Never ending rendering for a gigapixel  

This forum is dedicated to Autopano Pro / Giga bug reports and features discussion.
Please read the posting rules before starting a topic!
User avatar
yvano
Member
 
Posts: 123
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 11:19 am
Location: Haute-Savoie

Never ending rendering for a gigapixel

by yvano » Thu Sep 12, 2013 10:55 am

Windows 7, APG 3.0.8, RAM 6 go

Hi, I made a gigapixel panorama with 500 photos, and I began the render (psb with pictures) 24 hours ago.... the render is now at the state of "projection" and aparently it doesn't develop anymore.
Do you know how I could check that the render is still working and it's just a question of time, or if there is a problem and the render is stopped ?

Regards

Yvan
D300 + NN3 + 10.5 fisheye + 17/55 + sigma 70/200

no avatar
klausesser
Member
 
Posts: 7858
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany

by klausesser » Thu Sep 12, 2013 1:16 pm

yvano wrote:Windows 7, APG 3.0.8, RAM 6 go

Hi, I made a gigapixel panorama with 500 photos, and I began the render (psb with pictures) 24 hours ago.... the render is now at the state of "projection" and aparently it doesn't develop anymore.
Do you know how I could check that the render is still working and it's just a question of time, or if there is a problem and the render is stopped ?

Regards

Yvan

Hi Yvan!

I guess 6GB RAM is a bit too little. At least give APG a BIG and FREE space on a fast extra - and preferably completely empty - hard-drive for temp.

Klaus
Last edited by klausesser on Thu Sep 12, 2013 1:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance. Coco Chanel

no avatar
HansKeesom
Member
 
Posts: 2153
Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2010 8:53 pm

by HansKeesom » Sat Sep 14, 2013 12:12 pm

Feel free to dropbox it to me and I will render it on one of my machines (16GB-i&, 64GB-3630 and in a few days a 128 GB-16 XEON machine at dimensiondata.com ;-))
Regards, Hans Keesom
I stitch and render for other photographers. Price: 25 euro or less, no cure no pay. If you want to concentrate on your business let me do the stitching for you. Free TB of Dropbox space when you have more then 250 euro business a year.

User avatar
gkaefer
Member
 
Posts: 3354
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 1:01 pm
Location: Salzburg

by gkaefer » Sat Sep 14, 2013 1:15 pm

yvano wrote:Windows 7, APG 3.0.8, RAM 6 go

Hi, I made a gigapixel panorama with 500 photos, and I began the render (psb with pictures) 24 hours ago.... the render is now at the state of "projection" and aparently it doesn't develop anymore.
Do you know how I could check that the render is still working and it's just a question of time, or if there is a problem and the render is stopped ?

Regards

Yvan

Hi Yvan,

Win7 32bit or 64? 32 bit is limited in memory usage (by Windows)
Win 64 with 6 GB is far to less for 500 images. if mainbord supports it upgrade to 16GB (drop out the 6GB and 4x4 or 2x8GB depending on motherboard slots available).
After my Upgrade from 8to16GB I could handle 800 image panos without crash - but still slow.
about time - I would wait max 3 days (if win7 64bit, if 32bit I would cancle...)

to do such panos in some 1-4 hours only I would guess you need 32-64GB Ram.

Georg
Last edited by gkaefer on Sat Sep 14, 2013 1:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.

no avatar
HansKeesom
Member
 
Posts: 2153
Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2010 8:53 pm

by HansKeesom » Sat Sep 14, 2013 2:05 pm

Yvano,

Have a look at this formula, tells you what to expect from your system and indirectly how to solve the bottleneck(s)

http://www.kolor.com/forum/p87033-2011-08-11-11-53-58#p87033
Regards, Hans Keesom
I stitch and render for other photographers. Price: 25 euro or less, no cure no pay. If you want to concentrate on your business let me do the stitching for you. Free TB of Dropbox space when you have more then 250 euro business a year.

User avatar
yvano
Member
 
Posts: 123
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 11:19 am
Location: Haute-Savoie

by yvano » Mon Sep 16, 2013 11:17 am

Thanks for your answer, it seems that my computer is a bit too little...
HansKeesom, I send you a private email...

Regards
D300 + NN3 + 10.5 fisheye + 17/55 + sigma 70/200


Return to Autopano bug & discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest