Best type of tripod head to use with gigapan  

Share your tips and tricks here or get help with any Autopano Pro / Giga problem!
No bug reports (of any kind) in this forum!
no avatar
CharlieMcG

Topic author
Liked in: 0 post
Info

Best type of tripod head to use with gigapan

by CharlieMcG » Fri Nov 09, 2012 4:22 am

Hey there guys,

Total beginner here so any and all advice appreciate. I'm about to purchase a head to use with my GigaPan pro. Camera and lens will weigh around 5lbs, and gigapan head will weigh 7 lbs.

Going to use an Induro tripod which supports 22lbs, but i'm pretty stuck on the best type of head to buy. Based on your experience would you recommend one of the below?

Is there anything in particular I should be taking into account here? What are the benefits/drawbacks of each of the below types?

Any and all feedback greatly appreciated!

Thanks,
Charlie

Ball head
http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/660321-REG/Manfrotto_496RC2_496RC2_Compact_Ball_Head.html

Pan and Tilt
http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/318594-REG/Giottos_MH_5001_MH_5001_3_Way_Pan_Tilt_Head.html

Leveler
http://www.amazon.com/Manfrotto-438-Ball-Camera-Leveler/dp/B001A1VKPM

gkaefer

Liked in: 15 posts
Info

by gkaefer » Fri Nov 09, 2012 11:19 am

Ball head
advantage: flexible, can be used to turn the gigapan 90" so cam is directly looking to nadir.
disadvantage: weight.

Pan and Tilt
advantage: -
disadvantage: not stable, shaking because of shutterrelease

Leveler
advantage: flexible, best leveling in short time
disadvantage: cant support you for nadir images

so to get perfect combination, I would use a leveler and a ballhead in combination (if this does not lead to more unstability & more shaking). if luxury is not so a must have than the ballhead allone is also a good solution.

I use the triopo B-4 (from source from following link) and wont miss it...
http://www.foto-tip.pl/sklep/product_info.php?products_id=2117&language=de