Image-stitching and virtual tour solutions My account Updates
It is currently Sat Sep 20, 2014 7:04 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Jul 29, 2013 4:07 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2012 2:27 am
Posts: 17
Crash: "Has stopped working"
Here's some driver info:
8.16.11.8999
5/24/10
Intel(R) HD Graphics
NVIDIA
Bios 2046.0
DirectX 10.0

Tried a few different versions of your software as you can see below.
Will disable GPU.
Please help!


Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
Application Name: AutopanoGiga_x64.exe
Application Version: 3.0.7.400
Application Timestamp: 51efc2f1
Fault Module Name: StackHash_87d9
Fault Module Version: 6.1.7601.17725
Fault Module Timestamp: 4ec4aa8e
Exception Code: c0000374
Exception Offset: 00000000000c40f2
OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.256.1
Locale ID: 1033
Additional Information 1: 87d9
Additional Information 2: 87d9fd756a37a1007a784353fbf47aba
Additional Information 3: f82c
Additional Information 4: f82cdc55497279ccc44e75cb00cc5ab1

Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
Application Name: AutopanoGiga_x64.exe
Application Version: 2.6.4.400
Application Timestamp: 5031867a
Fault Module Name: StackHash_d269
Fault Module Version: 6.1.7601.17725
Fault Module Timestamp: 4ec4aa8e
Exception Code: c0000374
Exception Offset: 00000000000c40f2
OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.256.1
Locale ID: 1033
Additional Information 1: d269
Additional Information 2: d26972152ae38ca41e236e91e7c3a707
Additional Information 3: f74f
Additional Information 4: f74f014e73f13aa7c3a837c1f1e80ef1


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 29, 2013 8:01 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Posts: 13968
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
What hardware are you running on?

A laptop?

_________________
Andrew Stephens
Many different Nodal Ninja and Agnos pano heads. Merlin/Panogear mount with Papywizard on Nokia Internet tablets.
Nikon D5100 and D40, Sigma 8mm f3.5 FE, Nikon 10.5mm FE, 35mm, 50mm, 18-55mm, 70-210mm. Promote control.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 30, 2013 2:18 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2012 2:27 am
Posts: 17
Dell Vostro Intel M560. Do you need any more info?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 30, 2013 2:47 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Posts: 13968
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
sbright33 wrote:
Dell Vostro Intel M560. Do you need any more info?

How much RAM do you have?

Which OS?

Free space on hard drive?

At what point does the program crash?

Do you get a crash report?

_________________
Andrew Stephens
Many different Nodal Ninja and Agnos pano heads. Merlin/Panogear mount with Papywizard on Nokia Internet tablets.
Nikon D5100 and D40, Sigma 8mm f3.5 FE, Nikon 10.5mm FE, 35mm, 50mm, 18-55mm, 70-210mm. Promote control.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 30, 2013 3:39 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 1:01 pm
Posts: 3323
Location: Salzburg
do you have uptodate graphic card drivers...?
Gerog

_________________
pages: gigapixel.at - jedermann.at - My Equipment


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 30, 2013 3:56 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Posts: 13968
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
gkaefer wrote:
do you have uptodate graphic card drivers...?
Gerog

I think this is the user's system?

Intel built-in graphics.

Often not possible to get really up to date graphics drivers for laptops.

http://www.cnet.com/laptops/dell-vostro-a860-laptop/4507-3121_7-33403618.html

_________________
Andrew Stephens
Many different Nodal Ninja and Agnos pano heads. Merlin/Panogear mount with Papywizard on Nokia Internet tablets.
Nikon D5100 and D40, Sigma 8mm f3.5 FE, Nikon 10.5mm FE, 35mm, 50mm, 18-55mm, 70-210mm. Promote control.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 30, 2013 5:56 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2012 2:27 am
Posts: 17
4GB
Win 7
50GB free
It's in the title, EVERY TIME when I exit from the editor using the red X

The crash report is posted above

I have the newest driver available, the number is posted above.

It works when I disable the GPU. Please help it's very slow!
Steve


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 30, 2013 6:33 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Posts: 13968
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
sbright33 wrote:
4GB
Win 7
50GB free
It's in the title, EVERY TIME when I exit from the editor using the red X

The crash report is posted above

I have the newest driver available, the number is posted above.

It works when I disable the GPU. Please help it's very slow!
Steve

I think you've probably answered you own question if it works when you disable the GPU support in APG.

Did it pass the GPU test?

Laptops are not ideal for running APG partly because they seldom have very powerful CPUs and GPUs, and typically have limited memeory capacity and relatively slow hard drives.

4GB RAM is not a lot for a 64-bit OS and a 64-bit version of APG, and 50GB is not a lot of free disk space and laptop drives are seldom that fast.

How many images are there in the pano image set you are attempting to stitch and what is the resolution of each image?

_________________
Andrew Stephens
Many different Nodal Ninja and Agnos pano heads. Merlin/Panogear mount with Papywizard on Nokia Internet tablets.
Nikon D5100 and D40, Sigma 8mm f3.5 FE, Nikon 10.5mm FE, 35mm, 50mm, 18-55mm, 70-210mm. Promote control.


Last edited by mediavets on Tue Jul 30, 2013 6:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 30, 2013 7:44 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Thu Jul 25, 2013 8:23 am
Posts: 174
This smells very much like a graphics card problem indeed. I think your a bit out of luck with your machine Steve, and upgrading a laptop is seldon wurth the trouble (if possible at all).

with main memory (shared), max 384 MB

and that is the specs from your Intel Graphics media Accelerator X3100 (at least that was what a website said)......now 2 things are bad.....

1) low memory, you need at least 1 Gb to be happy......
2) a lot of shared memory....

So crashes will be probably due to lack of memory and memory overflow.

Greets, Ed.

_________________
Olympus OM-D with HLD-6, Fuji GX680, Samyang 7.5, Olympus 9-18, Sigma 19, Panasonic 14-45, Nikon 50 1.4 on Novoflex with tripod mount, Nikon 80-200, Panasonic 45-200, Fujinon 135, Fujinon 80, Fujinon 65, Fujinon 50, Gitzo Gilux Reporter 2, Sirui Ballhead and Panosaurus 2.0 NNP adapter, Motorized Panohead of Canadian (ironware)/Dutch (electronics and software) construction.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 31, 2013 12:54 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2012 2:27 am
Posts: 17
It passed the GPU test.

I don't believe the RAM or HD memory is the issue, it runs perfectly w GPU disabled, even huge Gigapixel images, just slow.

It crashes with 2 tiny images to stitch.

Why do I need so much graphic memory? I'm not trying to display the image.

I have done many huge stitches with 500+ images on an old machine with only 2GB memory. Much slower hardware. I have a newer machine that is running 32-bit Windows 7 that works perfectly with GPU enabled. Way faster than this one. Unfortunately that's not where my images are located normally. Clearly this is a bug. Related to the graphics drivers? That only shows itself with 64-bit Windows.

Can I help you fix this bug?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 31, 2013 12:56 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2012 2:27 am
Posts: 17
Should be easy to solve since it's repeatable... And happens the EXACT SAME WAY EACH TIME.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 31, 2013 8:39 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Posts: 13968
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
sbright33 wrote:
I have done many huge stitches with 500+ images on an old machine with only 2GB memory. Much slower hardware.

Which version of APP/APG and OS was that?

Quote:
I have a newer machine that is running 32-bit Windows 7 that works perfectly with GPU enabled. Way faster than this one. Unfortunately that's not where my images are located normally.

APG 3.x appears to be more demanding of hardware than 2.x was.

