Mac user - Parallels desktop  

Share your tips and tricks here or get help with any Autopano Pro / Giga problem!
No bug reports (of any kind) in this forum!
no avatar
eleaner
New member
 
Topic author
Posts: 6
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2013 4:47 pm
Info

Mac user - Parallels desktop

by eleaner » Sat Jan 26, 2013 4:52 pm

Hi,

I am a happy user of Autopano Giga and convert from Windows to Mac.
As a result I still use photo database under Windows with Parallels Desktop.

Most of Mac applications can be started directly from under windows - even passing list of files to process which is great because I can run the directly from my database.
Unfortunately this does not work with Autopano. It is even not visible under "shared applications".

Any ideas what's wrong?

cheers
Marcin

User avatar
gkaefer
Member
 
Posts: 3549
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 15 posts
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 1:01 pm
Location: Salzburg
Info

by gkaefer » Sun Jan 27, 2013 12:12 am

eleaner wrote:Hi,

I am a happy user of Autopano Giga and convert from Windows to Mac.
As a result I still use photo database under Windows with Parallels Desktop.

Most of Mac applications can be started directly from under windows - even passing list of files to process which is great because I can run the directly from my database.
Unfortunately this does not work with Autopano. It is even not visible under "shared applications".

Any ideas what's wrong?

cheers
Marcin

you converted from Windows to Mac..
... and you use parallels to start windows and than autopano (or transparent mode) - windows is loaded invisibel and allows to start windows applications from mac desktop - what you describes is a eyefake... mac OS is loaded and than Windows (virtually) and than you start on "windows desktop" mac applications.

so to cut the gordian knot...
why not installing native mac version of autopano on a mac?
Georg

no avatar
eleaner
New member
 
Topic author
Posts: 6
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2013 4:47 pm
Info

by eleaner » Sun Jan 27, 2013 2:39 am

Hi,

Thanks for the replay but I see we don't understand each other.
I do have a native Autopaon on Mac.

What I would like is to select bunch of photos under Windows and send them to Autopano for stitching.

Cheers
Marcin

User avatar
vincen
Kolor Certified Trainer
 
Posts: 963
Likes: 23 posts
Liked in: 4 posts
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 11:30 am
Location: Grenoble, France
Info

by vincen » Sun Jan 27, 2013 12:10 pm

eleaner wrote:What I would like is to select bunch of photos under Windows and send them to Autopano for stitching.

To optimise your process, I would advise to create a temp directory on mac, shared in Parallels and then export in TIFF your pictures for a panorama to that temp directory, stitch in autopano, and then once finished you can empty the temp directory ;)
Blog: http://www.skivr.com
Nodal Ninja 4 R-D16 on Benro Tripod + Ultimate R1 on Nodal Ninja P2 + Nikon D800 + Nikkor 10.5 + Nikkor 14/24 f/2.8 +Pentax 645D

no avatar
eleaner
New member
 
Topic author
Posts: 6
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2013 4:47 pm
Info

by eleaner » Sun Jan 27, 2013 12:21 pm

Hi Vincen,

I can handle temp directory on mac. That's what I am doing right now.
I ask why I cannot send files to Autopano.
Is this a problem with Autopano? Is it an error or shall I suggest a new feature?

Cheers,
Marcin

User avatar
vincen
Kolor Certified Trainer
 
Posts: 963
Likes: 23 posts
Liked in: 4 posts
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 11:30 am
Location: Grenoble, France
Info

by vincen » Sun Jan 27, 2013 12:43 pm

eleaner wrote:I can handle temp directory on mac. That's what I am doing right now.
I ask why I cannot send files to Autopano.
Is this a problem with Autopano? Is it an error or shall I suggest a new feature?

