APG 301Beta amd64 Linux -- core dump on render attempt of large pano  

This forum is dedicated to Autopano Pro / Giga bug reports and features discussion.
Please read the posting rules before starting a topic!
no avatar
bradtem
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 219
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2008 11:42 pm
Info

APG 301Beta amd64 Linux -- core dump on render attempt of large pano

by bradtem » Mon Oct 01, 2012 3:46 am

I have a large pano of paris, 229 Canon 5d2 images, 100mm lens.

Any attempt to render dumps core immediately, highly repeatable. Crash file and pano attached. The iamges would be too large to upload.

It first dumped core when trying to do a preview. The preview started taking up all CPU, and there is no way to stop previews. Of course upon core dump all changes to the file were lost due to APP's most annoying bug -- that crashes can cause you to lose work rather than being recoverable.

I have attached with image upload, I don't know if that will work

User avatar
ThomasV
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 300
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 1 post
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2012 1:12 pm
Info

by ThomasV » Mon Oct 01, 2012 9:58 am

Hello,

Could you please give me more infos on your system (linux distribution, graphics card, driver version) ?
Concerning auto-save, it is indeed an important feature request.

Regards,
Thomas

no avatar
bradtem
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 219
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2008 11:42 pm
Info

by bradtem » Sun Oct 07, 2012 7:45 pm

I uploaded the pano and crash file to the FTP server. The images are too much to upload unless crucial. It is kubuntu precise amd64. Since the most reliable crash is on doing a render, I am not as inclined to think it's a graphics card problem, though the preview crash might have been. It's a Radeon HD 6700 fglrx version 8.96.4

User avatar
AlexandreJ
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 5988
Likes: 7 posts
Liked in: 10 posts
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 4:56 pm
Location: Francin, France
Info

by AlexandreJ » Fri Oct 12, 2012 10:05 am

If it is during rendering, then no GPU is used. Crash during rendering are really rare now and often reflect something coming from :
- out of space in temporary folder ( most of the time )
- rendering file created too big for the file system ( a FAT32 cannot store a file bigger than 2 GB )

no avatar
bradtem
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 219
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2008 11:42 pm
Info

by bradtem » Fri Oct 12, 2012 4:37 pm

As noted, the crash is instantaneous -- start render and the program immediately aborts on this pano, every time.

It is large however there is 17gb of temp space and it is "only a gigapixel" 97025 by 10585 from 212 images. Of course on linux I am not using a fat32 fileystem. And the fault happens immeidately even rendering the pano at 10% of size, so I do not think it is size resource constrained, though it is the largest pano I have tried to build in APG 3 so that could be a factor. You could take the .pano file I uploaded and try it with blank images, perhaps that will duplicate it? Otherwise let me see if I can generate super-compressed jpegs or something more reasonable to upload to you.

Hmm -- more details. I had not yet tried to render this one at full-resolution. While it core dumps at the smaller resolutions, at full resolution (after the warning about not doing a gigapixel tiff due to 2gb limit) the program appears to just hang for about a minute, and then dump core. apport is using fuill CPU in that period (one core)
Last edited by bradtem on Fri Oct 12, 2012 4:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.

no avatar
bradtem
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 219
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2008 11:42 pm
Info

by bradtem » Wed Oct 17, 2012 5:19 pm

Seg fault persists in APG3B2 on Kubuntu AMD64. It is immediate on beginning any scaled down render, takes about a minute on a non-scaled down render.

I ran it in gdb, but for some reason even though this is a beta there are no debugging symbols so this is not likely to be that useful.


[Thread debugging using libthread_db enabled]
Using host libthread_db library "/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libthread_db.so.1".
[New Thread 0x7fffe3658700 (LWP 4394)]
[Thread 0x7fffe3658700 (LWP 4394) exited]
[New Thread 0x7fffe3658700 (LWP 4395)]
[New Thread 0x7ffe89ea0700 (LWP 4402)]
[New Thread 0x7ffe8969f700 (LWP 4406)]
[New Thread 0x7fffe01d4700 (LWP 4407)]
[New Thread 0x7ffe88e9e700 (LWP 4408)]
[New Thread 0x7ffe88a9d700 (LWP 4409)]
[New Thread 0x7ffe8869c700 (LWP 4410)]
[Thread 0x7ffe8969f700 (LWP 4406) exited]
[New Thread 0x7ffe8969f700 (LWP 4411)]
[Thread 0x7ffe8969f700 (LWP 4411) exited]
[New Thread 0x7ffe8969f700 (LWP 4414)]

Program received signal SIGSEGV, Segmentation fault.
[Switching to Thread 0x7ffe8969f700 (LWP 4414)]
0x0000000000789e0b in ?? ()
(gdb) bt
#0 0x0000000000789e0b in ?? ()
#1 0x000000000078705d in ?? ()
#2 0x0000000000782d5a in ?? ()
#3 0x00000000004b1d9a in ?? ()
#4 0x00007ffff6f05f3b in ?? () from /usr/lib/AutopanoGiga/libQtCore.so.4
#5 0x00007ffff6c5de9a in start_thread () from /lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libpthread.so.0
#6 0x00007ffff4c174bd in clone () from /lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libc.so.6
#7 0x0000000000000000 in ?? ()
Last edited by bradtem on Wed Oct 17, 2012 5:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
ThomasV
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 300
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 1 post
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2012 1:12 pm
Info

by ThomasV » Thu Oct 25, 2012 9:11 am

Hello,

We need a little more information about this issue. Could you please just confirm that you are using RAW pictures ? We indeed found a bug that can cause a such behavior.

Thanks,
Thomas

no avatar
bradtem
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 219
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2008 11:42 pm
Info

by bradtem » Thu Oct 25, 2012 4:02 pm

No, sorry, as I indicated, I am using jpegs and generating jpeg.

Why not make a binary with debug symbols for betas?
Last edited by bradtem on Thu Oct 25, 2012 4:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
ThomasV
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 300
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 1 post
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2012 1:12 pm
Info

by ThomasV » Fri Oct 26, 2012 7:46 am

Hi,

We are working on a more general solution for crash diagnostic. I am pretty sure you will be the first user.
More news soon.

Thanks,
Thomas

User avatar
ThomasV
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 300
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 1 post
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2012 1:12 pm
Info

by ThomasV » Tue Nov 06, 2012 2:42 pm

Hello,

As you might see, the beta3 version of Autopano 3 is available. It includes several linux fix and a crash handler to help us to debug the kind of issue you are facing.
It would be very helpful if you can give a try to this new version.

Regards,
Thomas

no avatar
bradtem
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 219
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2008 11:42 pm
Info

by bradtem » Wed Nov 07, 2012 7:14 am

Thanks. Still fails. Dump report gets generated -- dialog box that pops up is a bit confusing as you don't really want to do any of the 3 things it says. If you close it the program just sits there hung until you kill it, and then it dumps core.

Anyway, I have the dmp file and it is uploaded to incoming dir of ftp server.

User avatar
ThomasV
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 300
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 1 post
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2012 1:12 pm
Info

by ThomasV » Wed Nov 07, 2012 9:54 am

Hello,

Thanks. The whole solution will include an upload to a server. It will come in next releases.

So, from this report, it appears that the crash is linked to the structure of the pano. You said in your previous messages that you uploaded the .pano file, but I can't it anywhere on the ftp server.
Could you please upload it one more time (images are not needed) ?

Regards,
Thomas

no avatar
bradtem
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 219
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2008 11:42 pm
Info

by bradtem » Wed Nov 07, 2012 10:12 am

Sure, it is the paris tower file. It's on the way up. Admittedly this is an unusual tower, shot from the Montparnasse tower, with lots of possible parallax errors while going around the top. However, it should not seg fault of course.

User avatar
ThomasV
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 300
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 1 post
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2012 1:12 pm
Info

by ThomasV » Wed Nov 07, 2012 11:11 am

Hello,

We gave a look at the .pano file and at the crash report. It appears that the structure of the .pano file is really strange, and causes Autopano to crash.
From the .pano file, we can see that you are using 212 images, but the layer contains only 197 images. Therefore, there are some images which do not belong to any layer.

I can give you a hand-made .pano file to enable you to render your pano, but the interesting point is how did you get a such .pano file ?

Can you give more details on your stitching workflow (import plugins / detection), the way you edit or remove images, ... ? Did you try to edit the .pano file in a text editor ?

Thanks for your feedback.
Thomas

no avatar
bradtem
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 219
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2008 11:42 pm
Info

by bradtem » Wed Nov 07, 2012 7:06 pm

No, the pano was generated the usual way from the image collection and a normal detect. I first built one with all the images, and it crashed. The one you see is the result of removing some redundant images because I wondered if they were the cause of the crash, but no, it still happens. I can also send you the original unmodified pano and its crash file if you like. No hand editing etc.

A hand-modified one is not good because I need to do a lot of work on this pano to make it good. I was just doing a basic small render to see how it looks when I found it crashing.

User avatar
ThomasV
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 300
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 1 post
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2012 1:12 pm
Info

by ThomasV » Thu Nov 08, 2012 8:41 am

Hi,

Yes, it could be interesting to have the original pano.

Thanks,
Thomas

no avatar
bradtem
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 219
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2008 11:42 pm
Info

by bradtem » Thu Nov 08, 2012 8:51 am

Ok, I have a new dump file starting with 753f, and a new paris tower pano file in the ftp server. This .pano is pretty much what was generated by doing a detect on the large image collection.

User avatar
ThomasV
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 300
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 1 post
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2012 1:12 pm
Info

by ThomasV » Thu Nov 08, 2012 11:07 am

Hello,

Thanks for the files. The same problem exists in this pano. I really wonder how we created a such pano.

I noticed in your pano file, that some images are not in any layers (IMG_1964.JPG,...., IMG_1978.JPG). Are they duplicates of other images, are those images valid ?
Any feedback is welcome.

Regards,
Thomas

no avatar
bradtem
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 219
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2008 11:42 pm
Info

by bradtem » Thu Nov 08, 2012 5:01 pm

That's odd. When I load the pano there are no unlinked images. At least that it shows me. The layer editor shows only starting at 1980 in the improved one.

As Indicated, my process consisted of detecting from the collection of images shot from the tower, and starting the first round of improvement on the image, and doing a quick test render to see where problems are, and I have not been able to get beyond that due to crash. Due to crash the workspace was lost -- one of my oft reported bugs -- so I do not have the original list of source images though it's pretty easy to recreate I susepct.

Have to rush off.

no avatar
bradtem
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 219
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2008 11:42 pm
Info

by bradtem » Fri Nov 09, 2012 8:10 am

Well, I don't know what put the extra files into the .pano, but I extracted the filenames of the real files in the pano, and did another detect on them. This time it worked and I was able to do a render.

Paris 1 gigapixel (almost) 360 degrees: http://pic.templetons.com/cgi-bin/imget?f=brad/pano/france/paris-tower-2.jpg&fw=96988

Ok, it's not 26 gigapixels, but that one's not a 360, is it.

User avatar
ThomasV
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 300
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 1 post
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2012 1:12 pm
Info

by ThomasV » Tue Nov 13, 2012 11:08 am

Nice to have this picture rendered !

Thomas

no avatar
bradtem
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 219
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2008 11:42 pm
Info

by bradtem » Tue Nov 13, 2012 8:33 pm

Yes, I think with a bit more tweaking it will be a good 360 urban one. Of course, though we have not yet determined why the .pano file was written with files that were not in its layers, obviously a program should never dump core even with bad inputs, so I hope this helped you find the cause of the seg fault.

User avatar
ThomasV
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 300
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 1 post
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2012 1:12 pm
Info

by ThomasV » Wed Nov 14, 2012 8:30 am

Hello Brad,

Of course this bug report enables us to make the software more robust regarding this kind of bad inputs. Thanks again.

Thomas


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests