Page 4 of 4

Re: APG 2 GPU configuration advice

PostPosted: Tue Sep 30, 2014 3:18 pm
by gkaefer
I know kolor does have some preferences for amd driven Cards, but honestly, in General they're too hot and use to much power for my taste...
the upcoming Nvidia Geforce GTX 980 will fit more into my pockets: cool (fanless if BD film watching), 50% less power consumption to many other Cards (165Watts), 4K Monitors capable currently with 4GB and according rumors with 8GB Memory coming in November. and with 550€ around 45% cheaper as a Titan...
(future proof with directX 12 - Titan sticks on directX11)
Georg

Re: APG 2 GPU configuration advice

PostPosted: Tue Sep 30, 2014 7:02 pm
by HansKeesom
gkaefer wrote:I know kolor does have some preferences for amd driven Cards, but honestly, in General they're too hot and use to much power for my taste...
the upcoming Nvidia Geforce GTX 980 will fit more into my pockets: cool (fanless if BD film watching), 50% less power consumption to many other Cards (165Watts), 4K Monitors capable currently with 4GB and according rumors with 8GB Memory coming in November. and with 550€ around 45% cheaper as a Titan...
(future proof with directX 12 - Titan sticks on directX11)
Georg


http://blogs.nvidia.com/blog/2014/03/20/directx-12/
"NVIDIA will support the DX12 API on all the DX11-class GPUs it has shipped; these belong to the Fermi, Kepler and Maxwell architectural families"

Would that include my Titan?

Still the main question is whether APG will use Directx-12 to it's fullest potentiall?

Re: APG 2 GPU configuration advice

PostPosted: Sun Oct 05, 2014 4:26 pm
by gkaefer
=D Update for APG 3.7.0 RC1
Alexandre stated in first post of this thread that APG 2 request "Minimal number of texture unit : 2".

did run apg 3.7.0 RC1 recently wthout gpu Card and using the "Setting reset to Default" Option I got the info that now 4 are needed as Minimum
=D
Georg

Re: APG 2 GPU configuration advice

PostPosted: Sun Oct 05, 2014 4:36 pm
by HansKeesom
gkaefer wrote:=D Update for APG 3.7.0 RC1
Alexandre stated in first post of this thread that APG 2 request "Minimal number of texture unit : 2".

did run apg 3.7.0 RC1 recently wthout gpu Card and using the "Setting reset to Default" Option I got the info that now 4 are needed as Minimum
=D
Georg

I think I am safe then
OGL Version: 4.4.0
Render: GeForce GTX TITAN/PCIe/SSE2
Vendor: NVIDIA Corporation
Shader Version: 4.40 NVIDIA via Cg compiler
MaxTextureSize: 16384
MaxTextureUnits: 4
MaxColorAttachement: 8
MaxRenderBufferSize: 16384