Image-stitching and virtual tour solutions My account Updates
It is currently Wed Oct 22, 2014 9:10 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Dec 18, 2013 4:51 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2010 8:53 pm
Posts: 2137
Yes normally I try to help others to get their stitching done but this time I have a set of photos I can not get to a good result.

they are shot in a sporthall, with a lot of lines which seem to be the cause of the problems. could also be the photographers making mistakes in his setup of course.
I uploaded 112 NEF-files onto https://www.dropbox.com/sh/vghupf5eka06 ... _Lt6MdY?m=

It are brackets of 7 photos, so 6 brackets. lens information in the files, but should be 12 mm fishey and nikon d3oos

is there anyone willing to try and in case of succes tell what the photographer or I have done wrong.

I hope someone wil give it a try and tell me and show me how to solve this. I have tried for a month now and am a bit desperate.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Dec 18, 2013 6:15 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 1:01 pm
Posts: 3340
Location: Salzburg
bracketing inside apg or with external tool (oloneo, photomatix I can offer)?
Georg


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Dec 18, 2013 7:34 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2010 8:53 pm
Posts: 2137
I tried inside and outside. spending every free moment on it for the last month. Just hoping someone is willing to try it their way and see how far they get....


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Dec 18, 2013 9:36 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 11:55 pm
Posts: 4877
Location: Australia
Can you zip the files.. Its hard to download individually...

Destiny..


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Dec 18, 2013 9:51 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Posts: 14038
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
Destiny wrote:
Can you zip the files.. Its hard to download individually...

Destiny..


Click the Download button and it will show you that option:


Attachments:
1-dropbox-aszip.jpg
1-dropbox-aszip.jpg [ 145.08 KiB | Viewed 747 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 19, 2013 1:02 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 1:01 pm
Posts: 3340
Location: Salzburg
.. and when you click download as zip you get the info the zip is to big to be handled with dropbox.... I used alternative to Transfer the Images to my dropbox....
Georg


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 19, 2013 1:23 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 11:55 pm
Posts: 4877
Location: Australia
Yes... I just done it now and processing.. I had to go out to the Antique Centre again.. LivePano test.. =D

Hans.. were you standing on top of the pole swinging about.. Just shocking.. and... why the mismatch of exposers.. Some set have 4 and some have 5 and different EVs.. eeeks... I have never seen a tripod foot print look like this.. I think your entire rig moved..

Destiny..


Attachments:
pano3.jpg
pano3.jpg [ 1.63 MiB | Viewed 736 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 19, 2013 2:25 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 1:01 pm
Posts: 3340
Location: Salzburg
the best I can get in one hour...

ok,
I did convert your Adobe _xx nef files to sRBG jpeg...
and I did only use Image 5 of the stacks...
I did manipulate the control Points mainly on the wall objects to add more green and delete the deep red ones
I rotated all your bottom files to horizontally Format (correct or not ... both cases better than mixing vertical and horizontal aligned Images)
I did set about 10 red mask dots on tripod objects and did set about 5 green mask dots to Color lines)
I did use the preview method for screenshot

I would not use the stack method in APG with this Project... it gives me 8000% worse results in same time spent with...

Georg


Attachments:
2013-12-19 02_14_08-[Group 0]-_RON3831__RON3936-16 images.pano_.png
2013-12-19 02_14_08-[Group 0]-_RON3831__RON3936-16 images.pano_.png [ 1.74 MiB | Viewed 733 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 19, 2013 8:02 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 11:55 pm
Posts: 4877
Location: Australia
Very strange for sure..

Way past my fixing abilities.. =(

Destiny...


Attachments:
HansPanoYuck.jpg
HansPanoYuck.jpg [ 669.54 KiB | Viewed 728 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 19, 2013 4:43 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2010 5:51 pm
Posts: 528
Location: Switzerland
Hi Hans
This case has interested me, so I've look at it.
It's a really good example how not to shoot a pano!
Especially with such a sensitive subject as this hall with that many lines.

But first, I'm confused about the lens used: 8mm (DX) or 12mm (FX)?
AFAIK there is no D-Nikkor fisheye with 8 or 12 mm. There is a 10mm f/2.8D (DX) or a 16mm f/2.8D. And a manual 8mm f/2.5 without D.

And the aperture range 1:3.5-1.4 (!!!) makes absolute no sense also.
If it's a zoom like the 10-24mm it's f/3.5-4.5, or the 12- 24mm is f/4.0.
But these are not fisheyes. So what kind of lens he has used to shoot this images ?

The shooting pattern is also curios: First 6 Images tilt up a little bit. That is ok.
If you use only this 6 images, you get a really good stitch.
In the example below we can see that the upper 6 images and one Nadir are almost enough to cover the scene.
But then 6 images horizontally ? Lot to much overlapping with the upper ones.

And then 4 Nadir images, every one with a different position (multiple viewpoints, the whole tripod is visible). And it looks like the tripod wasn't horizontally then.
Not possible to stitch properly! And brackets makes also no sense in this hall.
So I suggest to go one more time in this hall and shoot it again in 5 minutes, than try hours and hours to get a usefull result with this mess ;)


Attachments:
viewNX_EXIF.jpg
viewNX_EXIF.jpg [ 42.72 KiB | Viewed 711 times ]
stitch.jpg
stitch.jpg [ 338.23 KiB | Viewed 711 times ]

_________________
Regards
Martin
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 19, 2013 5:48 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Posts: 14038
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
lumelix wrote:
But first, I'm confused about the lens used: 8mm (DX) or 12mm (FX)?
AFAIK there is no D-Nikkor fisheye with 8 or 12 mm. There is a 10mm f/2.8D (DX) or a 16mm f/2.8D. And a manual 8mm f/2.5 without D.

And the aperture range 1:3.5-1.4 (!!!) makes absolute no sense also.
If it's a zoom like the 10-24mm it's f/3.5-4.5, or the 12- 24mm is f/4.0.
But these are not fisheyes. So what kind of lens he has used to shoot this images ?


Could it be the Nikon version of the Samyang 8mm FE with the AE chip?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 19, 2013 5:59 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2010 5:51 pm
Posts: 528
Location: Switzerland
Hi
If so, then there is a other problem: The Samyang have an other kind of projektion,
more like an ultra wide angle than a fisheye.
As I look at the images first, I think these aren't fisheye images because of an untypically distortion.
Could be that is also a reason for the stitching problems.
But as long as we don't know more...

_________________
Regards
Martin


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 20, 2013 8:10 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2010 8:53 pm
Posts: 2137
yes yes, it is the Samyang 8 mm.
So should I tell autopano it is not an fisheye?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 20, 2013 8:29 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2010 8:53 pm
Posts: 2137
Destiny wrote:
Yes... I just done it now and processing.. I had to go out to the Antique Centre again.. LivePano test.. =D

Hans.. were you standing on top of the pole swinging about.. Just shocking.. and... why the mismatch of exposers.. Some set have 4 and some have 5 and different EVs.. eeeks... I have never seen a tripod foot print look like this.. I think your entire rig moved..

Destiny..

Hi Destiny,

Each stack is 7 photos, first a reference photo, then 3 underexposed and then 3 overexposed. That is what the camera does. I don't have a d300s so i think it should be possible to change it more to your liking. Don't think autopano has a problem with it.

About the swinging, are you referring to the nadir images or to the normal images.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 20, 2013 10:12 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Posts: 14038
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
HansKeesom wrote:
yes yes, it is the Samyang 8 mm.
So should I tell autopano it is not an fisheye?


It is a fisheye but with a different projection:

http://michel.thoby.free.fr/SAMYANG/Ear ... eport.html

However I have stitched FE images sets shot with a Samyang 8mm with APG with no particular problems.

The focal length is (said to be, by those that know) closer to 10mm than 8mm, you could try setting it manually.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 20, 2013 10:17 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2010 8:53 pm
Posts: 2137
mediavets wrote:
HansKeesom wrote:
yes yes, it is the Samyang 8 mm.
So should I tell autopano it is not an fisheye?


It is a fisheye but with a different projection:

http://michel.thoby.free.fr/SAMYANG/Ear ... eport.html

However I have stitched FE images sets shot with a Samyang 8mm with APG with no particular problems.

The focal length is (said to be, by those that know) closer to 10mm than 8mm, you could try setting it manually.



autopano did already give a calculated focal length of 13.1 which is only a bit less then the 13.27 that is the result of 8.7 * D300S 1.5.. chip factor


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Dec 22, 2013 5:04 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2010 8:53 pm
Posts: 2137
update : detection on third layer gives a very good result. Even though it is a rather dark layer.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 23, 2013 2:53 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 1:01 pm
Posts: 3340
Location: Salzburg
Hans,

I honestly have the Feeling about APG that some sort of random Generator is builtin.
you can take one and the same Images
and you use exact the same Settings
and in result you allways ever get different results.
you have to try only Long enough to find the Fitting for you...

... in your case...
I used the jpgs created from your nef files (lazy I am with only 16GigRam I dont wanna wait to Long...)
and did use the bluddy Default values after installing APG 3.0.8

and now the miracle: my single Point of Change was to enable the Option Settings->Optimization->Optimizatzion stage: Multiple viewpoints

and than I did preview your pano with the builtin preview Option.

result see screenshot...
I would finally tweek the horizon line and would try to correct the 3 mini Errors in the lines via CPs and finally would render it without spending more time....

Georg


Attachments:
2013-12-23-14_39_46-2.png
2013-12-23-14_39_46-2.png [ 154.66 KiB | Viewed 619 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 23, 2013 3:50 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2010 8:53 pm
Posts: 2137
gkaefer wrote:
Hans,

I honestly have the Feeling about APG that some sort of random Generator is builtin.
you can take one and the same Images
and you use exact the same Settings
and in result you allways ever get different results.
you have to try only Long enough to find the Fitting for you...

... in your case...
I used the jpgs created from your nef files (lazy I am with only 16GigRam I dont wanna wait to Long...)
and did use the bluddy Default values after installing APG 3.0.8

and now the miracle: my single Point of Change was to enable the Option Settings->Optimization->Optimizatzion stage: Multiple viewpoints

and than I did preview your pano with the builtin preview Option.

result see screenshot...
I would finally tweek the horizon line and would try to correct the 3 mini Errors in the lines via CPs and finally would render it without spending more time....

Georg


Hi Georg,

Good to hear you have made so much progress. Could you (zip and) upload the project so i can download it and finish it?

I hope not there is random behavior. I find it more likely that small differences between panorama's can have large consequences regarding stitching. I this case it is problably the exposure, that the layer with the right exposure is not necesarryly the one with the best detection results. For this photographer I will now generate a two detections, one with normal layer, one with the third layer, which is the second from the dark side. I hope that will more easily give me a good version.

From the whole exercise I also learned once again that if the normal routine failes one needs a number of brute force routines to generat many versions of a panorama so one can select the best one. It takes a lot of time to do this manually but it is still worth the effort. It would however safe a lot of time behind the computer if this could be automated. On the other hand, maybe it is unrealistic to think this kind of intelligence combine with brute force can be automated and should be glad I can develop this intelligence and use it for the projects of the photographers I work with.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 23, 2013 6:53 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 1:01 pm
Posts: 3340
Location: Salzburg
dropbox upload (110mb) is estimated 1hour from now...
will than post the public URL here...

notice:
only used one Frame (no5)
you've to open the Project files and Change my local disk paths...

Georg

PS: after seeing the preview from coming apg 3.5 I think your pano will be a 40second pano effort with new apg... (handling lines...)

EDIT 20:02:
THE LINK: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/82798952/test-hans.zip
I would enfuse the Image stacks with external program and rename the final Images so they fit to the Project file I uploaded....


Last edited by gkaefer on Mon Dec 23, 2013 8:04 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 23, 2013 7:04 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2010 5:51 pm
Posts: 528
Location: Switzerland
gkaefer wrote:
PS: after seeing the preview from coming apg 3.5 ...)


Where ?

_________________
Regards
Martin


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 23, 2013 7:58 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 1:01 pm
Posts: 3340
Location: Salzburg
lumelix wrote:
gkaefer wrote:
PS: after seeing the preview from coming apg 3.5 ...)


Where ?


http://www.kolor.com and on FrontPage follow: http://www.kolor.com/blog-en/2013/12/23 ... -giga-3-5/
:cool:
Georg

PS: on YouTube you can add kolors channel to yours... so you get informed automatically when kolor is uploading Videos (0-5 hours before blog entry is coming ;-))


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 23, 2013 10:27 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2010 5:51 pm
Posts: 528
Location: Switzerland
BAM !
Yes, this preview looks really good, big improvement in the detection module.
Hope, they haven't forgotten completely the color correction for big gigas with changing lights ;)

_________________
Regards
Martin


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group