Page 1 of 1

APG 3.0.3 OSX hangs at rendering GigaPixel-Pano

PostPosted: Thu Feb 07, 2013 8:43 pm
by Maw.
Hello,
I tried to render a 100.000 x 50.000 GigaPixel Pano but the render-process hangs at "Farb- und Helligkeitsübergà¤nge / Colour- and Brightnesstransitions" (?).
For over 4 hours it´s pending there and nothing happens. Process-bar is still at exact the same position.
But in the activity monitor I see that APG is working (104% CPU).

Does it takes so long at colour- and brightnesstransitions or does it looks like it´s a bug?

Regards,
Marc

iMac 24GB RAM, OSX 10.8.2

PostPosted: Thu Feb 07, 2013 9:02 pm
by gkaefer
how many source images?
stacked or one layer?
if stacked: bracketed?
the images: raw, tiff 8bit, tiff16bit, png or jpgs?
where are source images saved? (HDD, SSD, SAN/NAS)
how big is your temp dir?

Georg

PostPosted: Thu Feb 07, 2013 9:06 pm
by Maw.
- 900 source images
- one layer
- not bracketed
- tiff 8bit (from adobe camera raw)
- source images are on SSD
- two temp directories; first SSD with 20GB free disk space and a HDD with 2TB free disk space

Marc

PostPosted: Thu Feb 07, 2013 10:32 pm
by gkaefer
Maw. wrote:- 900 source images
- one layer
- not bracketed
- tiff 8bit (from adobe camera raw)
- source images are on SSD
- two temp directories; first SSD with 20GB free disk space and a HDD with 2TB free disk space

Marc

question to your temp data:

according to Hans memory formula ( http://www.kolor.com/forum/p87033-2011-08-11-11-53-58#p87033 )
your temp dir should have 77GB size minimum for your project (I assume 22mp images from a 5DMKIII)

so if you entered the SSD with 20GB as first temp dir... than apg has to swap to second during your project.
the consequences I dont know... but simpler to change the order of your temp dirs for this project so the 2TB disc is first listed as temp dir.

you've 24GB RAM and you need 77GB Scratch disc... so the ratio is 1:3
according to Hans formular "Autopano will get the job done but you will experience it takes much longer to get things done. If you are on a budget and/or not making money with your panoramas, there is likely no real hurry to upgrade. Otherwise think about upgrading your RAM to get a better 1:n or adding a SSD as temp."

so, chances are good, but it will take its time to get finished. no idea about hwo long to wait....

Liebe Gruesse aus Salzburg,
Georg

PostPosted: Fri Feb 08, 2013 10:26 am
by Maw.
thank you for the information - yes it´s 1:3, but time is not the big problem....
but I started the rendering-process a second time with exactly the same settings and it worked!
It took 59min for the whole rendering-process:

Rendering benchmark: 59 min:51 s
Initialization: 1.086 s
Warping: 31 min:12 s
Cutting: 1 min:24 s
Blending: 19 min:38 s
Saving: 2 min:21 s
Temporary data read/write: 62.9 GB/50.4 GB

There must be a problem in the rendering process of APG 3.0.3 (at colour and brightness correction) maybe?

Schà¶ne GrüàŸe aus dem dicht verschneiten Là¤ndle,
Marc

PostPosted: Sat Feb 09, 2013 10:48 am
by a_c_skinner
I too have seen problems with APG 3.03 on OSX 10.8.2

Trying to assemble larger panos (about a dozen JPGs from a D800 - so yes, big) it simply hangs and seems to consume a huge amount of CPU time (even force quit takes a long time). APG 2.64 does the same on the same machine uncomplainingly.

Half a dozen frames stitch OK (but a lot slower than 2.64) but it baulks at bigger stuff.

I'll try the same on Linux when I get the time.

Andrew Skinner

PostPosted: Sun Feb 10, 2013 12:22 pm
by HansKeesom
Try re-install 3.0.1. 3.02 and 3.0.3. have memory problems while using the preview, might be also when rendering.

If you can't get it to work still, I can start up my 64 GB 8 core XEON machine and render your .pano file as is in 3.0.1.
Costs are 5 eurocent for each photo in the panorama. So 900 photos will be 45 euro.