Page 1 of 1

GPU utilisation in APG

PostPosted: Sun Feb 19, 2017 7:21 am
by mattspace
Hi,

So, I have 12 physical 3ghz Xeon cores, 48GB of RAM, but a GPU that's only one level above that bird in the Flintstones that lives in a camera and chisels an image on stone when you press the button. What can I do to improve the performance of APG from a user interaction perspective?

Does APG actually make any use of a GPU for workspace / UI responsiveness, and what would you look for in a card (on a Mac) - CUDA support with Nvidea, AMD Open GL/CL or Metal etc? How much VRAM etc?

cheers.

Re: GPU utilisation in APG  [SOLVED]

PostPosted: Mon Feb 20, 2017 12:34 pm
by olivierbo
Hello,

APG uses CPU most of the time except when you load a panorama by opening a project file or when you use the editor. The GPU is used to speed up the preview when you make changes.
APG uses OpenGL only.
We recommend a dedicated GPU with 2Gb as a minimum. 4Gb sounds good.
That said, we are still working to improve general performances.

Hope this helps.

Best regards,
Olivier

Re: GPU utilisation in APG

PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2017 1:40 am
by mattspace
olivierbo wrote:APG uses OpenGL only.
We recommend a dedicated GPU with 2Gb as a minimum. 4Gb sounds good.


Fantastic - just what I was looking for, thanks.

olivierbo wrote:That said, we are still working to improve general performances.


Any update on getting the RAW decoder to process multiple files in parallel?

Cheers,

Re: GPU utilisation in APG

PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2017 8:25 am
by olivierbo
Hi Matt,

Just as a reminder, Autopano is stiching software, not RAW decoding software, so Autopano will only decode the RAW files with the very default values, defeating the whole purpose of RAW shooting. To sum up, this is not recommended.
It is best to treat your RAWs in dedicated software beforehand. Prefer shooting in JPG or TIFF if you do not want to treat the RAW photos. RAW processing needs a dedicated RAW processor as RAW formats evolve over time depending on brands and camera models. This is not the purpose of Autopano.
As I said, we work to increase our software performances by testing different technologies.

Cheers,
Olivier