Problem Rendering  

Share your tips and tricks here or get help with any Autopano Pro / Giga problem!
No bug reports (of any kind) in this forum!
no avatar
faustocoppi
New member
 
Topic author
Posts: 8
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2013 11:16 pm
Info

Problem Rendering

by faustocoppi » Mon Apr 01, 2013 11:30 pm

I have a few images that I have been trying to render over the past couple of weeks and have not had any success.

The images are not huge. 71 to 121 images, in multiple rows.

I have tried to contact support for the past two weeks, but have not heard back, so I figured I would try the forum.

Everything goes well until I try to render. Then the program closes.

I am using Auto pano giga 3.05

8 GB Ram 4 GB Free ( How do I free up more of the Ram? )

Mac OS X 10.7.5 Lion

Mac Pro 2 x 2.26 Quad Core, 8 GB 1066 DDR3
ATI Radeon HD 4870 512 MB Video Card

HD 640 GB 200 Free

GPU Processing enabled. Trying to render to TIFF file or PSD at 300 dpi 16 bit

Any suggestions on a possible fix would be much appreciated.

I have ordered another 16 GB memory. We will see if that cures the problem.

Thank you in advance for any assistance you can provide.

User avatar
klausesser
Member
 
Posts: 8836
Likes: 5 posts
Liked in: 64 posts
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
Info

by klausesser » Mon Apr 01, 2013 11:37 pm

faustocoppi wrote:Trying to render to TIFF file or PSD at 300 dpi 16 bit

Why @300dpi? Which size in pixels? Sphere? Mosaic? Which projection?

best, Klaus
Simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance. Coco Chanel

no avatar
faustocoppi
New member
 
Topic author
Posts: 8
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2013 11:16 pm
Info

by faustocoppi » Tue Apr 02, 2013 12:07 am

Hello Klaus,

300 dpi because that is what I plan on printing at. pixels 43131 x 11054, planar projection. I am new to using Giga and am just getting used to the interface. I am used to APP.

no avatar
lumelix
Member
 
Posts: 528
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2010 5:51 pm
Location: Switzerland
Info

by lumelix » Tue Apr 02, 2013 9:18 am

faustocoppi wrote:8 GB Ram 4 GB Free ( How do I free up more of the Ram? )

Hi
APG makes his own reservations for the various tasks (calculatuon, preview, rendering)
So you can only push the slider to the right (or install more memory) ;)

8GB RAM should be no problem for your case. I have rendered up to 1500 images in a pano with 8GB.
But APG benefits from more RAM, this is well known.

Closes APG immediately when you click "render" or later while APG is processing the render output ?
Can you show us a screen shot of your render settings ?
Regards
Martin

User avatar
klausesser
Member
 
Posts: 8836
Likes: 5 posts
Liked in: 64 posts
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
Info

by klausesser » Tue Apr 02, 2013 9:27 am

faustocoppi wrote:300 dpi because that is what I plan on printing at. pixels 43131 x 11054, planar projection.

Seems rather big for printig @300dpi. Which kind of printing? Offset?

best, Klaus
Simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance. Coco Chanel

no avatar
faustocoppi
New member
 
Topic author
Posts: 8
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2013 11:16 pm
Info

by faustocoppi » Tue Apr 02, 2013 10:55 am

Closes immediately before the rendering process starts.

Having problems getting screen shot to paste into here. How do I attach?

But here are the settings:
43181x11054
Size 300dpi 143in x 36in 3.68m x 94.33cm

Interpolation:Bicubic

Blending: antighost

Format: Tiff 16bit none or law compression, tried both 300 dpi

exported data panorama

no avatar
HansKeesom
Member
 
Posts: 2210
Likes: 1 post
Liked in: 2 posts
Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2010 8:53 pm
Info

by HansKeesom » Tue Apr 02, 2013 11:09 am

for a quick fix, upload all the files using wetransfer or dropbox including the pano file and send it to me. Will render it for free and send you the result.
Regards, Hans Keesom
I stitch and render for other photographers. Price: 25 euro or less, no cure no pay. If you want to concentrate on your business let me do the stitching for you. Free TB of Dropbox space when you have more then 250 euro business a year.

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 16415
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 130 posts
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
Info

by mediavets » Tue Apr 02, 2013 12:06 pm

faustocoppi wrote:Having problems getting screen shot to paste into here. How do I attach?

If you use Post reply rather than Quick post - or Edit your own post, or Quote another's post - then you'll see an Image Upload feature below the Message composition box.


Last edited by mediavets on Tue Apr 02, 2013 12:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Andrew Stephens
Many different Nodal Ninja and Agnos pano heads. Merlin/Panogear mount with Papywizard on Nokia Internet tablets.
Nikon D5100 and D40, Sigma 8mm f3.5 FE, Nikon 10.5mm FE, 35mm, 50mm, 18-55mm, 70-210mm. Promote control.

no avatar
faustocoppi
New member
 
Topic author
Posts: 8
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2013 11:16 pm
Info

by faustocoppi » Tue Apr 02, 2013 12:07 pm

thank you

User avatar
aaronpriest
Member
 
Posts: 191
Likes: 4 posts
Liked in: 2 posts
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2012 4:23 am
Location: Lee, Maine, USA
Info

by aaronpriest » Tue Apr 02, 2013 1:15 pm

Have you tried as *.psd *.psb? Maybe you are hitting the 4GB TIFF limitation? Although I would expect it to start rendering and crash during saving if that were the case.

no avatar
faustocoppi
New member
 
Topic author
Posts: 8
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2013 11:16 pm
Info

by faustocoppi » Tue Apr 02, 2013 1:16 pm

yes, i have tried as .psd and i have tried to reduce dimension as well, but no rendering

User avatar
ThomasV
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 300
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 1 post
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2012 1:12 pm
Info

by ThomasV » Tue Apr 02, 2013 4:16 pm

Hello,

Thanks for reporting such issue.
You said that Autopano closes just after you click render. Does Autopano crashes ? Do you see the crash reporting window ?
If so, do you upload a report ? If I can have a such report, I may be able to give more details.

Regards,
Thomas

no avatar
lumelix
Member
 
Posts: 528
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2010 5:51 pm
Location: Switzerland
Info

by lumelix » Tue Apr 02, 2013 4:40 pm

Hi
Thank you for uploading the screen shot.
I'm not absolutely sure but have some ideas:
1)
The path and filename looks a little bit long. Some times we have a limit of 256 characters for the path.
So can you try to save the render on a location with shorter path and name ? Eg. on C:\temp\render.tif
Avoid special characters and spaces in path and file name.
Be sure that you have enough free space on this location. For this render about 3 GB (477 MPix x 6 Byte).

2)
In this case we have 71 images but only 43'000 x 11'000 Pixels.
I expect more resolution from a pano with 71 images. Looks like there is large area of ​​overlap.
What camera/resolution do you use for this shooting ?
What shooting pattern do you use ?
Using the antighost function with to much overlapping can result in render problems.
In normal cases, 20 - 30% overlapping is enough.
3)
If this not helps try a render with all default settings, TIF 8bit no compression, anti-ghost default settings.
Then you can change the settings step by step and see what happends.
Regards
Martin

no avatar
faustocoppi
New member
 
Topic author
Posts: 8
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2013 11:16 pm
Info

by faustocoppi » Tue Apr 02, 2013 5:56 pm

Thank Martin,

I have been shooting with the Canon 5D Mark lll.

I have been using overlap of 1/3 to 1/2, as that is what I had always heard should be done. I figured more was better.

I will try 20% in the future. 20% overlap has been working for you?

Thanks!

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 16415
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 130 posts
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
Info

by mediavets » Tue Apr 02, 2013 7:26 pm

faustocoppi wrote:I have been using overlap of 1/3 to 1/2, as that is what I had always heard should be done. I figured more was better.

No - 25-30% is enough and more is not better.

With more you tend you get links created between non-adajacent images which can cause problems.
Andrew Stephens
Many different Nodal Ninja and Agnos pano heads. Merlin/Panogear mount with Papywizard on Nokia Internet tablets.
Nikon D5100 and D40, Sigma 8mm f3.5 FE, Nikon 10.5mm FE, 35mm, 50mm, 18-55mm, 70-210mm. Promote control.

no avatar
lumelix
Member
 
Posts: 528
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2010 5:51 pm
Location: Switzerland
Info

by lumelix » Tue Apr 02, 2013 11:50 pm

faustocoppi wrote:20% overlap has been working for you?

Hi
Yes, absolutely. 15 - 20%, if you are shooting with a tele lens and the overlapping is regularly.
If not, eg. when shooting manually without a motorized head, it can result in some blending problems.

If you are shooting with a wide angle or have a motiv with less details, 20 - 30% is safer.
But if you have up to 50% overlapping or more, the anti-ghost function can fail.
It has then to much to do ;)

Your input files have totaly 1,55 GPixel. The pano has 477 MPixel.
So the factor of overlapping is 3,26. With 25% it's rather 1,8.

But you say that APG stops immediately after starting the render job.
Anti-ghost isn't the first task in the render job.

I would first send Thomas the crash report if possible.
Then you can try out point 1 and 3.
If that does not work, then you could cut the images something (batch) and thus reduce the overlap zone.
I hope it works that way.

Btw.: Try out also the cylindrical projection instead of the planar with this pano.
Regards
Martin

no avatar
faustocoppi
New member
 
Topic author
Posts: 8
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2013 11:16 pm
Info

by faustocoppi » Wed Apr 03, 2013 10:40 am

How do I submit Crash Report to Thomas?

Thank you.

PS..I am shooting manual, no motorized head

no avatar
lumelix
Member
 
Posts: 528
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2010 5:51 pm
Location: Switzerland
Info

by lumelix » Wed Apr 03, 2013 1:41 pm

Hi
If APG crashes there should be a window which show you some informations.
And a possibility to upload these informations to kolor.
Regards
Martin

User avatar
ThomasV
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 300
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 1 post
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2012 1:12 pm
Info

by ThomasV » Thu Apr 04, 2013 9:23 am

Hello all,

Thanks for helping Steve about this crash.
The cause of the issue has been identified, and issue 1897 opened. It comes from the orientation field in the exif values in the source images. The images were generated by another software. We will see how this issue can be fixed.

Regards,
Thomas

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 16415
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 130 posts
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
Info

by mediavets » Thu Apr 04, 2013 11:52 am

ThomasV wrote:Hello all,

Thanks for helping Steve about this crash.
The cause of the issue has been identified, and issue 1897 opened. It comes from the orientation field in the exif values in the source images. The images were generated by another software. We will see how this issue can be fixed.

Regards,
Thomas

Is this something that could be managed in the short term by batch editing the orientation field in the EXIF?
Andrew Stephens
Many different Nodal Ninja and Agnos pano heads. Merlin/Panogear mount with Papywizard on Nokia Internet tablets.
Nikon D5100 and D40, Sigma 8mm f3.5 FE, Nikon 10.5mm FE, 35mm, 50mm, 18-55mm, 70-210mm. Promote control.

User avatar
ThomasV
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 300
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 1 post
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2012 1:12 pm
Info

by ThomasV » Thu Apr 04, 2013 1:00 pm

mediavets wrote:Is this something that could be managed in the short term by batch editing the orientation field in the EXIF?

Yes. As I said Steve by email, batching a conversion for all pictures solves the issue.

Regards,
Thomas


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests