How do I save a RAW file of a panorama I have just made ?  

Share your tips and tricks here or get help with any Autopano Pro / Giga problem!
No bug reports (of any kind) in this forum!
no avatar
danbo
New member
 
Topic author
Posts: 5
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2011 12:04 pm
Info

How do I save a RAW file of a panorama I have just made ?

by danbo » Sun Nov 11, 2012 10:54 am

Hello there

autopano pro 2.6.4
Mac OSX 10.8.2

I am new to digital photography

I shot 2 RAW photos on a canon EOS 1000D,

I imported them into autopano and joined them together to make a panorama

I like the result and would like to save a RAW version ideally in iPhoto (or Aperture) for future reference.

I saved as the kro format for RAW but this wont import into iPhoto

Is there a way of keeping the RAW file ?


Regards

Danny

no avatar
tived
Member
 
Posts: 796
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Fri Jul 11, 2008 3:49 pm
Location: Dane in Western Australia
Info

by tived » Sun Nov 11, 2012 11:13 am

try jpeg or tiff

there is no raw output format, but you can save the *.pano file and rebuild the pano later

henrik

no avatar
danbo
New member
 
Topic author
Posts: 5
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2011 12:04 pm
Info

by danbo » Sun Nov 11, 2012 12:24 pm

Thank you Henrik


Pity about that, I gather that if I could get a RAW file out of autopano, I would then have more scope to edit and improve it. I wonder how professional users of autopano pro deal with this ?


Regards


Danny

User avatar
klausesser
Member
 
Posts: 8836
Likes: 5 posts
Liked in: 64 posts
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
Info

by klausesser » Sun Nov 11, 2012 1:18 pm

danbo wrote:I wonder how professional users of autopano pro deal with this ?

Professional Users know about the nature of RAW format . . ;) We use to render 16bit - TIFF, PSD or PSB instead.

best, Klaus
Simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance. Coco Chanel

no avatar
hermer-blr
Member
 
Posts: 237
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 1:01 pm
Location: Near Paris - France
Info

by hermer-blr » Sun Nov 11, 2012 1:23 pm

Why don't you save as 16 bit tif files?

This is a standard format that will allow you to edit your panoramas and get the best out of it.

RAW in itself is not a MUST. This is only (!!!) the best format out of a digital camera, because raw files include the information captured by the sensor when you shot your picture, while jpeg are the result of internal image processing done by the camera, unfortunately with unrecoverable loss...

When you perform image processing (eg panorama creation with APP), or image processing with Photoshop), the computer works will floating numbers... and saves the images as integer numbers (8 bits, 16 bits.... depending on the output format you will select). At this stage, a 16 tif is able to record more information than a 14 bit RAW file would be able to. So, forget about RAW after processing; it would be useless.
Nikon D5100 (formerly Nikon D60) - Sigma 10-20 - 24 shots Panoramas in 3 raws
Windows 32 bits - APG
website htt://jmh.trp.free.fr

no avatar
danbo
New member
 
Topic author
Posts: 5
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2011 12:04 pm
Info

by danbo » Sun Nov 11, 2012 1:53 pm

Brilliant answer Hermer-blr - thank you for having the patience to explain carefully, now I'm learning ! (And thank you klausesser also).

Danny

no avatar
Nanard
Member
 
Posts: 150
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 3 posts
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2007 11:00 pm
Location: France
Info

by Nanard » Sun Nov 11, 2012 2:29 pm

hermer-blr wrote:At this stage, a 16 tif is able to record more information than a 14 bit RAW file would be able to.

No way, don't confuse the bit maximum capacity ( ok 16 is higher than 14) , and the amount of information. And a 16 bit tiff image derived from a raw image cannot contain more information.

Bernard

no avatar
hermer-blr
Member
 
Posts: 237
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 1:01 pm
Location: Near Paris - France
Info

by hermer-blr » Sun Nov 11, 2012 9:21 pm

To Nanard

This is not what I intended to write. Sorry, for having been unclear.

I fully share your view that encapsulating (or converting or whatever word you want to use) a 14 bit raw into a 16 bit, 32 bit, 64 bit (or whatever you want) format will not add information.

But when you process a RAW image, you create information : APP, when stitching a panorama, adds information, Photoshop, when applying a filter, adds information. This information may be, for instance, more colours values than in the nominal RAW image. This is why, at this stage (ie after processing), I would recommand to use 16 bit tif or one of the other formats proposed by Klaus.
Nikon D5100 (formerly Nikon D60) - Sigma 10-20 - 24 shots Panoramas in 3 raws
Windows 32 bits - APG
website htt://jmh.trp.free.fr


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest