Image-stitching and virtual tour solutions My account Updates
It is currently Fri Oct 31, 2014 12:09 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Jan 15, 2014 4:16 pm 
Offline
New member

Joined: Mon Jan 06, 2014 2:51 pm
Posts: 1
Hi. Can someone walk me through exactly how to do this?

- I have taken a panorama using an auto bracket sequence (say -1, 0 and +1 ECV).
- I open APG and put them into stacks (for some reason it never auto detects it, even though it was auto on the camera).
- I detect the panorama.

Now is the potential problem. I need to edit control points in the panorama. How do I do this and have it update all three layers/stacks? I'm sure it's simple but I can't find reference to it anywhere. And what setting would I use to do this and then what render settings would I use? Anti-ghosting or Exposure Fusion? Both sound like what I want!

Thanks,
Jason


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 15, 2014 5:59 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Posts: 14069
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
jasonkimmings wrote:
Hi. Can someone walk me through exactly how to do this?

- I have taken a panorama using an auto bracket sequence (say -1, 0 and +1 ECV).
- I open APG and put them into stacks (for some reason it never auto detects it, even though it was auto on the camera).
- I detect the panorama.

Now is the potential problem. I need to edit control points in the panorama. How do I do this and have it update all three layers/stacks? I'm sure it's simple but I can't find reference to it anywhere. And what setting would I use to do this


Use hard links in the stack and detect links on reference layer only: see screenshot below.

Quote:
and then what render settings would I use? Anti-ghosting or Exposure Fusion? Both sound like what I want!

Thanks,
Jason
[/quote]

Use exposure fusion.
....

+/-1 EV is seldom enough to have much effect.


Attachments:
1-apg308-stacks-links.jpg
1-apg308-stacks-links.jpg [ 141.23 KiB | Viewed 319 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 16, 2014 5:59 pm 
Offline
New member

Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2014 9:09 pm
Posts: 3
Hi,
I've followed these instructions succesfully (for I had the same problem as jasonkimmings), but unfortunately Autopano chooses the darkest exposure bracket for setting controll points, so they are hard to confirm or to reposite. Can I determine which bracket to use for controll points?

Second issue: Though I proceeded like described above and only one bracket got controll points, the different layers sometimes showed little differences in output and were superimposable only at first glance. I never experienced this using Hugin.

Cheers,
Wolfgang


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 16, 2014 6:19 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Posts: 14069
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
Rontrus wrote:
Hi,
I've followed these instructions succesfully (for I had the same problem as jasonkimmings), but unfortunately Autopano chooses the darkest exposure bracket for setting controll points, so they are hard to confirm or to reposite. Can I determine which bracket to use for controll points?

Welcome to the forum...

Yes, you can you can select the index level which will be used for CP detection - see screenshot 1

Quote:
Second issue: Though I proceeded like described above and only one bracket got controll points, the different layers sometimes showed little differences in output and were superimposable only at first glance. I never experienced this using Hugin.

Cheers,
Wolfgang

Why are you generating separate layers? If you do that antighost cannot operate can it?

As I understand it the seams will/may vary in different layers due to the way APG works.


Attachments:
1-apg308-stacks-index.jpg
1-apg308-stacks-index.jpg [ 114.4 KiB | Viewed 301 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jan 18, 2014 2:24 pm 
Offline
New member

Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2014 9:09 pm
Posts: 3
mediavets wrote:
Welcome to the forum...

Thank you!

Quote:
Yes, you can you can select the index level which will be used for CP detection - see screenshot 1


Ah, I think that's it; thanks!

Quote:
Why are you generating separate layers? If you do that antighost cannot operate can it?

As I understand it the seams will/may vary in different layers due to the way APG works.


I'm not sure if I had enabled "antighost" that time, but how can there be differences anyway, when only one set of controll points exist? All the shots were taken with a (stable) tripod and mirror pre-release. The single images match perfectly.

I prefer to output exposure-layers and process the images in photomatix, for I just own APP, not APG :)

Cheers
Wolfgang


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jan 18, 2014 2:32 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Posts: 14069
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
Rontrus wrote:
mediavets wrote:
Welcome to the forum...

Thank you!

Quote:
Yes, you can you can select the index level which will be used for CP detection - see screenshot 1


Ah, I think that's it; thanks!

Quote:
Why are you generating separate layers? If you do that antighost cannot operate can it?

As I understand it the seams will/may vary in different layers due to the way APG works.


I'm not sure if I had enabled "antighost" that time, but how can there be differences anyway, when only one set of controll points exist? All the shots were taken with a (stable) tripod and mirror pre-release. The single images match perfectly.

There can be differences if you don't hard link stacks; and also I think if you output layers using Antighost that algorithm may place seams differently in different layers?

Quote:
I prefer to output exposure-layers and process the images in photomatix, for I just own APP, not APG :)

Cheers
Wolfgang

I believe that most people who process bracketed exposures outside APP/APG prefer to do it with Photomatix (or another third-party program) before stitching.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jan 18, 2014 2:44 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2010 8:53 pm
Posts: 2141
mediavets wrote:

....
I believe that most people who process bracketed exposures outside APP/APG prefer to do it with Photomatix (or another third-party program) before stitching.

Even when not using stacks it can be usefull to process them in photomatix. I converted 1000 raw to tiff with some CA correction and compression and had a much better stich result.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group