Image-stitching and virtual tour solutions My account Updates
It is currently Wed Jul 23, 2014 11:11 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Mar 31, 2014 4:46 pm 
Offline
New member

Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2014 12:22 pm
Posts: 2
hello
I begin to work with this great software : amazing results for the moment !
But :) , for sure, i have a question
I try to generate HDR panorama using raw files and bracketing, with a nikon 800.
For each position, i have 3 raw files and i've also 3 jpg files; i generate 2 HDR panoramas : the first with the raw, the second with the jpg
i've the feeling that the two results are the same in term of dynamic... i believe that the dynamic will be more important with the raw files, because, there are many "expositions" you can use in one raw file. Tell me if i make a mistake, but that means that for one position, juste 3 exposures for 3 raw files in fact ?
Tell me if i'm not clear, or if i should precise.
Thanks in advance


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 31, 2014 6:13 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Posts: 7619
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
on-situ wrote:
hello
I begin to work with this great software : amazing results for the moment !
But :) , for sure, i have a question
I try to generate HDR panorama using raw files and bracketing, with a nikon 800.
For each position, i have 3 raw files and i've also 3 jpg files; i generate 2 HDR panoramas : the first with the raw, the second with the jpg
i've the feeling that the two results are the same in term of dynamic... i believe that the dynamic will be more important with the raw files, because, there are many "expositions" you can use in one raw file. Tell me if i make a mistake, but that means that for one position, juste 3 exposures for 3 raw files in fact ?
Tell me if i'm not clear, or if i should precise.
Thanks in advance



Hi - and welcome to the forum!

The D800/E doesen´t provide more than 1 EV-step when you shoot bracketed. That´s too few. You better shoud use at least 5 shots then to achieve what Canon does with 3 shots of 2 EV-steps in between.

In practise it´s no real advantage to shoot RAWs when you use bracketing- aside from some cases - where it anyway is preferable to shoot 7 or 9 brackets of 1 EV-step.

I solved the issue of 1EV-sstep by using a PromoteControl device which takes over the controlling of the camera via an USB cable - this way you can use bracketing with 2EV-steps and most of the time 3 brackets of 2EV is the optimal way.

When you shoot into s sunset or sunrise you might find that using 12 or 16 brackets of 1EV is preferable - that depends on the scene you find.
I suggest to use Photomatix for processing the brackets to HDR and to use tonemapping om them BEFORE importing the processed shots to APG.

The advantage: the adjustments in Photomatix are more sophisticated and provide better controllable results - and APG runs MUCH faster stitching ONE image per position instead or 3 or more images on layers per position.

I also suggest to use Lightroom for processing RAWs instead of straight importing them to a stitcher. Lightroom can process RAWs very good using the Photoshop RAW plugin.

best, Klaus


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 01, 2014 9:18 am 
Offline
New member

Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2014 12:22 pm
Posts: 2
thank you Klaus for your fast answer and your precious advices
if i good understand, APG is not able to interpret the different exposures in a RAW file...
it is not possible for me to re-take the pictures

tell me if i'm in the wrong way, but the best solution is to generate for exemple 3 or 4 JPG (with different exposures) with a RAW ? and after having 10 pictures for one position and use APG for getting an HDR with more dynamic ?

thanks again


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 01, 2014 2:24 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Posts: 7619
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
on-situ wrote:
thank you Klaus for your fast answer and your precious advices
if i good understand, APG is not able to interpret the different exposures in a RAW file...
it is not possible for me to re-take the pictures


No, no: APG definitely IS able to interprete the different exposures in a RAW file. But i prefer the way i described.

Doing it only in APG in my eyes is too much kind of try-and-error. But it surely works in the end.

on-situ wrote:
tell me if i'm in the wrong way, but the best solution is to generate for exemple 3 or 4 JPG (with different exposures) with a RAW ? and after having 10 pictures for one position and use APG for getting an HDR with more dynamic ?


There is no "best" way globally. There are several ways basing on personal preferences.

I suggest to import the bracketed series into Photomatix, have it made to HDR and use tonemapping. The results you can save as TIFF/8bit or TIFF16bit or as JPGs whatever you like.

The advantage of doing it this way:
1) you have more refined settings for the tonemapping in Photomatix (or Oloneo or other dedicated HDR-processors.
2) you have ONE image per position in the end - which makes it much easier for APG to stitch.
3) you don´t need that much RAM and processor-/graphic speed for the stitch - because you don´t need
to process and stitch THAT much shots in APG.

So the whole process od stitching and editing is easier.

After all it´s kind of matter of taste which way to go. I tried them all very intensely - and decided the one i described works best for me.

Klaus

PS: when i use RAWs i prefer to use PhaseOne´s CaptureOne for processing the RAWs to TIFFs first before i import the TIFFs into Photomatix for making HDR/Tonemapping.

APG or PTGui also can take RAWs straight. But i realized that processing them first in a dedicated RAW processor is preferable.

The advantage is superb quality. Tge disadvantage is: you have some more steps to do.

Surely it´s more comfortable to use only ONE application for doing it all. But my goal is not to have it comfortable . . =D :cool:


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Apr 02, 2014 3:09 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2007 11:00 pm
Posts: 121
Location: France
klausesser wrote:
I suggest to import the bracketed series into Photomatix, have it made to HDR and use tonemapping. The results you can save as TIFF/8bit or TIFF16bit or as JPGs whatever you like.

Klaus, what about :
import bracketed series into Photomatix, create HDR (no tonemapping) , stitch in APG , and finally tonemap in Photomatix .
Did you try that already ?
Bernard


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group