How to create a pano with no tripod in it...  

Share your tips and tricks here or get help with any Autopano Pro / Giga problem!
No bug reports (of any kind) in this forum!
no avatar
Rogierbos
New member
 
Topic author
Posts: 2
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2011 11:01 am
Info

How to create a pano with no tripod in it...

by Rogierbos » Thu Feb 03, 2011 11:10 am

Hi,

Excuse my newbie question, but how do I create a panorama where I see the ground without my tripod and panoramic head? I understand I need to create an image called a nadir - but I don't know how to do this.

Since I shoot in RAW, am I to edit the shot of the floor in Photoshop, clone out the tripod, save as jpg, and then import this with the other RAW files?

I see in some forums that certain programs allow for the exporting of 6 images (faces of a cube). In this situation you can edit the bottom face image - and then import the 6 images to make a 360degree pan again. Can this be done in APG - and if so, how?

I think this is a pretty basic question and fear that someone will flame me for not looking for the info myself. However, I have looked everywhere in the FAQ and the forums and I can't find it.

Your help is greatly appreciated.;)

Rogier
Rotterdam, the netherlands

no avatar
Rogierbos
New member
 
Topic author
Posts: 2
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2011 11:01 am
Info

by Rogierbos » Mon Feb 07, 2011 11:39 am

Can I please get a response on this?
Perhaps my question was unclear?

no avatar
digipano
Member
 
Posts: 582
Likes: 1 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2008 9:07 am
Info

by digipano » Mon Feb 07, 2011 11:55 am

With raw there is no way you can do it but reading this post should help
http://www.autopano.net/forum/t6821-editing-nadir-shots-without-photoshop
Last edited by digipano on Mon Feb 07, 2011 11:56 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
gkaefer
Member
 
Posts: 3549
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 15 posts
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 1:01 pm
Location: Salzburg
Info

by gkaefer » Mon Feb 07, 2011 12:12 pm

Rogierbos wrote:Hi,

Excuse my newbie question, but how do I create a panorama where I see the ground without my tripod and panoramic head? I understand I need to create an image called a nadir - but I don't know how to do this.

Since I shoot in RAW, am I to edit the shot of the floor in Photoshop, clone out the tripod, save as jpg, and then import this with the other RAW files?

I see in some forums that certain programs allow for the exporting of 6 images (faces of a cube). In this situation you can edit the bottom face image - and then import the 6 images to make a 360degree pan again. Can this be done in APG - and if so, how?

I think this is a pretty basic question and fear that someone will flame me for not looking for the info myself. However, I have looked everywhere in the FAQ and the forums and I can't find it.

Your help is greatly appreciated.;)

Rogier
Rotterdam, the netherlands

Hi Rogier,

the cube face export - then manually externally edit it and - reimport can be donw with PTP 1.5
it also can be done with krpanos krpanotools (ktransform)
http://www.krpano.com/tools/index.php?lang=en

manuals how to edit nadir can be found several on internet, some googles with different approaches:
http://www.rosaurophotography.com/html/PS4.html
http://www.panoramas.dk/panorama/nadir/
http://neunzehn72.de/ptgui-viewpoint-tutorial-nadirbild-in-panorama-perfekt-einsetzen/
http://www.autopano.net/forum/p76046-2011-01-30-02-44-20#p76046

about raw, jpgs etc. raws are internally converted to tiffs by APG, so finally it makes no sense (quality speed, memory resources) to work with raws (specially if working with many images, > 100 images).
convert your raws with your RAW converter of your choice (canon, nikon etc have there own converter) these can create better result.
so using tiffs for quality or jpgs for speed or result is for webpanos...

Liebe Gruesse,
Georg
Last edited by gkaefer on Mon Feb 07, 2011 12:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.

no avatar
hankkarl
Member
 
Posts: 1284
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 5:32 pm
Location: Connecticut, USA
Info

by hankkarl » Tue Feb 08, 2011 4:22 pm

Rogierbos wrote:Can I please get a response on this?
Perhaps my question was unclear?

did you try searching the forum? http://www.autopano.net/forum/search.php?search_id=882066510

or Googling? http://www.google.com/search?source=ig&hl=en&rlz=&=&q=panorama+remove+tripod&btnG=Google+Search&aq=f&oq=
http://www.google.com/search?source=ig&hl=en&rlz=&=&q=panorama+patch+nadir&btnG=Google+Search&aq=f&oq=

We want to help, but you have to take some responsibility to learn.

User avatar
Adam
Member
 
Posts: 227
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 11:12 pm
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Info

by Adam » Tue Feb 08, 2011 7:03 pm

Some link are not working
interested in panorama photography

no avatar
hankkarl
Member
 
Posts: 1284
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 5:32 pm
Location: Connecticut, USA
Info

by hankkarl » Wed Feb 09, 2011 7:54 pm

Adam wrote:Some link are not working

Sorry about that. For the link that doesn't work, you have to go to this forum's search page and search for "Nadir patch" or similar. This forum doesn't seem to give a permalink for it.

no avatar
HansKeesom
Member
 
Posts: 2210
Likes: 1 post
Liked in: 2 posts
Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2010 8:53 pm
Info

by HansKeesom » Fri Feb 25, 2011 2:17 am

Hi Rogier,

This is what I do, I shoot with a 10 mm and 60 degrees rotation. 6 photos 50 degrees up, and 6 photos 15 degrees down. These first 12 have no tripod in it.

I then slide the tripod over the floor about 1 meter in the direction of one of the legs. I extend this leg a bit so it just not tips over. Holding ol three legs on the floor I make the last photo. Works very well on a sunny day but you have to move 90 degrees to the sunrays.

At my computer I convert these RAW photos to tiff using rawtherapee. This programm does demosaicing and correct the CA problems of my lens.

The tiff are important into autopano giga and they stich perfectly. photo nr 13 closes the black hole at the nadir but it's pixels only show where the other 12 photos are not. Almost always give me perfect result.
Regards, Hans Keesom
I stitch and render for other photographers. Price: 25 euro or less, no cure no pay. If you want to concentrate on your business let me do the stitching for you. Free TB of Dropbox space when you have more then 250 euro business a year.

no avatar
HansKeesom
Member
 
Posts: 2210
Likes: 1 post
Liked in: 2 posts
Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2010 8:53 pm
Info

by HansKeesom » Sat Feb 26, 2011 12:25 am

By using 60 degrees on a 10 mm with a 1.6 camera in portrait mode, shooting 50 degrees up and 15 degrees down, you get a lot of overlap.

Most pixels in the panorama are covered by two or even more shots. This works great to blend out any ghosts. In the +50 degree rows I often leave out every other photo, using only three. Which depends on how things are doing in the lower row. Sometimes I have to misuse one of the pictures in the lower row to fill in the nadir hole, in case the nadir shot is unusable. I then let one of the photos in the lower shot glide down, just enough to fill the whole. Not the nices thing to do but it is often better then leaving the hole in.
Regards, Hans Keesom
I stitch and render for other photographers. Price: 25 euro or less, no cure no pay. If you want to concentrate on your business let me do the stitching for you. Free TB of Dropbox space when you have more then 250 euro business a year.


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests