Rendered image in Autopano Pro are a pixelated mess...  

Share your tips and tricks here or get help with any Autopano Pro / Giga problem!
No bug reports (of any kind) in this forum!
no avatar
mgerard
New member
 
Topic author
Posts: 1
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2011 10:43 pm
Info

Rendered image in Autopano Pro are a pixelated mess...

by mgerard » Mon Dec 26, 2011 11:06 pm

I'm running Autopano Pro 2.6 on a Windows 7 64 bit system with 8gb of RAM and a AMD Radeon HD 6770

My first panorama was a 54 image composite, and stitched and rendered beautifully at a size of 30x40in at 300dpi. This was 100% of the actual panoramic size.

My next panorama was a 270 image composite that stitched great in the preview, and when I rendered it looked great in the thumbnail but after viewing at actual pixels or even just 100% in photoshop, it was a blurry, pixelated mess. My rendering settings were set to 40x60in, 300DPI which should result in a highly detailed image. This was about 6% of the actual panoramic size.
Interpolator set to Bicubic (although I ran through every other mode as well with the same result)
Blending: anti-ghost
Format: Tried PSB, PSD, and TIFF (both zip and no compression)
8 bits
300 DPI

Any ideas as to why the result is such low resolution? I would just render at 100% in Autopano and resize in photoshop except that it's way too large to run without crashing my system (3000000x199987). I know I could probably resize the original images before stitching, but I'd prefer to work from the file I've already finished correcting, if possible.
Also, the final product for these will actually be 40x60 prints, so any tips on the best output for large format printing would definitely be appreciated :)

Thank you!

Michelle

User avatar
AlexandreJ
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 5987
Likes: 7 posts
Liked in: 10 posts
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 4:56 pm
Location: Francin, France
Info

by AlexandreJ » Tue Jan 03, 2012 3:31 pm

Hi, welcome to the forum.

I may have an explanation about this issue that you have.
Imagine that in your panorama, you have some wrong links that force the software to optimize wrongly some images ( wrong focal length, wrong distortion ).
With this wrong focal length, you could get an image with a 3000 mm focal for example.
Or we calculate our rendering size on the longest focal. So it explains the size you get in the rendering.
Moreover, as the maximum size is calculated wrong, the other image that are well stitched may be zoomed out because of the max size not beeing the right value.
It also explain the blur and pixelation.
So, clearly, look at the control point editor to find about the issue, optimize again and everything should be fine.
http://www.autopano.net/wiki-en/action/view/Advanced_use_of_control_points

User avatar
foto-chemnitz
Member
 
Posts: 22
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2009 6:33 pm
Location: Chemnitz - Germany
Info

by foto-chemnitz » Wed Jan 04, 2012 3:52 am

mgerard wrote:but after viewing at actual pixels or even just 100% in photoshop, it was a blurry, pixelated mess. My rendering settings were set to 40x60in, 300DPI which should result in a highly detailed image. This was about 6% of the actual panoramic size.
Michelle

Hello,
unfortunately I have similar results.
The rendered pictures are very pixelated/clipped (dont know the right english word).
The problem occours when the panorama is not rendered to 100 % of its original size.
I think its an interpolation failure.
When I find time, I can upload some sceenshots...

Greetings - Jan -

User avatar
foto-chemnitz
Member
 
Posts: 22
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2009 6:33 pm
Location: Chemnitz - Germany
Info

by foto-chemnitz » Wed Jan 04, 2012 3:12 pm

Today, I compared the result from 2.5 to 2.6
It was done with similar settings in both versions. The rendered pano has 92% of its original size.
Please see the 100% crops.
There are no smooth lines in the 2.6 result...

Can somebody verify the problem??





no avatar
hermer-blr
Member
 
Posts: 237
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 1:01 pm
Location: Near Paris - France
Info

by hermer-blr » Wed Jan 04, 2012 6:08 pm

You mention interpolator problem as a possible cause of your troubles.

Have you selected the best interpolator (Spline 64) in the rendering window ?
Nikon D5100 (formerly Nikon D60) - Sigma 10-20 - 24 shots Panoramas in 3 raws
Windows 32 bits - APG
website htt://jmh.trp.free.fr

User avatar
klausesser
Member
 
Posts: 8836
Likes: 5 posts
Liked in: 64 posts
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
Info

by klausesser » Wed Jan 04, 2012 7:24 pm

foto-chemnitz wrote:There are no smooth lines in the 2.6 result...

Can somebody verify the problem??

I can state that with renderings less than 100%.

best, Klaus
Simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance. Coco Chanel

User avatar
AlexandreJ
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 5987
Likes: 7 posts
Liked in: 10 posts
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 4:56 pm
Location: Francin, France
Info

by AlexandreJ » Thu Jan 05, 2012 9:03 am

So, this is about interpolation, you are right.

User avatar
AlexandreJ
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 5987
Likes: 7 posts
Liked in: 10 posts
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 4:56 pm
Location: Francin, France
Info

by AlexandreJ » Thu Jan 05, 2012 10:09 am

Bug found. It is not in the interpolation part, but caused by highspeed thumbnail in jpeg format.
See the following screenshot : same .pano project file, first in jpeg, second one in tiff ...
So, I guess I have to remove the high speed thumb in jpeg format because its quality is absolutely not reliable.



User avatar
klausesser
Member
 
Posts: 8836
Likes: 5 posts
Liked in: 64 posts
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
Info

by klausesser » Thu Jan 05, 2012 5:04 pm

AlexandreJ wrote:Bug found. It is not in the interpolation part, but caused by highspeed thumbnail in jpeg format.
See the following screenshot : same .pano project file, first in jpeg, second one in tiff ...
So, I guess I have to remove the high speed thumb in jpeg format because its quality is absolutely not reliable.

Hi Alexandre!

Remember: i have this issue in TIFF also, when i render less than 100%.

I showed it some time ago - can do it again.

best, Klaus
Simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance. Coco Chanel


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron