavets » Wed Apr 16, 2014 6:11 pm

monsterframes wrote:Hy,

we bought the freedom 360 mount from http://freedom360.us.

We have 6 GoPro Hero 3 Black Edition (not the new one). Every GoPro have the same settings for sure - and we tried to make a 360*180 photo in a big room. But whatever we try in autopano, we cant get a perfect picture, everytime theres a overlap in one or two pictures.

Can anybody help us? How to do this right? We dont get it, even if we out the control points manually, or automatic,.. or by geo-calculate.

I uploadet the pictures on google-drive.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0ByXWtm ... sp=sharing

Thanks for your help!

King regards,
Martin

Varying exposures do not help APG detect control points.

Is it possible to set a completely manual exposure adn white balance with the GoPros?
Attachments
1-apg35-gopro-lounge.jpg


Return to Using Autopano Pro & Autopano Giga

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests