Page 1 of 1

Atome Head and Fisheye Stitching Issue

PostPosted: Tue May 24, 2016 8:39 am
by vaccinemedia
Hi. I was wondering if anyone could help me with a common problem. I've recently purchased an Atome rotating head as recommended by Google for Street View virtual tours. On a recent job I made sure the tripod and the head was level using the bubble level meter and was careful when rotating the camera for each of the 4 shots. However, the floor in the location is tiled and is highlighting stitching errors. Is there a way of Auto Pano Giga correcting these issues? I've attached a sample and the source files can be found here: http://www.vaccinemedia.com/Tour_022.zip

Re: Atome Head and Fisheye Stitching Issue

PostPosted: Tue May 24, 2016 8:54 am
by vaccinemedia
I've just downloaded a trial of PTGUI and the auto stitch doesn't have any issues see attachment

Re: Atome Head and Fisheye Stitching Issue

PostPosted: Tue May 24, 2016 2:22 pm
by ERR
It isn't your setup (lens, head, level...) It's a "bug". I am a GTP and have experienced this issue many times with older versions of APG. I've used several pano heads and lenses with the same issue. In fact as I write this I have a similar ceiling up on my screen but it's stitching fine. Make sure you are using the latest version.

Re: Atome Head and Fisheye Stitching Issue

PostPosted: Tue May 24, 2016 4:56 pm
by vaccinemedia
I'm afraid I am (I always update when the updates appear on startup)

Re: Atome Head and Fisheye Stitching Issue

PostPosted: Tue May 24, 2016 4:56 pm
by vaccinemedia
I'm afraid I am (I always update when the updates appear on startup)

Re: Atome Head and Fisheye Stitching Issue

PostPosted: Tue May 24, 2016 6:58 pm
by ERR
You know what? After I posted the same thing happened to me (on a different pano) with the same type of ceiling. It's not too bad. Have you tried masking? That usually makes it a little bit better.

Re: Atome Head and Fisheye Stitching Issue

PostPosted: Tue May 24, 2016 7:02 pm
by vaccinemedia
I haven't tried masking but it's the floor I'm more worried about. I'll see if anyone else can steer me in the right direction but I may sadly have to give PTGUI a go yet....

Re: Atome Head and Fisheye Stitching Issue

PostPosted: Tue May 24, 2016 7:05 pm
by ERR
I'm opening the Raw files now so give me a sec> It takes a while to open. I can't tell yet but is the nadir included?

Re: Atome Head and Fisheye Stitching Issue

PostPosted: Tue May 24, 2016 7:07 pm
by vaccinemedia
It's not - it's simply 4x90 degrees bracketed at +2 0 -2 on the Atome by 360 precision which has a 7.5 degree upward tilt as the tripod is pinched on Google Maps anyway

Re: Atome Head and Fisheye Stitching Issue

PostPosted: Tue May 24, 2016 7:36 pm
by ERR
Yup, I'm having the same issues with the tile floor. It looks like there was just a slight shift between spins but that's actually an APG bug. I stitched this together using only 4 images and it improved it almost 100% save for a few spots. Please file a case with Kolor and send them the files because that is not acceptable especially when another app will do it perfect the first time.

Frustrating I know :/

Sorry I couldn't be more help.

Good Luck & Peace

Re: Atome Head and Fisheye Stitching Issue

PostPosted: Wed May 25, 2016 1:01 pm
by olivierbo
Hello,

I do not have such issue with the default setings (APG 4.2.3), except at the nadir once rendered and displayed in Kolor Eyes Desktop app. Did you get the same result?

Kind regards,
Olivier

Re: Atome Head and Fisheye Stitching Issue

PostPosted: Wed May 25, 2016 1:16 pm
by vaccinemedia
I've just downloaded APG 4.2.3 at the office and went through without changing any settings whatsoever and got the following result:

Re: Atome Head and Fisheye Stitching Issue

PostPosted: Wed May 25, 2016 1:34 pm
by olivierbo
Hello,

Do you have the problem when clicking the preview icon? Do you have any special configuration in the preferences that could apply to all the panoramas for instance?
Check your image properties as well...

Re: Atome Head and Fisheye Stitching Issue

PostPosted: Wed May 25, 2016 1:41 pm
by vaccinemedia
Hmmmm I have the same image settings as you. I have attached my group settings here also. I am not using any of the plugins available e.g. external stack processing. Is that where I could be going wrong?

Re: Atome Head and Fisheye Stitching Issue

PostPosted: Wed May 25, 2016 2:12 pm
by olivierbo
Same settings on my side! I used Multiband blending and Smart cutting as well and nothing else.
Unstack your bracketed pict and try.Can you also try without Fast editor option and if it still doesn't work, disable the GPU as well?
Maybe on another computer to try to obtains more clues...
Which version of OSX are you using exactly?

Thanks in advance.
Olivier

Re: Atome Head and Fisheye Stitching Issue

PostPosted: Wed May 25, 2016 3:19 pm
by ERR
That's strange because I had the same settings as you both. Now I'm curious as to what settings oliverbo has that we don't. Make sure you post a "solution" when you find it. I want to make sure I write that down ;)

Re: Atome Head and Fisheye Stitching Issue

PostPosted: Wed May 25, 2016 3:33 pm
by vaccinemedia
Just tried with fast editor and gnu turned off with multi band and smart and this is the preview window:
Screen Shot 2016-05-25 at 15.32.40.png

I'm on OSX 10.11.5

Re: Atome Head and Fisheye Stitching Issue

PostPosted: Wed May 25, 2016 3:35 pm
by vaccinemedia
I should mention that the FOV is coming out as 360x180 where it should be more like 360x173 as the Atome head has a 7 degree upward tilt and therefore the bottom 7 degrees should be missing

Re: Atome Head and Fisheye Stitching Issue

PostPosted: Thu May 26, 2016 12:21 pm
by olivierbo
Hello,

I cannot reproduce the issue, whatever the system used (OSX, Windows or Linux).
Be sure you haven't changed anything in the general settings (Autoapano Giga menu/Preferences)

Kind regards,
Olivier

Re: Atome Head and Fisheye Stitching Issue

PostPosted: Sun May 29, 2016 4:00 pm
by Christian Stüben
Hi,
it is NOT your setup. With a Nodal ninja Ult R10 / Canon 8-15, 5dm2, same problem. APG cannot stitch them, always big stitching errors at the floor or ceiling or both. And whatever i do, using APG cannot solve the errors. OSX and Win same bad results.

That´s why i use ptgui for this setup.

@kolor ... pleaaase try to solve this problem.

greetings from germany
Chris

Re: Atome Head and Fisheye Stitching Issue

PostPosted: Sun May 29, 2016 4:53 pm
by ERR
Time to check out PTIGUI (reluctantly). I agree with Kolor fixing this issue ASAP. It's always existed in all the versions I have used.

Re: Atome Head and Fisheye Stitching Issue

PostPosted: Mon May 30, 2016 1:32 pm
by olivierbo
Hello,

I can stitch vaccinemedia's footages without any problem, so can you give me your footages so that I can make a try?

Cheers,
Olivier