Page 1 of 1

[APG 3.0.2 64bit Windows]memory is not returned when editor closes

PostPosted: Mon Jan 21, 2013 10:11 pm
by HansKeesom
I am working with multiple editor which went fine with especialiy version 3.0.0.

with 3.0.3 I get the impression that after doing many previews I loose more and more (GPU) memory which means I have to restart APG before I can edit and preview any more panoramas.

Not sure exactly how and when, will add that later.

Hope others that have same experiences can share theirs.

PostPosted: Mon Jan 21, 2013 11:04 pm
by HansKeesom
with GPU turned off I can start previewing multiple panoramas very easily. Slowly RAM fills up and when that is full the pagefile kicks in. While scrolling at 150% things get slower and slower and more and more pagefile traffic happens. Tested it on a 16 GB machine but saw the same on a 64 GB one, just took a bit longer to fill the 64 GB and start the pagefile.

Closing all editors brings back the RAM usage to 9 GB from 16. Opening only two panoramas bring me back to 16 GB RAM used. closing these two bring me to 8 GB . Opening one to 13,5 GB again. Closing it to back to 8 GB again. Closing the programm bring me to 2 GB memory used.
Opening the programm again and loading all 6 panoramas but not in editor bring me to 3,43 GB used. This situation is the same as after I closed all 6 editors, the difference however is 5,4 GB, almost a GB for each panorama. Opening all panoramas in their own editor and then closing all of them again bring me to 3,93 GB RAM used to half a GB lost on just opening and closing 6 editors. Closing the programm totally bring me under 2 GB of RAM used again.

Seems like closing an editor does not remove all RAM that was used for that panorama. When working through a large number of panoramas this is a problem.
Also it seams that zooming and panning in the editor with preview is also waisting lots of memory.

Don't know what has changed between 3.0.0. and 3.0.3. regarding the memory used by the editor (doing preview) but I think I don't like it.

How is memory cleanup done while editors are open? After they have closed? Is it garbagecollection methodoly in the sense that you need to give the programm some time/computer cycles to clean up after itself? Don't see that happening actually.

PostPosted: Mon Jan 21, 2013 11:58 pm
by HansKeesom
more research done. If you open a panorama and zoom to 150%. Then press preview. Noticy more memory is used. Pan the panoram and press preview for that area. Notice more memory being used.
Each time you pan to a different area and press preview, more memory is used. Until you hit memory max on your computer and pagefile kicks in.
Closing the editor bring back lots of the memory lost but not all of it.

Conclusion : Preview ing part of panorama is using memory that is not returned when panning to a different aread and also not when editor is closed. Seems like a big bug to me.

PostPosted: Thu Jan 24, 2013 9:54 am
by ThomasV
Hello,

I indeed reproduce a such behavior. Thanks for pointing that.
Issue 1742.

Regards,
Thomas

PostPosted: Sun Jan 27, 2013 2:51 am
by HansKeesom
Thanks. Hope you can solve it soon and release a version without this bug. I am loosing lots of time due to this.

PostPosted: Sun Jan 27, 2013 3:01 pm
by Michael Ezra
I am confused - could anyone clearly state to which exact versionS of APG does this apply to?

PostPosted: Sun Jan 27, 2013 4:29 pm
by HansKeesom
3.0.3. tittle was a copy-paste error

PostPosted: Sun Jan 27, 2013 11:10 pm
by Michael Ezra
Thanks. I am still using 3.0.0 should I move to 3.0.1 or 3.0.2 or is it more reliable to use 3.0.0 for now?

PostPosted: Mon Jan 28, 2013 9:27 am
by ThomasV
Hello miachael,

To my mind, this bug has not been introduced in 3.0.2 or 3.0.3, it might be there since 3.0. So, you can use 3.0.3 version since there was many bug fixed since 3.0.0.

Regards,
Thomas

PostPosted: Mon Jan 28, 2013 8:29 pm
by HansKeesom
Sorry Thomas,

but I am rather sure it was. I am previewing panoramas all the time and only noticed it at 3.0.3. I used all version that existed. If I could I would gladly return to 3.0.2.

PostPosted: Mon Jan 28, 2013 8:47 pm
by mediavets
HansKeesom wrote:If I could I would gladly return to 3.0.2.

Here you are:

http://download.kolor.com/apg/stable/history

PostPosted: Tue Jan 29, 2013 12:58 am
by HansKeesom
Thanks,

Just finished testing 3.0.1. and no experienced no memoryloss in that version. Hope to do 3.0.2. tomorrow.

PostPosted: Tue Jan 29, 2013 12:20 pm
by HansKeesom
just tested 3.0.2. problem IS there. so since 3.0.2. the problem is there. I am going back to 3.0.1.

PostPosted: Tue Apr 30, 2013 10:44 pm
by HansKeesom
in 3.05. the problem is still there. Have to close the programm totally to get all the memory back (32 GB) When loading all the groups again only 2 GB is used. After opening 4 editors I have used 3.5 GB.
Then I start doing previewing at different resolutions and see memory used growing again to 32 GB. The programm will then cause the pagefile to be used a lot

If I then close all 4 editors does not solve the problem. The whole programm needs to be closed to be able to have normal use of memory again, starting at 2 GB again.

This is very annoying when working myself through a big multipanorama project.

PostPosted: Thu May 09, 2013 5:12 am
by Jeremiahscott
Yep, we are experiencing the same issues on all machines we have.