Image-stitching and virtual tour solutions My account Updates
It is currently Thu Oct 30, 2014 5:48 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Dec 07, 2013 12:17 pm 
Offline
New member

Joined: Sat Dec 07, 2013 11:50 am
Posts: 7
Autopano sometimes overexposure some parts of pano.
Usually it's bright parts. Usually the sky. Affects only when making pano from raw files.

Pano from raw files, you can see overexposure sky:
Image

How raw file looks in original:
Image

Image

1. From edited raws Autopano making Jpegs :(
2. From raw files you can see overexposure sky.
3. Jpeg without corrections looks good.

Attention! I can do anything with pano when it is already done (color anchors, levels, gamma) because the color of overexposure part is completely white!


I tried Autopano 2.64, 3.0.7, 3.08.
Both x32 and x64 versions.
Tried to set different params of raw decoding and other settings. Tried it on default settings. Tried to delete application, clear all settings, register and setup it again.
Also tried to disable gpu.

Windows 8 x64.

My friend stitch the same pano on his machine and it looks good.
What I'm doing wrong? Why autopano overexposure some parts on raw? Has anybody the same issue?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 07, 2013 12:30 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 11:55 pm
Posts: 4913
Location: Australia
Hi.. Did you set your camera to Auto White Balance?...

Destiny..


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 07, 2013 12:36 pm 
Offline
New member

Joined: Sat Dec 07, 2013 11:50 am
Posts: 7
Destiny wrote:
Hi.. Did you set your camera to Auto White Balance?...

Destiny..


No, all photos in pano was made with the same WB (WB was set to Cloudy in camera).

In Edit -> Settings -> Images -> Raw Decoding (3.0.8) I tried to set "Camera white balance" and "Automatic WB", it doesn't helped.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 07, 2013 12:39 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 11:55 pm
Posts: 4913
Location: Australia
Are you able to zip a set of RAW images and web transfer them... https://www.wetransfer.com/#

dps@westest.com.au

Destiny...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 07, 2013 12:56 pm 
Offline
New member

Joined: Sat Dec 07, 2013 11:50 am
Posts: 7
Destiny wrote:
Are you able to zip a set of RAW images and web transfer them... https://www.wetransfer.com/#

dps@westest.com.au

Destiny...


Of course. Already transferred. Did you get them?

Upd1. it seems that mail is incorrect.

Quote:
The following email address(es) did not receive your file. It is very likely that the address is incorrect:
dps@westest.com.au
Sorry about that.

Files (132 MB total)
pano.zip


Link to download:
http://we.tl/XhsIQnVsFV


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 07, 2013 1:10 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 11:55 pm
Posts: 4913
Location: Australia
Yes sorry about that.. I did it too quick.. I am downloading it now...

Let you know how I go..

Destiny..


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 07, 2013 1:20 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Posts: 14063
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
nicolausYes wrote:
Autopano sometimes overexposure some parts of pano.
Usually it's bright parts. Usually the sky. Affects only when making pano from raw files.

...................

Quote:
My friend stitch the same pano on his machine and it looks good.


What is his setup?

Quote:
What I'm doing wrong? Why autopano overexposure some parts on raw? Has anybody the same issue?


It is generally recommended to process RAW images before stitching with APP/APG because a full function RAW processor - perhaps that offered by the camera manufacturer - offers more control than that built into APP/APG over which you have little control.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 07, 2013 1:40 pm 
Offline
New member

Joined: Sat Dec 07, 2013 11:50 am
Posts: 7
mediavets wrote:
What is his setup?
Default settings.

mediavets wrote:
It is generally recommended to process RAW images before stitching with APP/APG because a full function RAW processor - perhaps that offered by the camera manufacturer - offers more control than that built into APP/APG over which you have little control.
As I said before, I tried to do some changes to raw files with Adobe Bridge. But in this case Autopano stitching jpegs from modified raws, not raws themselves.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 07, 2013 2:37 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Posts: 14063
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
nicolausYes wrote:
As I said before, I tried to do some changes to raw files with Adobe Bridge. But in this case Autopano stitching jpegs from modified raws, not raws themselves.


JPEGs are JPEGs and RAWs are RAWs...'modified RAWs' is a meaningless term.

I am confused...I thought you reported that the problem only arose when you were stitching RAW images?

If that 's the case then the obvious solution is don't.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 07, 2013 2:47 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 11:55 pm
Posts: 4913
Location: Australia
Hi..

I did not get the issues you got. I did a bit of editing in RAW, then saved them as TIFs to maintain as much data as possible... I then dropped the images into APG and set it to Spherical and Normal Lens and stitch, then rendered as a jpg.. This is what I got.. The horizon need to be levelled out but thats easy to do...

Destiny..


Attachments:
PanoOPP.jpg
PanoOPP.jpg [ 773.75 KiB | Viewed 834 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 07, 2013 3:01 pm 
Offline
New member

Joined: Sat Dec 07, 2013 11:50 am
Posts: 7
mediavets wrote:
I am confused...I thought you reported that the problem only arose when you were stitching RAW images?

If that 's the case then the obvious solution is don't.

Yes, you are right, problems only with RAW images.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 07, 2013 3:02 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Posts: 7812
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
nicolausYes wrote:
mediavets wrote:
It is generally recommended to process RAW images before stitching with APP/APG because a full function RAW processor - perhaps that offered by the camera manufacturer - offers more control than that built into APP/APG over which you have little control.
As I said before, I tried to do some changes to raw files with Adobe Bridge. But in this case Autopano stitching jpegs from modified raws, not raws themselves.


As i read it you used processed JPGs in the first example, RAWs in the second example and again JPGs in the third example i see JPGs.
I guess you´re talkin about using alone the RAW . . .

It´s wise to convert RAWs to TIFF in a *good* converter for having best control over the process - preferably 16bit for best quality - and only *then* stitch the TIFFs.
When you doi the rendering also as TIFF/16bit it contains all the information which is in the shots. Then you might edit the image in Photoshop and finally make it a
TIFF/8bit or a JPG/max. quality.

I prefer to import TIFFs into PTP - here it´s made to JPG anyway. Use 7 for that - never use less.

best, Klaus


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 07, 2013 3:30 pm 
Offline
New member

Joined: Sat Dec 07, 2013 11:50 am
Posts: 7
Destiny wrote:
Hi..

I did not get the issues you got. I did a bit of editing in RAW, then saved them as TIFs to maintain as much data as possible... I then dropped the images into APG and set it to Spherical and Normal Lens and stitch, then rendered as a jpg.. This is what I got.. The horizon need to be levelled out but thats easy to do...

Destiny..


Yes, I see you got a good result. Thanks for help and for reply! I tried to save my NEF files as TIF and it helped! It's not very suitable solution, because I have very many panoramas to stitch, but it works :)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 07, 2013 3:32 pm 
Offline
New member

Joined: Sat Dec 07, 2013 11:50 am
Posts: 7
klausesser wrote:
As i read it you used processed JPGs in the first example, RAWs in the second example and again JPGs in the third example i see JPGs.
I guess you´re talkin about using alone the RAW . . .

It´s wise to convert RAWs to TIFF in a *good* converter for having best control over the process - preferably 16bit for best quality - and only *then* stitch the TIFFs.
When you doi the rendering also as TIFF/16bit it contains all the information which is in the shots. Then you might edit the image in Photoshop and finally make it a
TIFF/8bit or a JPG/max. quality.

I prefer to import TIFFs into PTP - here it´s made to JPG anyway. Use 7 for that - never use less.

best, Klaus



Hi, thanks for advice! It works with TIFF! Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 07, 2013 5:53 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Posts: 14063
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
nicolausYes wrote:
Destiny wrote:
Hi..

I did not get the issues you got. I did a bit of editing in RAW, then saved them as TIFs to maintain as much data as possible... I then dropped the images into APG and set it to Spherical and Normal Lens and stitch, then rendered as a jpg.. This is what I got.. The horizon need to be levelled out but thats easy to do...

Destiny..


Yes, I see you got a good result. Thanks for help and for reply! I tried to save my NEF files as TIF and it helped! It's not very suitable solution, because I have very many panoramas to stitch, but it works :)


ViewNX2 will do batch conversion to TIFF I think.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Dec 15, 2013 6:20 pm 
Offline
New member

Joined: Sun Dec 15, 2013 6:02 pm
Posts: 1
Hi,
I was about to create a new subject, but I see that in fact I have exactly the same issue!
My raw files come from a pentax K-30 camera (DNG files).
If converting first in tiff or JPG, no issue:
Attachment:
IMGP2120-_LR_IMGP2128-_LR-9-images-[Group-1]_ok.jpg
IMGP2120-_LR_IMGP2128-_LR-9-images-[Group-1]_ok.jpg [ 53.87 KiB | Viewed 691 times ]

But with raw I get crazy results:
Attachment:
IMGP2120_IMGP2128-9-images-[Group-2]_ko.jpg
IMGP2120_IMGP2128-9-images-[Group-2]_ko.jpg [ 55.72 KiB | Viewed 691 times ]


It's strange because before I was able to create panos without any issue, but it was rather forest pictures.

So I guess that it's always better to feed autopano with non-raw files?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Dec 15, 2013 9:12 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 11:55 pm
Posts: 4913
Location: Australia
Go tif... 8bit ok 16bit better... Final images, jpgs...

Destiny..


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group