Image-stitching and virtual tour solutions My account Updates
It is currently Sat Oct 25, 2014 8:45 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Dec 19, 2013 4:52 am 
Offline
New member

Joined: Fri Aug 09, 2013 6:32 pm
Posts: 2
Hello,

I am looking for the piece of hardware I should be investing in to shorten Autopano Giga rendering. My current system consists of

Mainboard: BIOSTAR Group T5XE CFX-SLI
Chipset: Intel P55
Processor: Intel Core i7 870 @ 2933 MHz (max : 3753)
Physical Memory: 20480 MB aka 20GB
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTS 450
Hard Drive with OS and Applications - SSD 840 Drive

I have 3 7200RPM 64mb Cache drives distributing individual photos, Autopano cache, and rendered image.


When I am rendering a photo, my CPU and drives experience 90 - 100% load and the GPU (I am under the impression rendering doesnt use GPU) is around 1/3rd memory load.


What piece of the puzzle would I benefit the most from without spending over $350 ?


Any help would be deeply appreciated! Thank you for reading this!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 19, 2013 2:21 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2010 5:51 pm
Posts: 528
Location: Switzerland
Hi
If your CPU runs with 90-100% load, then this is one of the bottlenecks.
But it's also good, because not every system uses it's fully performance.
What you can check is if there is a process other than APG, that use the CPU extensive while rendering.
Eg. a virus scanner can influence the system performance when rendering.

_________________
Regards
Martin


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 21, 2013 9:45 am 
Offline
New member

Joined: Fri Aug 09, 2013 6:32 pm
Posts: 2
lumelix wrote:
Hi
If your CPU runs with 90-100% load, then this is one of the bottlenecks.
But it's also good, because not every system uses it's fully performance.
What you can check is if there is a process other than APG, that use the CPU extensive while rendering.
Eg. a virus scanner can influence the system performance when rendering.



Thank you for that. I keep a pretty close eye on what is running and making sure anything that isnt necessary isnt running the background. One of my big reasons for upgrading the graphics card is to allow for 4 monitors. I cant decided whether or not the applications I am using will benefit from a high end graphics card. One of the programs I care about performing at peak ability is APG.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 29, 2014 3:18 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2007 4:43 am
Posts: 243
are you stitching raw files or jpg/tiffs? with RAW files, I found a big bottle neck to be the speed of my temp drive as autopano writes out a tiff file to its cache for each raw file. So when using a ssd for autopano temp, my pano detection and renders were sped up dramatically. my graphics card speeds up the previews but not my renders.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 31, 2014 4:24 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 1:01 pm
Posts: 3341
Location: Salzburg
ReidMalmquist wrote:
lumelix wrote:
Hi
If your CPU runs with 90-100% load, then this is one of the bottlenecks.
But it's also good, because not every system uses it's fully performance.
What you can check is if there is a process other than APG, that use the CPU extensive while rendering.
Eg. a virus scanner can influence the system performance when rendering.



Thank you for that. I keep a pretty close eye on what is running and making sure anything that isnt necessary isnt running the background. One of my big reasons for upgrading the graphics card is to allow for 4 monitors. I cant decided whether or not the applications I am using will benefit from a high end graphics card. One of the programs I care about performing at peak ability is APG.


if you take the nvidia Titan as example: it does have "dozens" of cudas... apg dont care about. the relevant peace is the GDDR Memory, the Titan does have 6 GB.
using more than one GPU Card will Support your multimonitor plans, APG will (currently) not Profit... SLI etc is not supported by apg.

so if you have 100 Image panos.... than 6GB graphic Card will not Profit. apg uses the GPU Memory for previews in detected panos. So if you're working on a 1000 Image pano and you used a D800(e) Nikon / Sony Alpha 7(r) and you zoom a lot to 100% in preview Monitor than you will Profit from more GPU Memory.
Same if you use brackets 200 Image pano but with 5 brackets each... 1000 Images in total...

if you currently does have a 4GB GPU Card it makes no sense to replace this with a newer one with lets assume 35% more cudas but with same GB GPU Memory...

Georg


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group