Page 2 of 2

PostPosted: Fri Aug 26, 2011 8:57 am
by mediavets
asafmordechai wrote:the head does not support the 60D that I have.

Why not?

the stitch in the car - the area of the plate and the roof and open door - way this is bad stitch ?

Parallax?

I was able to save the JPG at only 100MB and 29000X12388 so I can open that in photo-shop and work on the JPG before creating the tour

So is there any point in shooting at a much higher resolution?

PostPosted: Fri Aug 26, 2011 9:28 am
by asafmordechai
60D
This is what I was told from dr-clauss support.
and i get problems when i trying the get the lens in 200 precise because of the crop factor.

Parallax?
what do you mean ?

resolution
I using the small save sitting in the camera.

PostPosted: Fri Aug 26, 2011 11:08 am
by mediavets
asafmordechai wrote:60D
This is what I was told from dr-clauss support.
and i get problems when i trying the get the lens in 200 precise because of the crop factor.

I don't understand in what way the 60D is not supported. Presumably it can be phyiscally mounted on the head and I presume the 60D supports a wired remote so the shutter can be triggered by a cable from the Rodeon. What other sort of support is required?
Parallax?
what do you mean ?

The camera/lens is not set at the No Parallax Point and so you get parallax with subjects close to the camera?

resolution
I using the small save sitting in the camera.

So if your goal is to produce a JPEG for later post-processing why not instead shoot with a shorter focal length lens at a higher res. That way you could use a prime rather than a zoom lens perhaps.

By the way does your zoom suffer from zoom creep at higher positive and negative picth values?

PostPosted: Fri Aug 26, 2011 1:27 pm
by HansKeesom
Sounds to me the 60D works fine wit the Dr Claus electronicly but due to the different dimensions of the camera, the paralax errors are caused.
If asaf could lend a battery grip for the 60D, like the BG-E9 most of the problems will be gone


See
http://www.google.nl/search?aq=0&oq=60D+batt&sourceid=chrome&ie=UTF-8&q=60d+battery+grip#q=60d+battery+grip&hl=nl&prmd=ivns&source=univ&tbm=shop&tbo=u&sa=X&ei=0JBXTu3AGoKM-wb9ssiqDA&ved=0CCwQrQQ&bav=on.2,or.r_gc.r_pw.&fp=2535097ccc20c526&biw=1280&bih=961

PostPosted: Fri Aug 26, 2011 1:30 pm
by asafmordechai
60D
This is what I was told from dr-clauss support.
the RODEON preview dose not have a GRAB file for this camera so I cent get the tiles number to pot in the program ... i now stupid .. i have been told that it as the same perimeter as 7d so i will test it to be sure.

the RODEON preview don't export the info to txt file as the RODEON modular ... and i get CTD when trying to import to autopan from the RODEON preview program.
i will test again and try get screen video of that.

today I plan to use the 5D again but with more tiles.

The camera/lens is not set at the No Parallax Point and so you get parallax with subjects close to the camera?
what / were do I mark/use that ?

PostPosted: Fri Aug 26, 2011 4:42 pm
by asafmordechai
I am losing my mind - WHY ?!

A - look perfect
B - text file to the wizard
C - still look good
D - ????

using 5D, WB set to day light.
70-200 at 200mm.

using RODEON modular ...

PostPosted: Fri Aug 26, 2011 4:56 pm
by mediavets
The Clauss Rodeon VR Import Wizard does not seem to offer any specific user selectable option for handling exposure brcaketing - or is this infoin the text file?

Do you have a non-bracketed shoot image set that you can experiment with to see if that is handled any better?

PostPosted: Fri Aug 26, 2011 5:12 pm
by AlexandreJ
The D is probably due to an optimization that doesn't ended well. You have some images totally zoomed out over a bunch of well located images.

PostPosted: Fri Aug 26, 2011 7:57 pm
by asafmordechai
so what you think I should do ?
I have huge project next Friday ... i must have solution to this problem ...

in post #25 - i did the same test but :
"the test was taken whit Canon 5D and 70-200mm sigma lens at 140 mm.
and focus on AF in AI servo mode and WB set to auto.
Vertical 17 Horizontal 59 tiles 737 in total."

in this one :

using 5D, WB set to day light.
70-200 at 200mm.

Vertical 18 and horizontal 60 total of 790 tiles.

I will test again tomorrow with 60D and 105 mm lens so crop it will be 168.

I must solve it ...(i sent email to dr cluass but the will be back only Monday).

PostPosted: Sat Aug 27, 2011 12:03 am
by gkaefer
did you test render your pano (at 10-15% to safe time...)? is it looking same as the preview after detection?
Georg

PostPosted: Sat Aug 27, 2011 5:25 am
by asafmordechai
gkaefer - what do you mean ?

PostPosted: Sat Aug 27, 2011 7:25 am
by HansKeesom
I think he means

PostPosted: Sat Aug 27, 2011 9:25 am
by mediavets
asafmordechai wrote:so what you think I should do ?...
I have huge project next Friday ... i must have solution to this problem ...

If it was me I'd start by shooting with a shorter focal length lens and at lowest resolution setting on the camera so that each experimental shoot and stitch could be conducted much faster.

And then when I had established a successful workflow I'd start scaling up, focal length and then image resollution, in a series of steps.
................

Do you plan to shoot RAW for the 'huge project'?

PostPosted: Sat Aug 27, 2011 11:26 am
by asafmordechai
I will add a link to the panorama later - but it worked.

I so :D

i still have bad stitch in the horizon line.
and you can see the tile in the sky.

but it is progress.

what A dose ?

PostPosted: Sat Aug 27, 2011 12:48 pm
by mediavets
asafmordechai wrote:I will add a link to the panorama later - but it worked.

I so :D

What did you do differently this time?

PostPosted: Sat Aug 27, 2011 12:51 pm
by mediavets
asafmordechai wrote:and you can see the tile in the sky.

Vignetting?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vignetting

http://toothwalker.org/optics/vignetting.html

PostPosted: Sat Aug 27, 2011 1:39 pm
by asafmordechai
what was said by gkaefer and HansKeesom.

even do I don't now to explain what this do.

about the sky would the haze effect of autopano will help ? if so how can I use it ?

PostPosted: Sat Aug 27, 2011 2:23 pm
by mediavets
asafmordechai wrote:about the sky would the haze effect of autopano will help ?

It will not help if the issue is vignetting.

PostPosted: Sun Aug 28, 2011 9:06 am
by asafmordechai
Hello again
here is a link to a test in the same conditions of the project next week.
the test was taken at 16:00-16:30
with 5D in the real job I will use the 5D mark II.
lens sigma 70-200 at 200mm.
WB set to sun.
Vertically 18 on Horizontally 60 total 790 images.
project 100 MB tour 98MB.

problems that I need to solve :
1. the bad focus in the horizon (sky meet tress or house).
* will use with 5D mark II that as more focus point then the 5D will solve that ?
2. bad stitch in some area that as focus and don't have focus.
3. the tiles connection in the sky.
* any idea how to correct that ? even with photoshop?

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/3848750/buildafterdust/build/virtualtour.swf


Asaf

PostPosted: Sun Aug 28, 2011 9:33 am
by mediavets
asafmordechai wrote:Hello again
here is a link to a test in the same conditions of the project next week.
the test was taken at 16:00-16:30
with 5D in the real job I will use the 5D mark II.
lens sigma 70-200 at 200mm.
WB set to sun.

What sort of scene will you be shooting for this project?

Will you shoot RAW or JPEG?
Vertically 18 on Horizontally 60 total 790 images.

Are you shooting a regular grid of images - 18 rows of 60 images? 18x60 is 960 not 790.

When shooting sphericals it is normally better to reduce the number of images per row as you approach the zenith and nadir to avoid execessive overlapping. Perhaps the Rodeon has a special mode to do that and that explains the difference between 960 and 790?

problems that I need to solve :
1. the bad focus in the horizon (sky meet tress or house).
* will use with 5D mark II that as more focus point then the 5D will solve that ?
2. bad stitch in some area that as focus and don't have focus.

I think you will have to use manual focus and not autofocus.
3. the tiles connection in the sky.
* any idea how to correct that ?

Preprocess - before stitching - to remove vignetting?
.............

Is your computer capable of handling a pano of 790 images shot with a 5DMk2

PostPosted: Sun Aug 28, 2011 10:01 am
by asafmordechai
What sort of scene will you be shooting for this project?
* crowed of football mach - this way it need to be fast ... in 90-100min of game i can make 2-3 panorama that takes 35 min - so I can be on the safe side.

Will you shoot RAW or JPEG?
* jpg small 1.5-3MB - I need to panorama to be on the web in 24-36Hrs.

Rodeon has a special mode - correct.

I think you will have to use manual focus and not autofocus.
* i have no time to mess with the manual focus.
the game will be over and it is not ease with the Rodeon head.
* i will test doing that strip only and replace with the bad images in the panorama.

sky - Preprocess - before stitching - to remove vignetting?
* i will do a test without the lens hood.

*** how can i solve the bad stitch next to the plate of the car ?
in the real job I will have a concrete wall just beyond me.

*** I am going to take 7D and better 70-200mm lens to see if I will get better results.
a test will be done to day.

PostPosted: Sun Aug 28, 2011 11:46 am
by mediavets
There are many things that puzzle me about your project.

Here are just a few:

1. Why shoot at 200mm and small JPEG rather than shooting at max. sensor resolution with a shorter focal length which would enable you to shoot faster and would mean you'd have fewer images to process and the setup would be less susceptible to wind and so on.

2. Do you have some target resolution for the stitched equirectangular pano image? Is so what size if that?

3. Why when you plan to use a Canon 5DMkII to shoot this project are you doing test shoots using a different camera?

4. Have you any previous experience of shooting and processing this sort of pano with your current equipment? What happens if you fail to get a decent pano out of this project?

PostPosted: Sun Aug 28, 2011 12:23 pm
by asafmordechai
1. I am thinking that 200mm will allow me to have bigger zoom range inside the panorama.
but I will try what you suggesting.
2. no
3. I don't have 5D mark II ... I plan to rent it for the project.
2ed option is use 7D that i took from a friend and i will have it for the enter week.

I bought the 5D 3 day before the arrival of the 5D mark II ...:|
So i got last year the 60D as transition camera until canon will get something new.

4. yes, http://www.photo-man.co.il/ ... but never something that big with 360 on 180 degrees.
http://asafm.metacode.co.il/jerosalem/jerosalem%20open.swf
http://asafm.metacode.co.il/game/game%202.swf


What happens if you fail to get a decent pano out of this project?

I wont get paid ... :(

*** this project is a with a lot of faith ...

PostPosted: Sun Aug 28, 2011 1:11 pm
by mediavets
asafmordechai wrote:1. I am thinking that 200mm will allow me to have bigger zoom range inside the panorama.
but I will try what you suggesting.

The 'zoom range' within the panorama depends solely on the resolution (and to an extent the image quality) of the equirectangular stitched image.

A higher res. sensor plus shorter focal length can produce the same resolution pano image as a smaller image res. and a longer focal length.

But I think it would generally be agreed that its always easier to shoot at the shortest focal length that is necessary to achieve the final pano image resolution you seek, processing is easier too.

2. no

Hmmmmmmmmmm......then perhaps that's something you can determine from your pre-shoot testing.
3. I don't have 5D mark II ... I plan to rent it for the project.
2ed option is use 7D that i took from a friend and i will have it for the enter week.

I bought the 5D 3 day before the arrival of the 5D mark II ...:|
So i got last year the 60D as transition camera until canon will get something new.

I think if it was me facing so many novel challenges I would stick with the camera I was familiar with rather than introduce another variable.


Do you need a 360x180 panoFOV for this project?


If I fail to get a decent pano I wont get paid ... :(

Yet another reason not to shell out a rental fee for the 5DMkII?

*** this project is a with a lot of faith ...

Hmmmm.........good luck. I think you have chosen a very challenging prjoect.

Do as much testing as you can at the venue before the shoot with the equipment you will be using on the day, preferably at the same time of day as you will be shooting.