For full functionality (including exposure fusion, for example) with good performance it appears that you need a 64-bit OS and 8GB RAM min. for APG 3.x.

http://www.kolor.com/blog-en/2013/02/28/3-tips-to-optimize-autopano-3-for-your-hardware/

Quote:
Clearly this is a bug. Related to the graphics drivers? That only shows itself with 64-bit Windows.

Can I help you fix this bug?

I may be mistaken but I believe that the GPU only accelerates the Panorama Editor display (it's not used for rendering). If you are not using that then it's not going to have much if any impact on the performance of APG on your laptop.

_________________
Andrew Stephens
Many different Nodal Ninja and Agnos pano heads. Merlin/Panogear mount with Papywizard on Nokia Internet tablets.
Nikon D5100 and D40, Sigma 8mm f3.5 FE, Nikon 10.5mm FE, 35mm, 50mm, 18-55mm, 70-210mm. Promote control.


Last edited by mediavets on Wed Jul 31, 2013 8:50 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 31, 2013 10:14 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Thu Jul 25, 2013 8:23 am
Posts: 174
I wasn't talking about RAM, I was talking about video RAM.....APP/APG uses the video ram of the NVIDIA chip to display the images if you go the GPU route.....it does however not calculate pano's using the GPU (right Andrew). So whether it is low on graphic ram depends on a lot of things, but since nont using GPU clears the field, well do not use GPU then. Of course you could always be victem to a driver incompatibility.....now comes the stupid helpdesk question:

Have you installed the latest drivers for your card?

If that does not help.......the only route you can take is the route over not using the GPU. That seems to work and has no influence on the performance of the rendering, which in itself won't be blistering on your system but that you have realised allready don't you.

Greets, Ed.

_________________
Olympus OM-D with HLD-6, Fuji GX680, Samyang 7.5, Olympus 9-18, Sigma 19, Panasonic 14-45, Nikon 50 1.4 on Novoflex with tripod mount, Nikon 80-200, Panasonic 45-200, Fujinon 135, Fujinon 80, Fujinon 65, Fujinon 50, Gitzo Gilux Reporter 2, Sirui Ballhead and Panosaurus 2.0 NNP adapter, Motorized Panohead of Canadian (ironware)/Dutch (electronics and software) construction.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 31, 2013 11:57 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Posts: 13968
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
sbright33 wrote:
Clearly this is a bug. Related to the graphics drivers? That only shows itself with 64-bit Windows.

Can I help you fix this bug?

There's a generic Nvidia driver that may be newer than that offered by Dell...but may not be. I don't have your Vostro model code:

http://www.nvidia.com/object/notebook-win7-winvista-64bit-296.10-whql-driver.html

_________________
Andrew Stephens
Many different Nodal Ninja and Agnos pano heads. Merlin/Panogear mount with Papywizard on Nokia Internet tablets.
Nikon D5100 and D40, Sigma 8mm f3.5 FE, Nikon 10.5mm FE, 35mm, 50mm, 18-55mm, 70-210mm. Promote control.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 31, 2013 12:44 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2012 2:27 am
Posts: 17
I hadn't realized that the GPU is only used in the Editor. I do use it. But that's not the slow part. So I have found my solution then!
Disable GPU.
Thanks everyone!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 31, 2013 2:28 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Posts: 13968
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
sbright33 wrote:
I hadn't realized that the GPU is only used in the Editor. I do use it. But that's not the slow part. So I have found my solution then!
Disable GPU.
Thanks everyone!

Is it the rendering that you find to be very slow?

If so, do have an example you can cite - number and size (resolution) of input images, and rendering format and time?

_________________
Andrew Stephens
Many different Nodal Ninja and Agnos pano heads. Merlin/Panogear mount with Papywizard on Nokia Internet tablets.
Nikon D5100 and D40, Sigma 8mm f3.5 FE, Nikon 10.5mm FE, 35mm, 50mm, 18-55mm, 70-210mm. Promote control.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group