360° Gigapixel optimization problem  

This forum is dedicated to Autopano Pro / Giga bug reports and features discussion.
Please read the posting rules before starting a topic!
User avatar
Hellkeeper
Member
 
Posts: 233
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 10:32 pm
Location: Austria

360° Gigapixel optimization problem

by Hellkeeper » Wed Aug 07, 2013 6:38 pm

Hello,

trying to stitch a new 360° Gigapixel and got some Problems with optimization after adding CPs.
The Pano is shot from 2 different Locations and imported via Gigapan Importer. Right after Import it looks pretty perfect - only on the Edges of the second Part of the Pano (second Location I shot from) there are lot's of Ghosts because no CPs are detected and it's shifted about half a src-image in height. Now I added the correct CPs to connect the second part to the first one ... do the optimization ... and everything is broken?!? :-(

After adding the new CPs - before optimization: http://temp.in.futureweb.at/after_adding_CPs_pre_optimization.jpg
After optimization: http://temp.in.futureweb.at/after_adding_CPs_post_optimization.jpg
After optimization Detail where I added CPs: http://temp.in.futureweb.at/after_adding_CPs_prost_optimization_detail.jpg

Anyone any idea what I can do here?

Thank you
Andreas Schnederle-Wagner
Gigapixel Panos from Austria: gpix.at

no avatar
klausesser
Member
 
Posts: 7883
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany

by klausesser » Wed Aug 07, 2013 7:27 pm

Hellkeeper wrote:Hello,

trying to stitch a new 360° Gigapixel and got some Problems with optimization after adding CPs.
The Pano is shot from 2 different Locations and imported via Gigapan Importer. Right after Import it looks pretty perfect - only on the Edges of the second Part of the Pano (second Location I shot from) there are lot's of Ghosts because no CPs are detected and it's shifted about half a src-image in height. Now I added the correct CPs to connect the second part to the first one ... do the optimization ... and everything is broken?!? :-(

After adding the new CPs - before optimization: http://temp.in.futureweb.at/after_adding_CPs_pre_optimization.jpg
After optimization: http://temp.in.futureweb.at/after_adding_CPs_post_optimization.jpg
After optimization Detail where I added CPs: http://temp.in.futureweb.at/after_adding_CPs_prost_optimization_detail.jpg

Anyone any idea what I can do here?

Thank you
Andreas Schnederle-Wagner

I have no experiences with Gigapan. But with the Panoneed-head (Panoneed.com) and PapyWizard-import.
Alexandre showed me what to do:
http://www.autopano.net/wiki-en/action/view/Troubleshooting_Papywizard_Cases

good luck, Klaus
Simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance. Coco Chanel

User avatar
ThomasV
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 281
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2012 1:12 pm

by ThomasV » Thu Aug 08, 2013 8:08 am

Hi Andreas,

I suppose you are using the 3.0.7 version. We recently find a bug in the editor preview in this version.
It's only a matter of display, and not related to the optimization results.

To have the correct display, you have to force some pieces of pictures to be recomputed. One way to do that is to rotate the pano 90° to the clock wise and rotate it back.

Sorry for this nasty bug, it will be fixed in the coming version.

Regards,
Thomas

User avatar
Hellkeeper
Member
 
Posts: 233
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 10:32 pm
Location: Austria

by Hellkeeper » Thu Aug 08, 2013 11:15 am

Hi Thomas,

correct - using the 3.0.7 Version. So I guess the way to go then is install 3.0.6 again?

Thank you
Andreas
Gigapixel Panos from Austria: gpix.at

User avatar
Hellkeeper
Member
 
Posts: 233
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 10:32 pm
Location: Austria

by Hellkeeper » Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:47 pm

For the curious - here is a preview of the Gigapixel in Question --> 88 Gigapixel --> http://www.gpix.at/Gpix.at-Gigapixel_gpath,horn360sommer,pid,9112,type,gpix.html?devpreview=true (developer preview - not officially published yet)

one little problem persists: The 2 "Endpoints" of the Pano (where the 360° are joined together) - are not color adjusted to fit good together?!
See here: http://temp.in.futureweb.at/360_endpoints1.jpg
After a little Photoshop it's better - but not perfect: http://temp.in.futureweb.at/360_endpoints.jpg

Andreas
Last edited by Hellkeeper on Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Gigapixel Panos from Austria: gpix.at

no avatar
klausesser
Member
 
Posts: 7883
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany

by klausesser » Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:59 pm

Hellkeeper wrote:For the curious - here is a preview of the Gigapixel in Question --> 88 Gigapixel --> http://www.gpix.at/Gpix.at-Gigapixel_gpath,horn360sommer,pid,9112,type,gpix.html?devpreview=true (developer preview - not officially published yet)

one little problem persists: The 2 "Endpoints" of the Pano (where the 360° are joined together) - are not color adjusted to fit good together?!
See here: http://temp.in.futureweb.at/360_endpoints1.jpg
After a little Photoshop it's better - but not perfect: http://temp.in.futureweb.at/360_endpoints.jpg

Andreas

Hey Andreas!

Given you shoot 360° correctly usually there´s no need at all to adjust start- and end of the Pano for not having a seam. When you have a big time-lag between start and
end of shooting you nevertheless might get an issue with changing daylight. You can compensate it using the color-correction tool.

Klaus

PS: your JPG seems to indicate you had some unlinked images. In that case the color-correction and/or the renderer might not work correctly.

Care for all imags to be linked.
Last edited by klausesser on Wed Aug 28, 2013 2:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance. Coco Chanel

User avatar
Hellkeeper
Member
 
Posts: 233
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 10:32 pm
Location: Austria

by Hellkeeper » Wed Aug 28, 2013 2:18 pm

Hey Klaus - interestingly this Error is not where the 360° Sphere started/stopped ... I shot this Pano from 2 Points as in the middle of the summit there is a large Telko-Mast. The Color missmatch is in the middle of the 1 sub-pano.
But where the "shown Ends" in krpano are (http://temp.in.futureweb.at/after_adding_CPs_pre_optimization.jpg) where right End and left End are glued together ... no idea why the color missmatch is there?

as for unlinked images - there are houndrets ... sky and so on ... no chance to stick them all together ...
As postet here --> http://www.kolor.com/forum/t18234-autopano-giga-editor-multiple-cpus <-- it takes about 5 Minutes to link 2 images together on such a large Pano ... would take a week or longer to fix all link Problems ... :)

Andreas
Gigapixel Panos from Austria: gpix.at

no avatar
lumelix
Member
 
Posts: 528
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2010 5:51 pm
Location: Switzerland

by lumelix » Wed Aug 28, 2013 2:23 pm

Hi Andreas
I can see the same problem in your "Grubhà¶rndl" 360º.
How have you set the reference images for color correction ?
I found, that the color correction still is not working perfect with bigger panos with several hundred images.
I also have some irregular brightness steps between images after rendering and also visible in the editor preview.

But as Klaus said before, if there are unlinked images in the pano, color correction makes a lot of trouble.
Perhaps, you can delete all the unlinked images in the layer list, before you render the pano?

How did you the imput of all these files. Didn't you have XMLs from the shooting patterns ?
Last edited by lumelix on Wed Aug 28, 2013 2:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Regards
Martin

User avatar
Hellkeeper
Member
 
Posts: 233
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 10:32 pm
Location: Austria

by Hellkeeper » Wed Aug 28, 2013 2:40 pm

Hi Martin,

it's Gigapan import - so no XML - but Rows/Columns.
No manual reference Image for color correction set.
In this Gigapixel about 6.000 Images are used - so everything you do in APG is REALLY slow ... so not much experimenting is possible! :)

Andreas
Last edited by Hellkeeper on Thu Aug 29, 2013 10:14 am, edited 1 time in total.
Gigapixel Panos from Austria: gpix.at

no avatar
klausesser
Member
 
Posts: 7883
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany

by klausesser » Wed Aug 28, 2013 2:44 pm

Hellkeeper wrote:Hey Klaus - interestingly this Error is not where the 360° Sphere started/stopped ... I shot this Pano from 2 Points as in the middle of the summit there is a large Telko-Mast. The Color missmatch is in the middle of the 1 sub-pano.
But where the "shown Ends" in krpano are (http://temp.in.futureweb.at/after_adding_CPs_pre_optimization.jpg) where right End and left End are glued together ... no idea why the color missmatch is there?

as for unlinked images - there are houndrets ... sky and so on ... no chance to stick them all together ...
As postet here --> http://www.kolor.com/forum/t18234-autopano-giga-editor-multiple-cpus <-- it takes about 5 Minutes to link 2 images together on such a large Pano ... would take a week or longer to fix all link Problems ... :)

Andreas

Hey Andreas!

