Different outcome using detect panos in folder and lightroom  

Share your tips and tricks here or get help with any Autopano Pro / Giga problem!
No bug reports (of any kind) in this forum!
no avatar
kencameron1949
New member
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2014 1:17 pm

Different outcome using detect panos in folder and lightroom

by kencameron1949 » Fri Apr 04, 2014 1:28 pm

I am revisting old panos from 2003. The files are DNGs converted at some time between then and now - not sure when. When I use the lightoom plugin to send them to autopano giga I get good results from detecting and rendering the panos, but when I use the functionality to detect panos in a folder, the panos are detected but the result of rendering is a heavily overexposed file with blown highlights and ugly transitions. My hypothesis as to what is going wrong is that when I use the lightroom plugin, lightroom is doing the raw conversion from dng to tif successfully whereas when I use detect in folder autopano is having trouble converting the dngs. Is this a plausible hypothesis? If not, is there any other possible cause I should investigate? If so, is there any way I can get autopano to do a better job of the raw conversion on the dngs?

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 14288
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.

Re: Different outcome using detect panos in folder and light

by mediavets » Fri Apr 04, 2014 2:33 pm

kencameron1949 wrote:I am revisting old panos from 2003. The files are DNGs converted at some time between then and now - not sure when. When I use the lightoom plugin to send them to autopano giga I get good results from detecting and rendering the panos, but when I use the functionality to detect panos in a folder, the panos are detected but the result of rendering is a heavily overexposed file with blown highlights and ugly transitions. My hypothesis as to what is going wrong is that when I use the lightroom plugin, lightroom is doing the raw conversion from dng to tif successfully whereas when I use detect in folder autopano is having trouble converting the dngs. Is this a plausible hypothesis? If not, is there any other possible cause I should investigate? If so, is there any way I can get autopano to do a better job of the raw conversion on the dngs?


APG will never do as a good a job of RAW conversion than a more specialised tool.

no avatar
kencameron1949
New member
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2014 1:17 pm

Re: Different outcome using detect panos in folder and light

by kencameron1949 » Fri Apr 04, 2014 11:38 pm

mediavets wrote:
APG will never do as a good a job of RAW conversion than a more specialised tool.


I guess not, and I suppose that limits the usefulness of the detect in folder functionality (which I like, as I tend to take a mixture of panos and single shots in normal usage) in cases where the folder contains raw files, unless one does an initial temporary conversion of the whole folder to a subfolder using LR or any other specialised tool.

I am also curious about Autopano's performance with DNGs. Does it handle recent versions of the DNG standard better than older ones? I will do some experiments and report back.

User avatar
Zoobius
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 1:23 pm
Location: Kolor, France

Re: Different outcome using detect panos in folder and light

by Zoobius » Tue Apr 08, 2014 3:57 pm

Hello,

First of all, and as Mediavets said (thanks!), Autopano is able to decode RAWs but it is not a dedicated software to do it. We really advise to process them prior to import them in Autopano…

About your issue with Autopano (that uses DCRaw engine): the decoding is set by default to the most common and direct decoding that we've found works to decode most of the RAW files formats. But some might not work, as is your case with your dng files. The solution is to modify this setting (called Highlight) and try to process the files till that works. Btw, here is the related page of the documentation: http://www.autopano.net/wiki-en/action/ ... ._-_Images

Finally, the first part of this post is the right solution.
Guillaume - Kolor Technical Support

Quick links: User Account, Documentation, Youtube Channel


Return to Using Autopano Pro & Autopano Giga

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest