Image-stitching and virtual tour solutions My account Updates
It is currently Sat Oct 25, 2014 9:45 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Image size
PostPosted: Mon Apr 14, 2014 9:57 pm 
Offline
New member

Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2014 9:36 pm
Posts: 2
New to Autopano giga.

I need to resize several panos to 3300 to 6600 and 6600 to 132000 with a 2x1 format. Not sure where to start. I have changed the quality of the image but not sure how to change the size to these specifications. Does Kolor have a tutorial on this?

Thanks,
Marc


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Image size
PostPosted: Mon Apr 14, 2014 10:02 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Posts: 14047
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
MarcFarleyjr wrote:
New to Autopano giga.

I need to resize several panos to 3300 to 6600 and 6600 to 132000 with a 2x1 format.

Why?
Quote:
Not sure where to start. I have changed the quality of the image but not sure how to change the size to these specifications. Does Kolor have a tutorial on this?

Thanks,
Marc

If you double the resolution of the image - beyond native max. resolution - you will reduce image quality.


Attachments:
1-apg35-outputsize.jpg
1-apg35-outputsize.jpg [ 234.26 KiB | Viewed 227 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Image size
PostPosted: Tue Apr 15, 2014 11:50 am 
Offline
New member

Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2014 9:36 pm
Posts: 2
Thank you, not sure how I missed the image sizing adjustment at the top.

The reason I need to adjust the panos to a 2x1 format to meet the requirements for another software that will connect the panos. I am submitting the panos for that separate software.

I did try resizing to a 2x1 format but was unsuccessful. When I would move the scale down and then try putting in the new height, it would change the width. My minimum is 3300x6600 up to a maximum 6600x13200.

Thanks,
Marc


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Image size
PostPosted: Tue Apr 15, 2014 12:19 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Posts: 7809
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
MarcFarleyjr wrote:
I need to resize several panos to 3300 to 6600 and 6600 to 132000 with a 2x1 format.



Hi Marc!

Can you explain this more detailed? You mean you need to up-scale an equirectangular image from 6600 to 132000px??

Please do not do this. It will be a desaster. You can´t blow up an image this much.

What do you mean "to 2x1format"?

For doing an interactive spherical image you need to render it 2:1. If you haven´t 2:1 the result will be heavily distorted.

You can crop the image-plane in the PTP-editor for having it un-distorted though it´s not 2:1.

But "resizing" it in the sense of blowing it up to x-times the size - 6600px to 132000px - means extreme interpolation due to up-scaling.

If you need the size of 132000px you need to shoot it in a way which provides the size in the stitching and rendering natively - without up-scaling by interpolation.

Klaus


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Image size
PostPosted: Tue Apr 15, 2014 12:25 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Posts: 14047
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
MarcFarleyjr wrote:
Thank you, not sure how I missed the image sizing adjustment at the top.

The reason I need to adjust the panos to a 2x1 format to meet the requirements for another software that will connect the panos. I am submitting the panos for that separate software.

I did try resizing to a 2x1 format but was unsuccessful. When I would move the scale down and then try putting in the new height, it would change the width. My minimum is 3300x6600 up to a maximum 6600x13200.

Thanks,
Marc

Of course, it will maintain the aspect ratio, otherwise it will induce distortion.

3300x6600 is a 1:2 aspect ratio. As is 6600x13200.
................

If your images do not cover the full 360x180 degree field of view when stitched, you can force a 360x180 pano FOV (which will always have a 2:1 aspect ratio) when stitching either in the Settings or in the Panorama Editor:


Attachments:
1-apg35-settings.jpg
1-apg35-settings.jpg [ 163.18 KiB | Viewed 204 times ]
2-apg35-croptool.jpg
2-apg35-croptool.jpg [ 219.93 KiB | Viewed 204 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Image size
PostPosted: Tue Apr 15, 2014 12:40 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Posts: 7809
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
MarcFarleyjr wrote:
My minimum is 3300x6600 up to a maximum 6600x13200.



Then forget my previous answer . . . in your first post you wrote "6600x132000" . . . =D

Klaus


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group