Page 1 of 1

creates 2 panos

PostPosted: Thu Jul 04, 2013 4:51 pm
by Rusty
Hi, I'm fairly new to this, so Iappreciate all help. Iphotograph real estate photograpghs as well as virtual tours. On of the virtual tours I did yesterday hasnt worked out for some reason. I shot 13 images and loaded them into APP 2.6 Next I changes the lens to normal and did the detect. IT produced 3 separate stitches. The 1st stitch used only 7 images, the next 2 stitches used 3 images each. This has never happened to me before. Any ideas?

PostPosted: Thu Jul 04, 2013 6:37 pm
by mediavets
Rusty wrote:Hi, I'm fairly new to this, so Iappreciate all help. Iphotograph real estate photograpghs as well as virtual tours. On of the virtual tours I did yesterday hasnt worked out for some reason. I shot 13 images and loaded them into APP 2.6 Next I changes the lens to normal and did the detect. IT produced 3 separate stitches. The 1st stitch used only 7 images, the next 2 stitches used 3 images each. This has never happened to me before. Any ideas?

Welcome to the forum...

What lens and camera and pano head do you use?

What is the shooting pattern?

Does this interior have a lot of repeating lemenst, or a lot of relatively featureles surfaces?

Do you want to put this image set in a ZIP file and put it online where we download it and try to stitch it?

PostPosted: Fri Jul 05, 2013 5:33 am
by Rusty
Hi I will attach the ZIP file. Any help is greatly appreciated.
Thank you

PostPosted: Fri Jul 05, 2013 5:37 am
by Rusty
files didnt attach I'll try again

PostPosted: Fri Jul 05, 2013 4:56 pm
by Rusty
Any help please??

PostPosted: Fri Jul 05, 2013 6:02 pm
by klausesser
Rusty wrote:Any help please??

For getting help it would be clever to answer Andrew´s questions ;)!

Without any information about details like lens, camera, head, pattern and so on it´s a bit hard to help you.

best, Klaus

PostPosted: Fri Jul 05, 2013 6:58 pm
by mediavets
Rusty wrote:Any help please??

So you are shooting with a D7000 cropped sensor Nikon DX body and a 10mm lens.

APP/APG 'thinks' that lens is a fisheye - because of the short focal length - but I don't think it is.

Is it a fisheye?

If not you'll have to change the image properties to change the lens type to standard. But you said you did that...

I changed the lens type to standard and then I had no problem stitching it with essentially default settings using APG 2.6.3.

There is a lot of white 'featureless' wall but just enough features in the overlaps to enable APG to find links.

So I have no explanation for your failing to get a good stitch too.

PostPosted: Sun Jul 07, 2013 8:32 am
by ronwillium00
I was waiting for this type article and I have gained some useful information from this site. Thanks for sharing this information. Keep posting.