Workflow for GigaPan Import (360° GigaPixel Panorama)  

Share your tips and tricks here or get help with any Autopano Pro / Giga problem!
No bug reports (of any kind) in this forum!
no avatar
Maw.
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 90
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 8:57 pm
Info

Workflow for GigaPan Import (360° GigaPixel Panorama)

by Maw. » Tue Jan 15, 2013 6:51 pm

Hi to all,
I´m testing the GigaPan Epic Pro, shooting an almost sphere panorama (360x160) in the nature, but with moving objects like cars, clouds,...
What´s the best workflow for this in Autopano Giga 3?

Use "auto detection" and "skip optimization" or don´t skip it? Or shouldn´t I use the auto-detection and take other settings?
Because I have problems in sky, that APG doesnt find control points (of course). So what´s the best workflow for this part?

Best regards,
Marc

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 16414
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 130 posts
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
Info

by mediavets » Tue Jan 15, 2013 8:02 pm

Are you using the Gigapan Import filter?
Andrew Stephens
Many different Nodal Ninja and Agnos pano heads. Merlin/Panogear mount with Papywizard on Nokia Internet tablets.
Nikon D5100 and D40, Sigma 8mm f3.5 FE, Nikon 10.5mm FE, 35mm, 50mm, 18-55mm, 70-210mm. Promote control.

no avatar
Maw.
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 90
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 8:57 pm
Info

by Maw. » Tue Jan 15, 2013 8:40 pm

Yes, I forgot - using the GigaPan Importer

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 16414
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 130 posts
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
Info

by mediavets » Tue Jan 15, 2013 8:49 pm

Maw. wrote:Yes, I forgot - using the GigaPan Importer

And are you having problems using the Gigapan Import filter with its default settings?
Last edited by mediavets on Tue Jan 15, 2013 8:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Andrew Stephens
Many different Nodal Ninja and Agnos pano heads. Merlin/Panogear mount with Papywizard on Nokia Internet tablets.
Nikon D5100 and D40, Sigma 8mm f3.5 FE, Nikon 10.5mm FE, 35mm, 50mm, 18-55mm, 70-210mm. Promote control.

no avatar
Maw.
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 90
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 8:57 pm
Info

by Maw. » Tue Jan 15, 2013 8:53 pm

yes I'm having problems wit pictures not including controlpoints. Sometimes a sky-image Overlays the other images. I think its because of the optimizer? So better not to optimize?

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 16414
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 130 posts
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
Info

by mediavets » Tue Jan 15, 2013 9:23 pm

Maw. wrote:yes I'm having problems wit pictures not including controlpoints. Sometimes a sky-image Overlays the other images. I think its because of the optimizer? So better not to optimize?

Can you show us a screenshot like the one below so we can see the arrangement of the detected images and the 'overlaying' you are complaining about (this example done using the Papywizard Import filter, but that's beside the poiint)..


Andrew Stephens
Many different Nodal Ninja and Agnos pano heads. Merlin/Panogear mount with Papywizard on Nokia Internet tablets.
Nikon D5100 and D40, Sigma 8mm f3.5 FE, Nikon 10.5mm FE, 35mm, 50mm, 18-55mm, 70-210mm. Promote control.

User avatar
klausesser
Member
 
Posts: 8831
Likes: 5 posts
Liked in: 63 posts
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
Info

by klausesser » Tue Jan 15, 2013 9:26 pm

Maw. wrote:I think its because of the optimizer? So better not to optimize?

Did you try "skip optimization" in the import-module? Optimizing manually image by image might help!

best, Klaus
Simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance. Coco Chanel

no avatar
Maw.
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 90
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 8:57 pm
Info

by Maw. » Thu Jan 17, 2013 8:28 am

Hi,
yesterday I tried a new gigapixel with GigaPan (360° - 16x57) and autopano Giga.

First, started the importer:
Image
Problems here:
- all the images are a bit offset (shooted with 30% overlap and set this in the importers settings)
- the right circle in the tree shows, that here gigapan takes an image from the street (left circle) this is very strange, because the image-names and exif-dates are correct and i definitely shot and imported the right picture for the tree. so, why´s that? tried several times...


I tried with "skip optimization" and it gave me this picture:
Image
- some stitching errors and what I find very strange, that part of the image (normally in the bottom) is on top of the image (right top), and also on the left top

So I optimized the image and got this:
Image

After I manually corrected some control points (at the house: start-and end of the pano) and optimized the pano a second time it was almost perfect.

So, is this the right workflow and why I got this "hole" at the tree although I´ve imported the image for this hole?

Regards
Marc

User avatar
gkaefer
Member
 
Posts: 3550
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 15 posts
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 1:01 pm
Location: Salzburg
Info

by gkaefer » Thu Jan 17, 2013 12:02 pm

update to version 3.0.3 from today before investing time with the 3.0.2.
3.0.3 fixed 2 issues, one a serious bug with Gigapanimporter...

Georg

no avatar
Maw.
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 90
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 8:57 pm
Info

by Maw. » Thu Jan 17, 2013 12:09 pm

thank you for the info - the missing image-problem is now fixed :)


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests