APG 3.0.3 OSX hangs at rendering GigaPixel-Pano  

This forum is dedicated to Autopano Pro / Giga bug reports and features discussion.
Please read the posting rules before starting a topic!
no avatar
Maw.
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 90
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 8:57 pm
Info

APG 3.0.3 OSX hangs at rendering GigaPixel-Pano

by Maw. » Thu Feb 07, 2013 8:43 pm

Hello,
I tried to render a 100.000 x 50.000 GigaPixel Pano but the render-process hangs at "Farb- und Helligkeitsübergà¤nge / Colour- and Brightnesstransitions" (?).
For over 4 hours it´s pending there and nothing happens. Process-bar is still at exact the same position.
But in the activity monitor I see that APG is working (104% CPU).

Does it takes so long at colour- and brightnesstransitions or does it looks like it´s a bug?

Regards,
Marc

iMac 24GB RAM, OSX 10.8.2

User avatar
gkaefer
Member
 
Posts: 3550
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 15 posts
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 1:01 pm
Location: Salzburg
Info

by gkaefer » Thu Feb 07, 2013 9:02 pm

how many source images?
stacked or one layer?
if stacked: bracketed?
the images: raw, tiff 8bit, tiff16bit, png or jpgs?
where are source images saved? (HDD, SSD, SAN/NAS)
how big is your temp dir?

Georg

no avatar
Maw.
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 90
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 8:57 pm
Info

by Maw. » Thu Feb 07, 2013 9:06 pm

- 900 source images
- one layer
- not bracketed
- tiff 8bit (from adobe camera raw)
- source images are on SSD
- two temp directories; first SSD with 20GB free disk space and a HDD with 2TB free disk space

Marc

User avatar
gkaefer
Member
 
Posts: 3550
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 15 posts
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 1:01 pm
Location: Salzburg
Info

by gkaefer » Thu Feb 07, 2013 10:32 pm

Maw. wrote:- 900 source images
- one layer
- not bracketed
- tiff 8bit (from adobe camera raw)
- source images are on SSD
- two temp directories; first SSD with 20GB free disk space and a HDD with 2TB free disk space

Marc

question to your temp data:

according to Hans memory formula ( http://www.kolor.com/forum/p87033-2011-08-11-11-53-58#p87033 )
your temp dir should have 77GB size minimum for your project (I assume 22mp images from a 5DMKIII)

so if you entered the SSD with 20GB as first temp dir... than apg has to swap to second during your project.
the consequences I dont know... but simpler to change the order of your temp dirs for this project so the 2TB disc is first listed as temp dir.

you've 24GB RAM and you need 77GB Scratch disc... so the ratio is 1:3
according to Hans formular "Autopano will get the job done but you will experience it takes much longer to get things done. If you are on a budget and/or not making money with your panoramas, there is likely no real hurry to upgrade. Otherwise think about upgrading your RAM to get a better 1:n or adding a SSD as temp."

so, chances are good, but it will take its time to get finished. no idea about hwo long to wait....

Liebe Gruesse aus Salzburg,
Georg

no avatar
Maw.
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 90
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 8:57 pm
Info

by Maw. » Fri Feb 08, 2013 10:26 am

thank you for the information - yes it´s 1:3, but time is not the big problem....
but I started the rendering-process a second time with exactly the same settings and it worked!
It took 59min for the whole rendering-process:

Rendering benchmark: 59 min:51 s
Initialization: 1.086 s
Warping: 31 min:12 s
Cutting: 1 min:24 s
Blending: 19 min:38 s
Saving: 2 min:21 s
Temporary data read/write: 62.9 GB/50.4 GB

There must be a problem in the rendering process of APG 3.0.3 (at colour and brightness correction) maybe?

Schà¶ne GrüàŸe aus dem dicht verschneiten Là¤ndle,
Marc

no avatar
a_c_skinner
Member
 
Posts: 16
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2007 10:55 am
Info

by a_c_skinner » Sat Feb 09, 2013 10:48 am

I too have seen problems with APG 3.03 on OSX 10.8.2

Trying to assemble larger panos (about a dozen JPGs from a D800 - so yes, big) it simply hangs and seems to consume a huge amount of CPU time (even force quit takes a long time). APG 2.64 does the same on the same machine uncomplainingly.

Half a dozen frames stitch OK (but a lot slower than 2.64) but it baulks at bigger stuff.

I'll try the same on Linux when I get the time.

Andrew Skinner
Andrew Skinner Nikon D800 and Olympus PEN EP-1

no avatar
HansKeesom
Member
 
Posts: 2210
Likes: 1 post
Liked in: 2 posts
Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2010 8:53 pm
Info

by HansKeesom » Sun Feb 10, 2013 12:22 pm

Try re-install 3.0.1. 3.02 and 3.0.3. have memory problems while using the preview, might be also when rendering.

If you can't get it to work still, I can start up my 64 GB 8 core XEON machine and render your .pano file as is in 3.0.1.
Costs are 5 eurocent for each photo in the panorama. So 900 photos will be 45 euro.
Regards, Hans Keesom
I stitch and render for other photographers. Price: 25 euro or less, no cure no pay. If you want to concentrate on your business let me do the stitching for you. Free TB of Dropbox space when you have more then 250 euro business a year.


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests