Autopano 2.6.4 Linux x64 memory leak?  

This forum is dedicated to Autopano Pro / Giga bug reports and features discussion.
Please read the posting rules before starting a topic!
no avatar
Nick Payne
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 24
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2012 12:13 am
Info

Autopano 2.6.4 Linux x64 memory leak?

by Nick Payne » Mon Oct 01, 2012 12:17 am

There seems to be a memory leak in Autopano 2.6.4 x64 Linux. I find that after processing a couple of dozen fairly simple panoramas (none more than half a dozen images) in the one Autopano session, the machine starts to slow noticeably as the swap file comes into use, and system monitor shows that the Autopano process memory use has grown to consume nearly all the 12Gb RAM in the PC. If I use system monitor to look at memory use after each panorama has been rendered, I see that Autopano is using 2Gb of RAM after the first, 3Gb of RAM after the second, 3.4Gb after the third, and so on. Looking at the contents of /proc/<pid>/status for the Autopano process just before I have to close it to reclaim memory shows:
Code: Select all
nick@NickMint /proc/3706 $ cat status
Name:    AutopanoPro
State:    S (sleeping)
Tgid:    3706
Pid:    3706
PPid:    3703
TracerPid:    0
Uid:    1000    1000    1000    1000
Gid:    1000    1000    1000    1000
FDSize:    256
Groups:    4 7 24 27 30 46 109 111 127 1000
VmPeak:    11429684 kB
VmSize:    11256088 kB
VmLck:           0 kB
VmPin:           0 kB
VmHWM:     9822280 kB
VmRSS:     9128092 kB
VmData:    11054196 kB
VmStk:         136 kB
VmExe:       36236 kB
VmLib:       64460 kB
VmPTE:       20564 kB
VmSwap:      920676 kB
Threads:    9
SigQ:    0/95924
SigPnd:    0000000000000000
ShdPnd:    0000000000000000
SigBlk:    0000000000000000
SigIgn:    0000000021001000
SigCgt:    00000001c00144ef
CapInh:    0000000000000000
CapPrm:    0000000000000000
CapEff:    0000000000000000
CapBnd:    ffffffffffffffff
Cpus_allowed:    0080
Cpus_allowed_list:    7
Mems_allowed:    00000000,00000001
Mems_allowed_list:    0
voluntary_ctxt_switches:    446122
nonvoluntary_ctxt_switches:    50884

User avatar
gkaefer
Member
 
Posts: 3549
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 15 posts
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 1:01 pm
Location: Salzburg
Info

by gkaefer » Mon Oct 01, 2012 1:07 am

any why not using autopano 3.0.0 beta 1 ?
Georg

no avatar
Nick Payne
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 24
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2012 12:13 am
Info

by Nick Payne » Mon Oct 01, 2012 3:29 am

I tried 3.0 b1 and it usually crashes as soon as I click on the Edit Panorama button after running detection. This doesn't happen with 2.6.4 so long as I disable GPU processing, but 3.0 b1 crashes even with it disabled...

no avatar
Nick Payne
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 24
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2012 12:13 am
Info

by Nick Payne » Mon Oct 22, 2012 1:46 am

I noticed that 3.0 b2 was released, so I downloaded and installed it. It doesn't crash in the way that 3.0 b1 did, but I see the same memory leak as in 2.6.4. After processing half a dozen panos of two to four images each, and closing the batch render and pano edit windows after completing each pano, System Monitor shows memory usage of AutopanoPro has gone from a few hundred Mb to 4.6Gb. Linux Mint 13 x64:

Code: Select all
nick@NickMint /proc/6581 $ cat status
Name:    AutopanoPro
State:    S (sleeping)
Tgid:    6581
Pid:    6581
PPid:    6578
TracerPid:    0
Uid:    1000    1000    1000    1000
Gid:    1000    1000    1000    1000
FDSize:    256
Groups:    4 7 24 27 30 46 109 111 127 1000
VmPeak:     7830492 kB
VmSize:     7684292 kB
VmLck:           0 kB
VmPin:           0 kB
VmHWM:     4890264 kB
VmRSS:     4867192 kB
VmData:     7399672 kB
VmStk:         136 kB
VmExe:       43540 kB
VmLib:       71356 kB
VmPTE:       11400 kB
VmSwap:           0 kB
Threads:    18
SigQ:    1/95929
SigPnd:    0000000000000000
ShdPnd:    0000000000000000
SigBlk:    0000000000000000
SigIgn:    0000000021001000
SigCgt:    0000000180010000
CapInh:    0000000000000000
CapPrm:    0000000000000000
CapEff:    0000000000000000
CapBnd:    ffffffffffffffff
Cpus_allowed:    0080
Cpus_allowed_list:    7
Mems_allowed:    00000000,00000001
Mems_allowed_list:    0
voluntary_ctxt_switches:    90733
nonvoluntary_ctxt_switches:    4001

User avatar
ThomasV
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 300
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 1 post
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2012 1:12 pm
Info

by ThomasV » Mon Oct 22, 2012 7:54 am

Hello Nick,

As Autopano performs very expensive computations to render the panoramas, it does not release the used memory to the system but recycles it fo the next computations. Therefore, one can see it as a memory leak, but it isn't. If you need RAM, just close Autopano.

Regards,
Thomas

no avatar
Nick Payne
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 24
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2012 12:13 am
Info

by Nick Payne » Sun Oct 28, 2012 10:23 pm

ThomasV wrote:Hello Nick,

As Autopano performs very expensive computations to render the panoramas, it does not release the used memory to the system but recycles it fo the next computations. Therefore, one can see it as a memory leak, but it isn't. If you need RAM, just close Autopano.

Autopano 3.0b2 memory use:

1. After opening and choosing image folder but no detection yet run: memory use 30Mb
2. After running detection and editing and rendering panorama (eight images, TIFF output): memory use 4.3Gb
3. Close batch, and edit windows and re-run detection, edit, and render of same panorama: memory use 5.1Gb
4. Repeat step 3: memory use 5.4Gb
5. Repeat step 3: memory use 5.6Gb
6. Repeat step 3: memory use 5.8Gb
7. Repeat step 3: memory use 6.0Gb
8. Repeat step 3: memory use 6.2Gb

And so on until the the machine slows to a crawl because the swap file is getting hammered by the use of virtual memory. If this isn't a memory leak, then such constantly increasing memory use is a design flaw: executing the same calculation multiple times should not result in memory allocation continually increasing.

User avatar
ThomasV
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 300
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 1 post
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2012 1:12 pm
Info

by ThomasV » Mon Oct 29, 2012 8:42 am

Thanks for this report Nick.

We opened an issue in our bugtracker to tackle this (1564)

Regards,
Thomas

User avatar
ThomasV
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 300
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 1 post
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2012 1:12 pm
Info

by ThomasV » Fri Nov 16, 2012 3:12 pm

Hi Nick,

As you might noticed, we release Autopano 3 RC1. To deliver this release, we worked on some memory issues. We really hope that this work will fix the issue you're facing.
Please, let us know if you see an improvment or not.

Regards,
Thomas
Last edited by ThomasV on Wed Nov 21, 2012 9:35 am, edited 1 time in total.


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests