[APG 2.6.3 win 7 x64] Stitching Problem  

Share your tips and tricks here or get help with any Autopano Pro / Giga problem!
No bug reports (of any kind) in this forum!
User avatar
Hellkeeper
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 249
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 1 post
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 10:32 pm
Location: Austria
Info

[APG 2.6.3 win 7 x64] Stitching Problem

by Hellkeeper » Tue Aug 21, 2012 10:48 am

Hey there,

it's been a while since my last post - was quite some busy times ... ;-)

Now I got the time to do a new Gpix - but it seems I unlearned everything .... hehe

When doing the Gigapan import everything looks good: http://temp.in.futureweb.at/apg/apg1.JPG
But after detection everything is messed up?!?: http://temp.in.futureweb.at/apg/apg2.JPG

Some ideas?

bye from Austria
Andreas
Gigapixel Panos from Austria: gpix.at

User avatar
AlexandreJ
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 5987
Likes: 7 posts
Liked in: 10 posts
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 4:56 pm
Location: Francin, France
Info

by AlexandreJ » Tue Aug 21, 2012 2:35 pm

Can you check exif from your images ?
( uncheck automatic detection in the gigapan plugin so you can use image properties to fix exif if not right in group properties )

User avatar
Hellkeeper
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 249
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 1 post
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 10:32 pm
Location: Austria
Info

by Hellkeeper » Tue Aug 21, 2012 5:15 pm

Gigapixel Panos from Austria: gpix.at

User avatar
klausesser
Member
 
Posts: 8836
Likes: 5 posts
Liked in: 64 posts
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
Info

by klausesser » Tue Aug 21, 2012 5:32 pm

Hellkeeper wrote:EXIF don't look wrong :/

http://temp.in.futureweb.at/apg/picoptions.JPG

seems a bit strange, no? Focallength: 491,80mm, Sensor: 1x, focallength aequiv. 35mm: 750mm . . . :cool:

Did you use a converter? I don´t see any EXIFs . .

best, Klaus
Simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance. Coco Chanel

User avatar
klausesser
Member
 
Posts: 8836
Likes: 5 posts
Liked in: 64 posts
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
Info

by klausesser » Tue Aug 21, 2012 5:36 pm

Hellkeeper wrote:But after detection everything is messed up?!?: http://temp.in.futureweb.at/apg/apg2.JPG

Maybe this can help: http://www.autopano.net/wiki-en/action/view/Troubleshooting_Papywizard_Cases

best, Klaus
Simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance. Coco Chanel

User avatar
Hellkeeper
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 249
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 1 post
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 10:32 pm
Location: Austria
Info

by Hellkeeper » Tue Aug 21, 2012 5:39 pm

not strange at all! :)
pics are taken with a 500mm lens - nikon DX body (crop) = 750mm - 35mm equi.
http://temp.in.futureweb.at/apg/exif.JPG

import through GIGAPAN - not papywizard - so no exif/xml data missmatch possible :/

Andreas
Gigapixel Panos from Austria: gpix.at

User avatar
klausesser
Member
 
Posts: 8836
Likes: 5 posts
Liked in: 64 posts
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
Info

by klausesser » Tue Aug 21, 2012 7:10 pm

Hellkeeper wrote:not strange at all! :)
pics are taken with a 500mm lens - nikon DX body (crop) = 750mm - 35mm equi.
http://temp.in.futureweb.at/apg/exif.JPG

import through GIGAPAN - not papywizard - so no exif/xml data missmatch possible :/

Andreas

Oops - i misred: read it as D3 instead of D300 . . ;)

Doesn´t matter which import - i meant the unlinking/linking strategy.

best, Klaus
Simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance. Coco Chanel

no avatar
Zurich.Gigapixel
Member
 
Posts: 36
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2012 6:49 pm
Location: Zurich, Switzerland
Info

by Zurich.Gigapixel » Tue Aug 21, 2012 7:16 pm

I had the same problem:

http://www.kolor.com/forum/t15211-gigapan-import-goes-crazy.autopanogiga-2.6.3-mac-64bit

like in your case it says that it is a 360° Panorama...


EDIT:

sometimes putting in a higher number on the overlap feature on the gigapan import helped in my case.

Type in 60% of overlap, if it does not work choose less 20%... play with that, in my case it worked sometimes, if that doesen't help, then use the workaround from the thread I posted...
Last edited by Zurich.Gigapixel on Tue Aug 21, 2012 7:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Hellkeeper
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 249
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 1 post
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 10:32 pm
Location: Austria
Info

by Hellkeeper » Fri Aug 24, 2012 8:39 am

alright - i tried it with 60% overlap and 20% overlap - not much difference ...and I guess the unlinking strategy won't work too --> http://temp.in.futureweb.at/apg/apg3.jpg

not really sure what's going wrong here :/
Gigapixel Panos from Austria: gpix.at

User avatar
Hellkeeper
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 249
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 1 post
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 10:32 pm
Location: Austria
Info

by Hellkeeper » Tue Aug 28, 2012 11:42 am

Just tried to stitch another Gigapixel I shot some days after the first one with problems - results look quite similiar to the first one.
Always detected as full 360° Speric Pano.
Also tried it with the new V3 Beta - same results as in 2.6.3! :-(

Hope some of you got some more ideas what's happening here?

Import: http://temp.in.futureweb.at/apg/2_pic0.JPG
Overview: http://temp.in.futureweb.at/apg/2_pic1.JPG
Edit Window: http://temp.in.futureweb.at/apg/2_pic2.JPG
Control Point Editor: http://temp.in.futureweb.at/apg/2_pic3.JPG
Pic Move Mode: http://temp.in.futureweb.at/apg/2_pic4.JPG

EXIF: http://temp.in.futureweb.at/apg/2_pic_exif.JPG

Thank you, bye from Austria
Andreas
Last edited by Hellkeeper on Tue Aug 28, 2012 12:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Gigapixel Panos from Austria: gpix.at

User avatar
Hellkeeper
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 249
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 1 post
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 10:32 pm
Location: Austria
Info

by Hellkeeper » Tue Aug 28, 2012 11:49 am

And just made a small Testshoot with only 429 Pictures - also recognized as 360° ... I just don't get it?!?!?!

http://temp.in.futureweb.at/apg/3_pic1.JPG
Gigapixel Panos from Austria: gpix.at

User avatar
klausesser
Member
 
Posts: 8836
Likes: 5 posts
Liked in: 64 posts
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
Info

by klausesser » Tue Aug 28, 2012 12:03 pm

Hellkeeper wrote:Just tried to stitch another Gigapixel I shot some days after the first one with problems - results look quite similiar to the first one.
Always detected as full 360° Speric Pano.
Also tried it with the new V3 Beta - same results as in 2.6.3! :-(

Hope some of you got some more ideas what's happening here?

Overview: http://temp.in.futureweb.at/apg/2_pic1.JPG
Edit Window: http://temp.in.futureweb.at/apg/2_pic2.JPG
Control Point Editor: http://temp.in.futureweb.at/apg/2_pic3.JPG
Pic Move Mode: http://temp.in.futureweb.at/apg/2_pic4.JPG

EXIF: http://temp.in.futureweb.at/apg/2_pic_exif.JPG

Thank you, bye from Austria
Andreas

Good Lord - THAT´S one chaotic image pattern (pic3+4) . . . . . :D

Not surprising at all it generates issues! Looks like massive instability of the head . . . but that can´t cause the chaotic pattern because of the XML . . you DID use the XML??

best, Klaus
Last edited by klausesser on Tue Aug 28, 2012 12:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance. Coco Chanel

User avatar
klausesser
Member
 
Posts: 8836
Likes: 5 posts
Liked in: 64 posts
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
Info

by klausesser » Tue Aug 28, 2012 12:06 pm

Hellkeeper wrote:Just tried to stitch another Gigapixel I shot some days after the first one with problems - results look quite similiar to the first one.
Always detected as full 360° Speric Pano.
Also tried it with the new V3 Beta - same results as in 2.6.3! :-(

Hope some of you got some more ideas what's happening here?

Overview: http://temp.in.futureweb.at/apg/2_pic1.JPG
Edit Window: http://temp.in.futureweb.at/apg/2_pic2.JPG
Control Point Editor: http://temp.in.futureweb.at/apg/2_pic3.JPG
Pic Move Mode: http://temp.in.futureweb.at/apg/2_pic4.JPG

EXIF: http://temp.in.futureweb.at/apg/2_pic_exif.JPG

Thank you, bye from Austria
Andreas

Did you try to rotate the pictures in the import?

best, Klaus
Simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance. Coco Chanel

User avatar
Hellkeeper
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 249
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 1 post
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 10:32 pm
Location: Austria
Info

by Hellkeeper » Tue Aug 28, 2012 12:12 pm

more than chaotic! ;-)
But at Import time everything looks OK - that's what puzzles me ... if there were some instabilities of the head I would fix em and not wonder why the images are broken! ;-))

Import: http://temp.in.futureweb.at/apg/2_pic0.JPG

Andreas
Gigapixel Panos from Austria: gpix.at

User avatar
klausesser
Member
 
Posts: 8836
Likes: 5 posts
Liked in: 64 posts
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
Info

by klausesser » Tue Aug 28, 2012 12:33 pm

Hellkeeper wrote:more than chaotic! ;-)
But at Import time everything looks OK - that's what puzzles me ... if there were some instabilities of the head I would fix em and not wonder why the images are broken! ;-))

Import: http://temp.in.futureweb.at/apg/2_pic0.JPG

Andreas

Hi Andreas!

I see. But i had a familiar issue - and then realized that i just needed to rotate the images in the import-module . . . (the setting in my camera was altered without my notice).

That doesn´t explain the chaotic pattern, but might be one step towards a solution. I don´t know the Gigapan well enough to judge it´s stabilty - but at least the pattern MUST be regularly symmetrical no matter the head´s stability. That´s not the case here.

Did you use an older pattern with newer shots? Sometimes i use a "basic" XML for lens/camera-values - with spheres that works fine, didn´t use it with mosaic or in angle-mode.

Looks like pattern and images doesn´t match in your example.

best, Klaus
Simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance. Coco Chanel

User avatar
klausesser
Member
 
Posts: 8836
Likes: 5 posts
Liked in: 64 posts
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
Info

by klausesser » Tue Aug 28, 2012 12:34 pm

Hellkeeper wrote:more than chaotic! ;-)
But at Import time everything looks OK - that's what puzzles me ... if there were some instabilities of the head I would fix em and not wonder why the images are broken! ;-))

Import: http://temp.in.futureweb.at/apg/2_pic0.JPG

Andreas

Ok - i understand that the import looks fine but in the editor you get this mess?

best, Klaus

PS: did you set "skip optimization" in the importer? If not: do it!
Last edited by klausesser on Tue Aug 28, 2012 12:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance. Coco Chanel

User avatar
Hellkeeper
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 249
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 1 post
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 10:32 pm
Location: Austria
Info

by Hellkeeper » Tue Aug 28, 2012 12:40 pm

Hi,

how to rotate Images within import? Never saw such an option? (Maybe I never looked for it because I never needed it! ;-))
Gigapan don't records a patern - it just shoots the pictures in (vertical or horizontal) rows | columns (left to right or right to left) - that's what you choose while importing - and you get an idea how the image looks like when you look at the importer View. If the shoot wouldn't be "regular symetrical" the preview would be messed up.

The weird thing (I never had that bad the last ~100 Gigapixels) - import preview perfect OK, stitched result complete mess. Stitcher always thinks the image is fully spherical (360x180) - which it isn't ... ?

Andreas
Gigapixel Panos from Austria: gpix.at

User avatar
Hellkeeper
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 249
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 1 post
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 10:32 pm
Location: Austria
Info

by Hellkeeper » Tue Aug 28, 2012 12:42 pm

Will try "skip optimization" now - never tried this setting
Gigapixel Panos from Austria: gpix.at

User avatar
klausesser
Member
 
Posts: 8836
Likes: 5 posts
Liked in: 64 posts
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
Info

by klausesser » Tue Aug 28, 2012 12:47 pm

Hellkeeper wrote:Hi,

how to rotate Images within import? Never saw such an option? (Maybe I never looked for it because I never needed it! ;-))
Gigapan don't records a patern - it just shoots the pictures in (vertical or horizontal) rows | columns (left to right or right to left) - that's what you choose while importing - and you get an idea how the image looks like when you look at the importer View. If the shoot wouldn't be "regular symetrical" the preview would be messed up.

The weird thing (I never had that bad the last ~100 Gigapixels) - import preview perfect OK, stitched result complete mess. Stitcher always thinks the image is fully spherical (360x180) - which it isn't ... ?

Andreas

See here:

best, Klaus






Simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance. Coco Chanel

User avatar
Hellkeeper
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 249
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 1 post
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 10:32 pm
Location: Austria
Info

by Hellkeeper » Tue Aug 28, 2012 12:53 pm

alright - those settings are not existant in gigapan importer :)
Gigapixel Panos from Austria: gpix.at

User avatar
klausesser
Member
 
Posts: 8836
Likes: 5 posts
Liked in: 64 posts
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
Info

by klausesser » Tue Aug 28, 2012 12:57 pm

Hellkeeper wrote:alright - those settings are not existant in gigapan importer :)

As i learned the Gigapan always use landscape-mode, does it? So no rotation should be needed.

What puzzles me is the messy positioning of already regularly positioned images. I guess this only can be caused by the optimizer.
So i suggest to skip optimization in the importer and fine-tuning the optimization in the editor.

best, Klaus
Last edited by klausesser on Tue Aug 28, 2012 12:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance. Coco Chanel

User avatar
Hellkeeper
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 249
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 1 post
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 10:32 pm
Location: Austria
Info

by Hellkeeper » Tue Aug 28, 2012 12:59 pm

yea - you always import landscape
detection without optimizer is running right now - will keep you up2date what happens! ;-)
Gigapixel Panos from Austria: gpix.at

User avatar
klausesser
Member
 
Posts: 8836
Likes: 5 posts
Liked in: 64 posts
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
Info

by klausesser » Tue Aug 28, 2012 1:02 pm

Hellkeeper wrote:alright - those settings are not existant in gigapan importer :)

But you checked ALL settings in the importer and set them properly? ;):cool:

best, Klaus
Simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance. Coco Chanel

User avatar
Hellkeeper
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 249
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 1 post
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 10:32 pm
Location: Austria
Info

by Hellkeeper » Tue Aug 28, 2012 1:09 pm

Gigapixel Panos from Austria: gpix.at

User avatar
klausesser
Member
 
Posts: 8836
Likes: 5 posts
Liked in: 64 posts
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
Info

by klausesser » Tue Aug 28, 2012 1:29 pm


And @imp3 you unchecked "360° Panorama", @ imp4 you checked "feste Verknüpfungen nutzen", @imp5 you checked "Optimierungen überspringen", i hope :P:cool:

best, Klaus
Simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance. Coco Chanel

Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

cron