Bad links in gigapans  

This forum is dedicated to Autopano Pro / Giga bug reports and features discussion.
Please read the posting rules before starting a topic!
User avatar
Aeriscera
Member
 
Posts: 513
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2008 10:49 pm
Location: Bath, UK

Bad links in gigapans

by Aeriscera » Sun May 10, 2009 4:49 pm

Hello Everyone,

When I have imported a gigapan and look at the results in the control point editor, I often see many "bad" links that only have one control point in them. Usually the control points are in the right place so the link is not bad per se. Is it the case that the algorithm for computing an RMS is inappropriate when there is only one pair of control points or is the RMS still meaningful?

Under the assumption that the RMS is not meaningful, could you devise some way of filtering out these links so that it is easier to see where the real bad links are? Eg a checkbox next to the "Hide links below ..." that hides all links made from one pair of control points.

Aeris

User avatar
DrSlony
Moderator
 
Posts: 1877
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 6:30 pm
Location: Sweden

by DrSlony » Sun May 10, 2009 4:52 pm

Could you provide screenshots please?

User avatar
Aeriscera
Member
 
Posts: 513
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2008 10:49 pm
Location: Bath, UK

by Aeriscera » Mon May 11, 2009 4:07 am

Here you go. This is the result of importing a gigapan with no edits.

A


Last edited by Aeriscera on Mon May 11, 2009 4:09 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
AlexandreJ
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 5920
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 4:56 pm
Location: Francin, France

by AlexandreJ » Mon May 11, 2009 10:57 am

It needs some explaination. You can see that all links have just one Cp.
We used that trick to add artificially some cps on orphan images. So when optimizing the gigapan, these false links are following the images that have real links.
But these links are just here for that trick, they doesn't really count for the optimization ( 1 Cp versus 50 cps in average ), there are 50x weaker than true links.
So it's a trick, but in practice it works pretty well even if it tends to pollute the link editor.

User avatar
Aeriscera
Member
 
Posts: 513
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2008 10:49 pm
Location: Bath, UK

by Aeriscera » Mon May 11, 2009 11:28 am

Thanks Alexandre. Would it be possible to have some way of hiding these false links? Like a checkbox as I suggested? They get in the way of the task of finding the real bad links, and in a gigapan with several hundred images, this is a problem.

Aeris

User avatar
AlexandreJ
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 5920
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 4:56 pm
Location: Francin, France

by AlexandreJ » Mon May 11, 2009 1:12 pm

Yes. Good idea. I had another one in fact. Never display them at all ...

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 14285
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.

by mediavets » Mon May 11, 2009 1:21 pm

AlexandreJ wrote:Yes. Good idea. I had another one in fact. Never display them at all ...

But then people will be tempted to try and place new CPs to create links where none appear to exist?

How about having/adding a new colour for such links and having a way for a user to choose not to diplay them?
Andrew Stephens
Many different Nodal Ninja and Agnos pano heads. Merlin/Panogear mount with Papywizard on Nokia Internet tablets.
Nikon D5100 and D40, Sigma 8mm f3.5 FE, Nikon 10.5mm FE, 35mm, 50mm, 18-55mm, 70-210mm. Promote control.


Return to Autopano bug & discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest