Page 1 of 1

[APP 2.0.1 WinXP noGPU] out of memory error

PostPosted: Wed May 20, 2009 5:12 pm
by hankkarl
Got a Critical Error from APP

Preview Error
Not enough memory
File: *.\\KImage.cpp" Line:111

60 12MP jpgs.

Commit Charge 2805M / 15836M

Free space
C: 39G
D: 145G (Image source files)
F: 140G (APP temp folder)

PostPosted: Thu May 21, 2009 8:41 am
by AlexandreJ
I suppose you are using win XP 64 bits, as well as APP 64 bits ?

PostPosted: Thu May 21, 2009 5:54 pm
by hankkarl
Don't I wish!

WinXP 32bits. APP 32bits.

Lots of RAM (for a 32 bit system). Lots of disk. Not much processor. :(

PostPosted: Fri May 22, 2009 9:48 am
by AlexandreJ
Hum. On the 32 bits version, we limit the possible use of APP to 2 gigas. You cannot access more than that from a single application in fact.
So really reduce the cache size to 100 MB at most. Not more. If you have 8 or 16 cores, put 2 or 4, but not more even if you have them. Cores are also using a lot memory.

PostPosted: Fri May 22, 2009 12:01 pm
by bluestar
That raises a question: What exactly is the cache you can set in APP/APG used for? It does not seem to be the maximum amount of RAM used by APP. What happens (benefit/disadwantage) if you set the cache higher?

I think didn't understand the handling of the cache.

Achim

PostPosted: Fri May 22, 2009 12:13 pm
by [bo]
I don't think any user really understand the Cache setting, as it has not been thoroughly explained. What I know is that is it used only during rendering, but don't know in which part of it and does it apply if you use Smartblend...

PostPosted: Fri May 22, 2009 3:04 pm
by hankkarl
Reducing the memory worked. Is it just me, or does anyone else remember the cache setting being less than 256K?