It's not a problem of Autopano, it's an issue with your process ! Files exported from your picture software are in a temp directory in Windows, but that directory is not directly accessible by APG on Mac ! What is the picture software you use in your windows ?
Blog: http://www.skivr.com
Nodal Ninja 4 R-D16 on Benro Tripod + Ultimate R1 on Nodal Ninja P2 + Nikon D800 + Nikkor 10.5 + Nikkor 14/24 f/2.8 +Pentax 645D

no avatar
eleaner
New member
 
Topic author
Posts: 6
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2013 4:47 pm
Info

by eleaner » Sun Jan 27, 2013 12:58 pm

Hi Vincen,

I see you are a moderator but are you a tech specialist of Kolor as well?
Have you ever used Parallels on Mac?

Then please explain
My files are accessible by both systems.
Why I can send my photos selected on windows to be processed in Photoshop or in Photomatix without any problem. (both run natively on Mac)
And why it does not work with Autopano.

I somehow cannot see any flaw with my process.

And if you cannot help me could you please contract me with someone who can?
Is there any other way to contact Kolor developers then this forum?

cheers,
Marcin

no avatar
eleaner
New member
 
Topic author
Posts: 6
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2013 4:47 pm
Info

by eleaner » Sun Jan 27, 2013 1:05 pm

Aha,

And the pciture software does not matter.
When I say i "send" photos to mac I can do it directly from windows explorer using drag and drop.
Parallels provides Mac Photoshop or Photomatics to be started from under Windows. Somehow it does not see Autopano at all.

cheers,
Marcin

User avatar
vincen
Kolor Certified Trainer
 
Posts: 963
Likes: 23 posts
Liked in: 4 posts
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 11:30 am
Location: Grenoble, France
Info

by vincen » Sun Jan 27, 2013 1:13 pm

eleaner wrote:Have you ever used Parallels on Mac?

I used it in the past, I know how it works ;)

eleaner wrote:My files are accessible by both systems.
Why I can send my photos selected on windows to be processed in Photoshop or in Photomatix without any problem. (both run natively on Mac)
And why it does not work with Autopano.

I think the issue is probably in the way Autopano "waits" to get files from the third application ! When you export files from Lightroom for example to be processed by APG, Lighroom creates the export in a subdirectory of original pictures and then pass that directory to APG. If your image processing software is in a different os, it'll then pass that directory address at APG but how APG is going to access it as it's in your windows system and not mac ! I think it's where the problem is !

And if you cannot help me could you please contract me with someone who can?
Is there any other way to contact Kolor developers then this forum?

You can always contact Kolor guys directly by phone or email on their website :)
Blog: http://www.skivr.com
Nodal Ninja 4 R-D16 on Benro Tripod + Ultimate R1 on Nodal Ninja P2 + Nikon D800 + Nikkor 10.5 + Nikkor 14/24 f/2.8 +Pentax 645D

User avatar
ThomasV
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 300
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 1 post
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2012 1:12 pm
Info

by ThomasV » Mon Jan 28, 2013 9:23 am

Hello Marcin,

What I would like is to select bunch of photos under Windows and send them to Autopano for stitching.

From the Parallels' documentation I can see that there are several ways to install and configure it. Could you please give us more information on the config (same computer, 2 different ones?), how files are shared (network, usb,...).

On the Autopano side, you say that you 'send' files. What does that mean ?
- Browse folder
- Select images
- drag'n drop from windows' explorer
- drag'n drop from macosx' explorer
- ...

I am not a Parallels' expert, so any details can matter.

Regards,
Thomas

no avatar
eleaner
New member
 
Topic author
Posts: 6
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2013 4:47 pm
Info

by eleaner » Mon Jan 28, 2013 3:50 pm

Hi ThomasV,

The whole post is about drag and drop I believe.
It looks like Autopano does not support starting application with a bunch of files dropped over the icon. Even natively from under mac.
I think this could be an origin of my problem.
I can obviously drop bunch of files into an open application or browse any folder.

cheers,
Marcin

User avatar
ThomasV
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 300
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 1 post
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2012 1:12 pm
Info

by ThomasV » Mon Jan 28, 2013 4:07 pm

Hello,

Under MacOSX, Autopano does not accept images or folder drops on the software icon. It accepts them in the software window.
As you noticed, this situation does not depends on Parallels.
This behavior might be changed in coming releases. I understand it can be more user friendly.

Thanks for reporting that.

Regards,
Thomas


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron