Page 1 of 1

How big

PostPosted: Thu Nov 21, 2013 5:06 pm
by clausjepsen
I am on an 27" iMac 3.9 GHZ intell core 2 duo, 8 GB, 1067 Mhz DDR3 from 2009. When I load it up with 7x3 dng´s in APG things becomes very slow.

Is my computer too old for APG?

Things went faster if I resized the pictures to 2500 px TIF files, which should be enough for an output like 6000x3000. If I do it this way, will my result then be worse than if I run full res?

Is it right, that APG do not have a masking feature, so I could bring in my two nadir shots, which would make my whole very small, so I could just adjust the pano settings to the limit is the small hole. Now I need to import it into Pano2VR I guess.

Re: How big

PostPosted: Thu Nov 21, 2013 6:08 pm
by mediavets
clausjepsen wrote:I am on an 27" iMac 3.9 GHZ intell core 2 duo, 8 GB, 1067 Mhz DDR3 from 2009. When I load it up with 7x3 dng´s in APG things becomes very slow.

Is my computer too old for APG?


How large (pixel dimensions and filesize) are these 21 (7x3) images?

What aspect of APG performance is very slow?

There's no doubt that APG 3.x like lots of RAM and fast disks.

Panorama editing performance is very dependent on your graphics card capability.

...........

If you have PTP then you can export your krpano license and use krpano tools to convert to and from cube faces so you can patch the nadir.

Of course if you have pano2VR then you can use it's patch tool.

Re: How big

PostPosted: Thu Nov 21, 2013 10:06 pm
by HansKeesom
broken link

Re: How big

PostPosted: Thu Nov 21, 2013 10:11 pm
by HansKeesom
With the help of others I develop the formula that can be found here viewtopic.php?p=87033#p87033

It tells you how well your system will run with a certain number of photos.

It also helps you to remove bottlenecks

Re: How big

PostPosted: Fri Nov 22, 2013 6:17 pm
by clausjepsen
I am shooting full res 5D3 RAW and think that an output around 6000x3000 is enough.

I could shoot smaller RAW´s or just convert them in Lightroom to a 2500x2500 tiff.

Re: How big

PostPosted: Fri Nov 22, 2013 10:47 pm
by HansKeesom
You can start by doing fusion before loading into APG. That will make things lighter. Likely no need to reduce the RAW's in anyway.

Re: How big

PostPosted: Sat Nov 23, 2013 12:56 am
by Destiny
Hi.. Funny thing.. My iMac is even older.. oh hum.. I really need a new one.. :rolleyes: =( APG has many features that are hardware dependent. Therefore, APG is really a limited software app for me.. I only have 4 GIG of RAM so I cannot use many of the features...

I would personally use PTP to export your cube faces to fix up your nadir but then import them back into PTP and then Export as a full panoramic image.. When you reload the Full Panoramic images back into PTP, they will load in a lot quicker than cube faces.. Its the only way to go if you have a lot of panos in your Tour...

Destiny...

Re: How big

PostPosted: Sat Nov 23, 2013 7:40 am
by clausjepsen
Thanks for your input. I will use enfuse in LR first and export as full res tiffs and for sure that will speed up the process. The only drawback is, that I have to arrange the pictures in folder by myself.