Oops - shot from two points it´s no surprise, depending on the light. But well done nevertheless!

The color-correction should be able to handle it though! The anchor-system i mean is somewhat . . ah . . non-transparent ;) in use - mucho try and error, but a mighty tool!

Klaus
Simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance. Coco Chanel

User avatar
Hellkeeper
Member
 
Posts: 233
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 10:32 pm
Location: Austria

by Hellkeeper » Wed Aug 28, 2013 2:57 pm

klausesser wrote:Oops - shot from two points it´s no surprise, depending on the light. But well done nevertheless!

The weird thing is that where the 2 "sub-panos" stitch together you see NO problems at all ... !!
The part where the Problems exist is in the middle of the 1 "sub-pano" I show - that's what suprises me ...

http://temp.in.futureweb.at/after_adding_CPs_pre_optimization.jpg <-- left edge in autopano and right part in autopano - where they are connected the problem arrises
Gigapixel Panos from Austria: gpix.at

no avatar
lumelix
Member
 
Posts: 528
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2010 5:51 pm
Location: Switzerland

by lumelix » Wed Aug 28, 2013 4:05 pm

Hellkeeper wrote:it's Gigapan import

Hi Andreas
I wrote some suggestions for the Gigapan import, how not to loose the image links where no control point can be found earlier in this forum, see:
http://www.kolor.com/forum/postgallery.php?pid=84890&filename=Easy+Workflow.jpg
Perhaps this can help you with this pano to avoid unlinked images.

About problems with the color correction in a big image grid:
http://www.kolor.com/forum/t12214-apg-2.5.2-w7-x64-color-correction-still-fails
http://www.kolor.com/forum/t15651-apg-3.0-a2-win7-x64-color-correction-big-improvements-but

There are a lot of other posts about this problem in this forum.
The problems with the color correction increases when you have irregular overlaps between the images
or unlinked images somewhere in the pano.
Regards
Martin

User avatar
Hellkeeper
Member
 
Posts: 233
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 10:32 pm
Location: Austria

by Hellkeeper » Wed Aug 28, 2013 4:39 pm

Hi Martin,
thank you - will have a look into your Workflow when rendering the next big Pano! ;-)

As for the 2 point shooting - I marked the different shooting Points here: http://temp.in.futureweb.at/Horn360-5000_parts.jpg
As you can see where the 2 Panos get together it's pretty good stitched ... (only little problems - even there are about 2,5 hours difference where the 2 Parts get together)
Just don't get it why in the "middle" of Pano 1 (blue region where enough CPs are/should be) the color correction had such big problems ... excactly where the left|right borders in APG are ... for me it looks as if it's not color corrected from left edge to right edge ... ?!?

Andreas
Last edited by Hellkeeper on Wed Aug 28, 2013 4:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Gigapixel Panos from Austria: gpix.at

no avatar
lumelix
Member
 
Posts: 528
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2010 5:51 pm
Location: Switzerland

by lumelix » Wed Aug 28, 2013 7:10 pm

Hi Andreas
Can you show us a screen shot from the editor window when:
1. the CP-Editor is active, so we can see the "grid"
2. the color correction is active, so we can see the selected reference images

In my case, the quality of stitching has no influence on the quality of the blending.
This are two seperate tasks in APG. I have always very good stitching with RMS between 1 and 2.
But most of time these blending errors depend of the selected reference images. You can see in my examples,
how the change of reference images can change the blending result.
And you can see that there is sometimes this color shift to red or green in the corners of the pano.

As Alexandre wrote in one of these posts:
"We won't be able to do anything more for v3.0 final, but our top priority for v3.1 is to revamp totally the color correction: new color theory with some new features and vignetting integration. let's open an issue 1466 for v3.1 so we have this sample as reference for new technology."
Last edited by lumelix on Wed Aug 28, 2013 7:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Regards
Martin

User avatar
Hellkeeper
Member
 
Posts: 233
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 10:32 pm
Location: Austria

by Hellkeeper » Thu Aug 29, 2013 9:27 am

lumelix wrote:Can you show us a screen shot from the editor window when:
1. the CP-Editor is active, so we can see the "grid"
2. the color correction is active, so we can see the selected reference images

Hi,

here are some Screenshots of CP and CC:

http://temp.in.futureweb.at/CC_1.JPG (full GRID)
http://temp.in.futureweb.at/CC_links.JPG
http://temp.in.futureweb.at/CC_mitte.JPG
http://temp.in.futureweb.at/CC_mitte2.JPG
http://temp.in.futureweb.at/CC_rechts.JPG
http://temp.in.futureweb.at/CC_uebergang_1-2.JPG
http://temp.in.futureweb.at/CP_1.JPG (full GRID)
http://temp.in.futureweb.at/CP_links.JPG
http://temp.in.futureweb.at/CP_mitte.JPG
http://temp.in.futureweb.at/CP_mitte2.JPG
http://temp.in.futureweb.at/CP_mitte3.JPG
http://temp.in.futureweb.at/CP_rechts.JPG
http://temp.in.futureweb.at/CP_uebergang_1-2.JPG

The Problems are where CC/CP_links.JPG and CCP/CP_rechts.JPG get together.
No Problems with the "mitte" or "uebergang" Regions - even if there is a little mess with CC/CP ;-)

Andreas
Last edited by Hellkeeper on Thu Aug 29, 2013 9:30 am, edited 1 time in total.
Gigapixel Panos from Austria: gpix.at

no avatar
lumelix
Member
 
Posts: 528
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2010 5:51 pm
Location: Switzerland

by lumelix » Thu Aug 29, 2013 1:07 pm

Hi andreas
Now I get the images from futureweb.at.

If I can see it clearly, you haven't set any images as reference images for the color correction?
In my example posted above, you can see also a shift from dark to light from the left to right like you have at the seam from left to right side.
http://www.kolor.com/forum/postgallery.php?pid=103867&filename=_0003_CC+1Ri+Ga+slight+dark+to+light+%28L-R%29.jpg.jpg


As Alexandre suggest earlier, the color correction needs some more reference images (eg. every 10th image or so) in such big panos to work properly.

But in my case, with more ref images, the blending problems were complicated.
You have also some irregular overlappings in this pano. I'm not shure if this can confuse the whole color correction.

You use only gamma correction for all images. I would try to use only exposure correction. It's some what more neutral to the images.
For test render I would downsize the pano to 10 or 20%.
Regards
Martin

User avatar
Hellkeeper
Member
 
Posts: 233
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 10:32 pm
Location: Austria

by Hellkeeper » Thu Aug 29, 2013 3:38 pm

To be honest - I never worked with reference images ... hehe ... guess that's a thing I will have to look into ... :)
But I guess it's not very practicable to insert hundreds of ref img into such a large pano (lot's of work - and as you say - maybe even more problems!)

Will try a test rendering with exposure correction.

In general: Hope CC will be better in future versions (in term of CC on the "connection" point of the 360°)

Andreas
Gigapixel Panos from Austria: gpix.at

User avatar
Hellkeeper
Member
 
Posts: 233
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 10:32 pm
Location: Austria

by Hellkeeper » Thu Aug 29, 2013 3:41 pm

Gigapixel Panos from Austria: gpix.at

no avatar
klausesser
Member
 
Posts: 7883
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany

by klausesser » Thu Aug 29, 2013 4:33 pm

Hellkeeper wrote:To be honest - I never worked with reference images ... hehe ... guess that's a thing I will have to look into ... :)
But I guess it's not very practicable to insert hundreds of ref img into such a large pano (lot's of work - and as you say - maybe even more problems!)

Will try a test rendering with exposure correction.

In general: Hope CC will be better in future versions (in term of CC on the "connection" point of the 360°)

Andreas

Hey!

As Martin said already: with the anchors preferably use only "exposure"! "Gamma" can make the shot look rather uneven.

best, Klaus

PS

btw.: i suggest to set the pano to 100% maxial zoom-range. In your pano it´s more than that - and that looks ugly becoming very unsharp and showing massive CAs.

PS2

here´s what i mean:


Last edited by klausesser on Thu Aug 29, 2013 4:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance. Coco Chanel

no avatar
lumelix
Member
 
Posts: 528
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2010 5:51 pm
Location: Switzerland

by lumelix » Thu Aug 29, 2013 10:42 pm

Hellkeeper wrote:you can see why we had to shoot from 2 different points! ;-)

Yes, that's clear. Most of time we have some towers or antennas in the wrong place.
I have tried this out from the roof of a higher building in my city, because of two handy antennas.
But the paralaxe errors where to big for a good result, even on buildings 1 km away.
Next time I'll take a wrench with!
Regards
Martin


Return to Autopano bug & discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests