APG 2.0.9 Win7x64] Viewpoint adjustment crash  

This forum is dedicated to Autopano Pro / Giga bug reports and features discussion.
Please read the posting rules before starting a topic!
no avatar
RPMcCormick
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 16
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sun Aug 29, 2010 3:34 pm
Info

APG 2.0.9 Win7x64] Viewpoint adjustment crash

by RPMcCormick » Sun Aug 29, 2010 3:50 pm

Troubleshooting a larger gigapan by attempting to stitch four images (2 rows x 2 columns) following these steps:

Launch AUtopano Giga 64bits v2.0.9
File - Import
Click: Gigapan
Click: Next
Options Tab
Choose: Rows
General Tab
Click: ...
Select files: 0092 0093 0110 0111
Click: Open
Click: Finish
Keypoint matching ...
group on the right hand side opens ...
viewpoint adjustment - about 50% through
Program crashes

Reproducible - each time uploaded a bugsplat.

Uploaded APG-crash-2010-08-29.zip to the FTP site.

Bob McCormick

no avatar
RPMcCormick
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 16
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sun Aug 29, 2010 3:34 pm
Info

by RPMcCormick » Sun Aug 29, 2010 3:54 pm

Additional info:
Attempting to build the gigapan panorama for the attached image. The four images used to create the crash are those comprising the top of teh tower in the right centre of the shoot. I think there is not much overlap in these images due to a glitch that probably happened when the tripod was moved 10 or so metres - likely something got bumped and I only find out now that I attempt to stitch the images.



no avatar
RPMcCormick
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 16
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sun Aug 29, 2010 3:34 pm
Info

by RPMcCormick » Sun Aug 29, 2010 4:02 pm

Utilised GigaPan Stitch 1.0.0805 to combine the four images - didn't do a great job - attached images show results and notes from the stitcher





no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 16415
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 130 posts
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
Info

by mediavets » Sun Aug 29, 2010 6:30 pm

Did you try stitching the images without using the Gigapan import filter/wizard?
Andrew Stephens
Many different Nodal Ninja and Agnos pano heads. Merlin/Panogear mount with Papywizard on Nokia Internet tablets.
Nikon D5100 and D40, Sigma 8mm f3.5 FE, Nikon 10.5mm FE, 35mm, 50mm, 18-55mm, 70-210mm. Promote control.

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 16415
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 130 posts
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
Info

by mediavets » Sun Aug 29, 2010 6:31 pm

RPMcCormick wrote:there is not much overlap in these images due to a glitch that probably happened when the tripod was moved 10 or so metres - likely something got bumped and I only find out now that I attempt to stitch the images.

Why would you move the tripod in the middle of a pano shoot ?
Andrew Stephens
Many different Nodal Ninja and Agnos pano heads. Merlin/Panogear mount with Papywizard on Nokia Internet tablets.
Nikon D5100 and D40, Sigma 8mm f3.5 FE, Nikon 10.5mm FE, 35mm, 50mm, 18-55mm, 70-210mm. Promote control.

no avatar
RPMcCormick
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 16
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sun Aug 29, 2010 3:34 pm
Info

by RPMcCormick » Sun Aug 29, 2010 8:35 pm

mediavets wrote:Why would you move the tripod in the middle of a pano shoot ?

Sorry for the confusion - not in the middle of the shoot. Had setup to take the shoot but one of the other folks with me pointed out it was possible to get in a better location - so the camera was removed from the Gigapan robot and we lugged the gear to a new location. In doing so I think the field of view setting on the robot didn't match the focal length the images were shot at. My best guess is there's sufficient overlap in the images to make columns but possibly not to make rows. Oops :rolleyes:

no avatar
RPMcCormick
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 16
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sun Aug 29, 2010 3:34 pm
Info

by RPMcCormick » Sun Aug 29, 2010 8:38 pm

mediavets wrote:Did you try stitching the images without using the Gigapan import filter/wizard?

I think I imported all 144 images into a single group and the result was every image was linked to every other image?



no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 16415
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 130 posts
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
Info

by mediavets » Sun Aug 29, 2010 10:26 pm

RPMcCormick wrote:
mediavets wrote:Did you try stitching the images without using the Gigapan import filter/wizard?

I think I imported all 144 images into a single group and the result was every image was linked to every other image?

Err.. I meant just the four images that you were talking about trying to stitch.
Andrew Stephens
Many different Nodal Ninja and Agnos pano heads. Merlin/Panogear mount with Papywizard on Nokia Internet tablets.
Nikon D5100 and D40, Sigma 8mm f3.5 FE, Nikon 10.5mm FE, 35mm, 50mm, 18-55mm, 70-210mm. Promote control.

User avatar
AlexandreJ
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 5988
Likes: 7 posts
Liked in: 10 posts
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 4:56 pm
Location: Francin, France
Info

by AlexandreJ » Mon Aug 30, 2010 12:00 pm

That's issue 53 : Handling small gigapan or single row/column gigapan. It's not supported yet.

no avatar
RPMcCormick
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 16
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sun Aug 29, 2010 3:34 pm
Info

by RPMcCormick » Sun Sep 12, 2010 9:51 pm

AlexandreJ wrote:That's issue 53 : Handling small gigapan or single row/column gigapan. It's not supported yet.

(sorry about the delay in my reply)

Thanks for the feedback. The initial problem was that I couldn't get this panorama to stitch. There appears to be sufficient overlap on the x-axis but maybe not on the y-axis? (the left/right hand sides of the images). So I was trying to stitch two adjacent images on a row ...

I'll have to look at this more clearly in Photoshop or something to see why the project doesn't work right (again noting that some parameter was likely changed whilst moving shot locations).

no avatar
RPMcCormick
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 16
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sun Aug 29, 2010 3:34 pm
Info

by RPMcCormick » Mon Sep 13, 2010 1:42 am

AlexandreJ wrote:That's issue 53 : Handling small gigapan or single row/column gigapan. It's not supported yet.

Just looking back over some of my notes and folders on my system - crashing the program was caused by a 2 x 2 image project (where I was trying to tell if there was sufficient overlap with the images). I believe I uploaded all info to the FTP site. Thanks!


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests